Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 11 2012
    AZ Member #
    91632
    Location
    Corning NY

    Tuners coding out the 02 sensors

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    So in May bought a b7 sline manual FWD. Came with a APR Stage 1 with 034 HFC. I know I can fix the check engine light with a spacer. have done it on the b6 with HFC and the TT we have with HFC. But when a tuner codes out the o2 does that mean it shows passed on obd testing? I have stage 2+s(Motoza tuning) on the b6 and tt and never needed it coded out because of spacer.
    I will be going stage 2+ from motoza in near future and wondering if I should just have it coded out or leave it? Will it show passed on the obd or will it show failed and will the obd scan report that the 02 is coded out and then they fine me for messing with the emissions. Sorry it sounds like dumb question but I never really looked into it. Maybe Ive been lucky on the other 2 cars.

  2. #2
    Established Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    May 20 2017
    AZ Member #
    399735
    Location
    New Hampshire

    It basically always shows the rear O2 as being ready.

    If your tuner offers a rear O2 cel delete, it really is the best option.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Two Rings Older_not_Wiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 16 2012
    AZ Member #
    90043
    Location
    Lomita, California

    It is APR's way of providing a continuing revenue stream for the shops that sell APR's products. Even program switching to the 'Stock' tune does not allow emissions to ever get to 100% readiness. You have to pay a shop to re-flash to the OEM stock tune to even allow 100% readiness, then do a few drive cycles to get to 100%. It is usually 1/2 hour of labor to re-flash.
    I have been putting up with this for a few years and have been considering switching tunes but I am also not really wanting to foot that bill and have been on the fence about the tunes that are available that do not require re-flash. Was thinking about JHM but have hesitated due to some reports of driveability quirks. Motoza has piqued my interest since I will have have to do emissions in a few months.

  4. #4
    Veteran Member Four Rings vce1232000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 17 2013
    AZ Member #
    117368
    My Garage
    83 MK1 GTI Callaway Turbo stg II
    Location
    jersey city nj

    APR KO4, APR HPFP,RS4 LPFP Cntr,145 bar PRV, APR TP, TT DP, GFB DV+, AWE FMIC, BFI CC, AWE Exhaust, RS4 Exh tips, ST CO, 034 RSB,034 St Dnsty Mtr Mts, New Sth West Bst guage, B7 RS4 8 pot Calipers.Stop Tech slotted rotors.Goodridge SS brake lines frt & rr. Hawk HPS frt & rr. RS4 PS rack, RS4 Servotronic Relay,RS4 rims. S4 mirror caps,DTM frt bmpr and rs4 fogs,LED tail lites
    S4 Recaro Front & Rear seats. Led Interior Kit,United LED's fog lites
    2007 A4 Avant 2.0T Tiptronic 6spd

  5. #5
    Established Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    May 20 2017
    AZ Member #
    399735
    Location
    New Hampshire

    Quote Originally Posted by Older_not_Wiser View Post
    It is APR's way of providing a continuing revenue stream for the shops that sell APR's products. Even program switching to the 'Stock' tune does not allow emissions to ever get to 100% readiness. You have to pay a shop to re-flash to the OEM stock tune to even allow 100% readiness, then do a few drive cycles to get to 100%. It is usually 1/2 hour of labor to re-flash.
    I have been putting up with this for a few years and have been considering switching tunes but I am also not really wanting to foot that bill and have been on the fence about the tunes that are available that do not require re-flash. Was thinking about JHM but have hesitated due to some reports of driveability quirks. Motoza has piqued my interest since I will have have to do emissions in a few months.
    This has been the opposite of every stage 2 tune with cel delete Iíve ever had. Readiness for the rear O2 was always set with a rear O2 sensor delete tune. Not having to deal with rear O2 sensor codes and not being able to set readiness is the whole reason these tunes exist.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 11 2012
    AZ Member #
    91632
    Location
    Corning NY

    if that's true with APR. I'LL be switching to motoza. I'll do my own flash in driveway. not paying someone to do it.

  7. #7
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Oct 09 2018
    AZ Member #
    428532
    My Garage
    90 Cq, 91 Cq w/3B, 95.5 Audi S6, 69 Camaro SS, Ram 1500, Aprilia RSV Mille R Haga,
    Location
    SoCal

    Quote Originally Posted by Older_not_Wiser View Post
    It is APR's way of providing a continuing revenue stream for the shops that sell APR's products. Even program switching to the 'Stock' tune does not allow emissions to ever get to 100% readiness. You have to pay a shop to re-flash to the OEM stock tune to even allow 100% readiness, then do a few drive cycles to get to 100%. It is usually 1/2 hour of labor to re-flash.
    I have been putting up with this for a few years and have been considering switching tunes but I am also not really wanting to foot that bill and have been on the fence about the tunes that are available that do not require re-flash. Was thinking about JHM but have hesitated due to some reports of driveability quirks. Motoza has piqued my interest since I will have have to do emissions in a few months.
    I just failed emissions because of the readiness check. I have been trying to figure out why the car won't give me 100% readiness. I think the constant issue is the 02 readiness even though they check as being ok when I actually run the measuring block test. I went out about bought 2 new sensors because of this.

