Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    May 10 2019
    AZ Member #
    481734
    Location
    Santa Clara, California

    **Upgrading stock SQ5 2019 to aftermarket question**

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Hello All,

    New to the forums. I'm hopefully looking to buy a SQ5 2019/2020.

    I just want to know if the sound it better if I go aftermarket? or with the B&O surround.

    Also, if I plan to go aftermarket, will I be able to perform crossover's for High, Mids, Lows & the Sub? (with the stock head unit)


    Thanks for the help in advance.


    I hope to join the Audi club soon :)
    Last edited by shaolinsun; 05-13-2019 at 03:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2008
    AZ Member #
    32595
    Location
    Boonies VA

    Whether aftermarket will sound better than the B&O or not really depends on how far down the rabbit hole you want to go.
    White Wagon
    MiniDSP C-DSP 8x12, Alpine PDX-V9 & PDX-F4, a few speakers here and there

    Instagram: IDFront

  3. #3
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    May 10 2019
    AZ Member #
    481734
    Location
    Santa Clara, California

    Quote Originally Posted by naiku View Post
    Whether aftermarket will sound better than the B&O or not really depends on how far down the rabbit hole you want to go.
    If I go aftermarket, will it still be compatible with the stock head unit? I have seen the stock head unit, and the way you adjust your sound is treble & base 1-9. Is crossover capable when doing aftermarket speakers with a the stock head unit, or will that need to be replaced as well?

    thanks!

  4. #4
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2008
    AZ Member #
    32595
    Location
    Boonies VA

    You can keep the stock head unit, but I suspect you would need something like this https://navtv.com/products/NTV-KIT860/zen-v.html to be able to add aftermarket amplifiers. Per the information at that link, it will retain all the adjustment at the head unit for bass, treble etc. If you wanted you could put a DSP between that NTV-KIT860 and the amplifiers, you would then have full control over crossovers, EQ, time alignment etc (via the DSP). and really put a great sounding set up in there. Ultimately I think it depends on how much you want to spend, you might find that with the interface above, aftermarket amplifiers and speakers you will be happy. If not, adding a DSP into the mix should not be that difficult, just another expense to think about.

    Just to add, there may be a cheaper way to get RCA out from the stock head unit, but in my research a lot of the newer vehicles need some kind of a MOST interface for the fiber optic used in the vehicle. This one for example is only $99 https://avinusa.com/most-fiber-optic...l-a8l-mmi.html but does not work with your SQ5.

    Depending where you are in Santa Clara, I think you are not far from Simplicity in Sound based out of Milpitas, might be worth giving them a call to discuss options and pricing on equipment. They do some incredible work.
    White Wagon
    MiniDSP C-DSP 8x12, Alpine PDX-V9 & PDX-F4, a few speakers here and there

    Instagram: IDFront

  5. #5
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    May 10 2019
    AZ Member #
    481734
    Location
    Santa Clara, California

    Quote Originally Posted by naiku View Post
    You can keep the stock head unit, but I suspect you would need something like this https://navtv.com/products/NTV-KIT860/zen-v.html to be able to add aftermarket amplifiers. Per the information at that link, it will retain all the adjustment at the head unit for bass, treble etc. If you wanted you could put a DSP between that NTV-KIT860 and the amplifiers, you would then have full control over crossovers, EQ, time alignment etc (via the DSP). and really put a great sounding set up in there. Ultimately I think it depends on how much you want to spend, you might find that with the interface above, aftermarket amplifiers and speakers you will be happy. If not, adding a DSP into the mix should not be that difficult, just another expense to think about.

    Just to add, there may be a cheaper way to get RCA out from the stock head unit, but in my research a lot of the newer vehicles need some kind of a MOST interface for the fiber optic used in the vehicle. This one for example is only $99 https://avinusa.com/most-fiber-optic...l-a8l-mmi.html but does not work with your SQ5.

    Depending where you are in Santa Clara, I think you are not far from Simplicity in Sound based out of Milpitas, might be worth giving them a call to discuss options and pricing on equipment. They do some incredible work.

    thanks for your input. I currently have a 1997 4runner. I upgraded everything in there 4 years ago. all new speakers, new stereo unit (excelon dds-9903), 5 channel amp, and a 10 inch sub woofer box. spent about 2.3k on it. I went to Audio Design in San Jose.