    Seriously, APR tunes do this?

  8. #8
    Senior Member Four Rings tloft4's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 15 2016
    AZ Member #
    373349
    Location
    Lock Haven, PA

    dont they tell you why you failed?

  9. #9
    Stage 2 Banner Advertiser Four Rings Chris@EPL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 23 2011
    AZ Member #
    77278
    Location
    CT

    If the o2 is turned off it does not always work. A lot of starts reset all of the readiness monitors and if 1 does not turn off it is an instant.
    European Performance Labs
    http://www.facebook.com/EPLabs
    https://www.instagram.com/eplabs/
    (203-345-6499)
    Chris@eplabs.net

    Please feel free to contact us with any questions!!

  10. #10
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Oct 09 2018
    AZ Member #
    428532
    My Garage
    90 Cq, 91 Cq w/3B, 95.5 Audi S6, 69 Camaro SS, Ram 1500, Aprilia RSV Mille R Haga,
    Location
    SoCal

    Quote Originally Posted by tloft4 View Post
    dont they tell you why you failed?
    They gave me a printout. There were 3 that "failed". It was just because I cleared the p0299 code and then didn't drive it far enough. I ran the Vag-Com Readiness check and got everything but the 02 check to pass.

    The crazy thing is when I go into the individual measuring blocks all of the tests pass without a problem but it never registers in the readiness check. The 02 readiness always reads "failed or incomplete"

  11. #11
    Senior Member Four Rings Theiceman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 15 2016
    AZ Member #
    368804
    Location
    Cambridge Ontario

    doesn't vag com allow you to force readiness ? I thought it did ?
    2014 A4 2.0TQ Technik
    2006 A4 2.0TQ 6spd
    1978 Porsche 911SC Targa
    1976 Yamaha XS 360

  12. #12
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Oct 09 2018
    AZ Member #
    428532
    My Garage
    90 Cq, 91 Cq w/3B, 95.5 Audi S6, 69 Camaro SS, Ram 1500, Aprilia RSV Mille R Haga,
    Location
    SoCal

    Quote Originally Posted by Theiceman View Post
    doesn't vag com allow you to force readiness ? I thought it did ?
    It doesn't "force" unfortunately. It just runs the engine through the parameters that allow the tests to complete.

    I re-ran everything today and when tested individually everything is ok. HOWEVER, it will not save the 02 test in the final readiness check readout.

  13. #13
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 19 2005
    AZ Member #
    7651
    My Garage
    07 A4 Avant S-line 6MT
    Location
    CNY

    I've been researching this as I want to get a tune soon. The know tuners will no longer force readiness due to government crack down. Word is a diesel tube for but with a huge fine for it.

    Many tunes that tune out something like the rear o2 will disable the monitor from ever running as mentioned above needed a temp reflash to stock.

  14. #14
    Established Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    May 20 2017
    AZ Member #
    399735
    Location
    New Hampshire

    Itís best to just run a 90 degree spacer. GIAC doesnít offer a rear O2 delete file so I run the 42 DD angle spacer and it works great. No codes, readiness is 100% with a CTS test pipe.

    I think this is where the JHM cat or test pipe shines. The long integral O2 bung is a great idea but I canít speak of the quality level because I donít run one.
    2005.5 A4 Avant: JHM K04R, GIAC K04 tune, RS4 PRV, RS4 fuel pump controller, Treadstone TR6 intercooler core with JHM pipe kit, CTS Turbo test pipe, ECS Tuning snub mount, 034 street tranny mount, 034 street motor mounts, ECS Tuning turbo inlet pipe, ECS Tuning RA4 clutch conversion, Billy Boat Stealth cat back, Fluidampr

  15. #15
    Veteran Member Four Rings A4_PimP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 18 2012
    AZ Member #
    86834
    Location
    Waterdown/Ontario/Canada

    I heard that in Ontario in 2 years emission testing will be going away. I don't know if that is true but if it is "THANK GOD!".

  16. #16
    Veteran Member Four Rings canadianA4B7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 10 2012
    AZ Member #
    87997
    My Garage
    parts
    Location
    Napanee, ON

    Quote Originally Posted by A4_PimP View Post
    I heard that in Ontario in 2 years emission testing will be going away. I don't know if that is true but if it is "THANK GOD!".
    April 2019.

  17. #17
    Active Member Two Rings rbjeepthing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 03 2018
    AZ Member #
    428097
    My Garage
    08 A4 Avant, 95 YJ, 01 Duramax, 18 JK
    Location
    Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by A4_PimP View Post
    I heard that in Ontario in 2 years emission testing will be going away. I don't know if that is true but if it is "THANK GOD!".
    Quote Originally Posted by canadianA4B7 View Post
    April 2019.
    This but it doesn't mean that MOE cant scan/check your vehicle roadside for readiness. Likely wont have an issue in an Audi but it baffles me why some of the truck guys think they will e able to do deletes with no issues.



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2019 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.