    I'm not a super car tech person, so sorry if I have some questions. The first thing you posted above, that is needed for aftermarket speakers/sub to be paired with head unit right? How will I be able to control the crossovers and EQ? will that kit make it display on the head unit? or it will be a manual configuration?

    thanks for your help so far!

  6. #6
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2008
    AZ Member #
    32595
    Location
    Boonies VA

    No need to apologise, honestly I'm not that familiar with that unit, but my understanding is the newer Audi head units use fiber optic, that unit I linked takes the fiber connection and converts it so you can use aftermarket amplifiers. If I'm reading correctly, the only crossovers / EQ would be what's in the head unit already (bass, treble, fade) or what would be on any amplifier you decide to use (typically LPF / HPF with limited adjustability).

    The only way to get really fine control over crossovers and EQ, would be to also include a DSP.

  7. #7
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    May 10 2019
    AZ Member #
    481734
    Location
    Santa Clara, California

    Quote Originally Posted by naiku View Post
    No need to apologise, honestly I'm not that familiar with that unit, but my understanding is the newer Audi head units use fiber optic, that unit I linked takes the fiber connection and converts it so you can use aftermarket amplifiers. If I'm reading correctly, the only crossovers / EQ would be what's in the head unit already (bass, treble, fade) or what would be on any amplifier you decide to use (typically LPF / HPF with limited adjustability).

    The only way to get really fine control over crossovers and EQ, would be to also include a DSP.
    good to know... would the EQ & crossovers just be manually controlled on the DSP? I would assume you can't set the crossovers via headunit right? even with DSP installed.

  8. #8
    Registered Member One Ring Bobby Kinstle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 16 2019
    AZ Member #
    483599
    My Garage
    2019 Subaru Ascent
    Location
    Livermore, CA

    I just posted a guide to speaker replacements in this forum that should help you out.

  9. #9
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2008
    AZ Member #
    32595
    Location
    Boonies VA

    Quote Originally Posted by shaolinsun View Post
    good to know... would the EQ & crossovers just be manually controlled on the DSP? I would assume you can't set the crossovers via headunit right? even with DSP installed.
    Right, well, you'd use a laptop to set EQ and crossovers, unless you had something like a JBL MS8 which would set everything via auto tune. You can't set crossovers with the factory head unit, even with a DSP.

  10. #10
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    May 10 2019
    AZ Member #
    481734
    Location
    Santa Clara, California

    Quote Originally Posted by naiku View Post
    Right, well, you'd use a laptop to set EQ and crossovers, unless you had something like a JBL MS8 which would set everything via auto tune. You can't set crossovers with the factory head unit, even with a DSP.
    Hmmm.. I wouldnt need to go to the shop to do crossover edits right? I only ask because there have been sometimes where my current car my head unit (excelon 9903s) resets the crossover... and i can tell because the sound sounds a bit muddy. I think its because my car is old and sometimes it doesnt start fully, and maybe resets the crossovers.

    I wouldnt have an issue having to re-set the crossovers with DSP/laptop in case i go that route with the new car right?
    Last edited by shaolinsun; 05-20-2019 at 10:52 AM.

  11. #11
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2008
    AZ Member #
    32595
    Location
    Boonies VA

    No need to go to a shop for it, there would definitely be a learning curve with a DSP, but setting crossovers using one is pretty simple to do. With most you can save a preset that you would have on your laptop and could just re-load the preset if something were to happen to the DSP where it reset things. I have had 5 or 6 different DSP units though and not a single one ever reset like that.
    White Wagon
    MiniDSP C-DSP 8x12, Alpine PDX-V9 & PDX-F4, a few speakers here and there

    Instagram: IDFront

  12. #12
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    May 10 2019
    AZ Member #
    481734
    Location
    Santa Clara, California

    Quote Originally Posted by naiku View Post
    No need to go to a shop for it, there would definitely be a learning curve with a DSP, but setting crossovers using one is pretty simple to do. With most you can save a preset that you would have on your laptop and could just re-load the preset if something were to happen to the DSP where it reset things. I have had 5 or 6 different DSP units though and not a single one ever reset like that.
    thanks for all your help so far. Hopefully will be buying my car within the next 2-3 months.

    Do you happen to know when the new 2020 lines will release? I heard somewhere they release in September? is this right? if so, Happy Birthday to me :D



Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2019 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.