Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member Two Rings 4LiterBeater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 15 2015
    AZ Member #
    320504
    My Garage
    B5 S4
    Location
    Akron, Ohio

    Fluidampr Torque Spec Inquiry

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    I just purchased a Fluidampr because I love to spend money on parts I don't need for a car I don't drive. I'm sure a couple of you an relate. I digress. In the images below, you can see there is a conflicting torque spec between Audi/VW and Fluidampr. I know that there one instance of a failure with this part a while ago, so I wanted to make sure I got this right. Let me know what you all used as a torque specification.






  2. #2
    Veteran Member Four Rings zillarob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 16 2010
    AZ Member #
    67118
    My Garage
    2kS4, 84gli, 84caddy dsl
    Location
    WetSide, WA

    Id prob do 25ft/lb on those bolts, but there is enough of them there that either of those numbers would prob be fine also.
    Didnt look like the failure had anything to do with the bolts. I think they had a corner too tight/thin and focused all the stress there.
    There are only 2 things needed to make an Audi work properly - Duct tape and WD40. If it moves and it shouldn't - Duct tape. If it doesnít move and it should - WD40.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Two Rings 4LiterBeater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 15 2015
    AZ Member #
    320504
    My Garage
    B5 S4
    Location
    Akron, Ohio

    I remember the picture and the mating surface is much thicker than that. They also cut a radius into the face of the mating flange to eliminate the stress riser. Ill throw some blue loctite on that bad boy and set em at 25Nm. Thanks, Rob.

  4. #4
    Veteran Member Four Rings MacDaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 06 2008
    AZ Member #
    31677
    Location
    Canadia

    Why bother? Its just going to fly off anyway 😅

  5. #5
    Veteran Member Four Rings christianb5s4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 24 2014
    AZ Member #
    277489
    Location
    Newport Beach, CA

    Can't comment on torque specs, but I laughed out loud at your first sentence because it's so true.
    Imola 2001 Stage 3 S4: 313K - 2.4sec FATs - Completely Refreshed/Built Motor - SRM K24s w/ Custom Turbosmart wastegates - Ringer Racing 4+ - Etspec - Cinesnow WG/Oil Lines - SRM V3 Intercoolers - AA built trans - 4:1 Diff - JHM Trio - 034 - H&R Coilovers - FCP - Bosch Motorsports - OZ Racing - SRM/SSAC exhaust - Tons of New OEM parts

    2009 C6.5 A6 3.0T Prestige - stock, daily driver

  6. #6
    Senior Member Four Rings JustManson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 11 2016
    AZ Member #
    382924
    Location
    Connecticut

    I followed the Bentley Manual on this install. 18ft lbs.

    No issues, never flew off...




    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine

  7. #7
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 07 2011
    AZ Member #
    73609
    Location
    Home of the mighty beaver

    same, so far so good. I wouldnt buy this again though after all the drama

  8. #8
    Veteran Member Four Rings CELison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 23 2010
    AZ Member #
    55053
    Location
    Lehigh Valley

    Iím on the fence right now, as I can get a brand new one for $300 from a friend. Somebody away me one way or the other.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Two Rings 4LiterBeater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 15 2015
    AZ Member #
    320504
    My Garage
    B5 S4
    Location
    Akron, Ohio

    Fluidampr Torque Spec Inquiry

    Quote Originally Posted by JustManson View Post
    I followed the Bentley Manual on this install. 18ft lbs.

    No issues, never flew off...




    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine
    Same here. I added a dab of blue as well.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Two Rings 4LiterBeater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 15 2015
    AZ Member #
    320504
    My Garage
    B5 S4
    Location
    Akron, Ohio

    Quote Originally Posted by S4James View Post
    same, so far so good. I wouldnt buy this again though after all the drama
    This one is definitely beefier than the one that failed.


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine

  11. #11
    Senior Member Two Rings 4LiterBeater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 15 2015
    AZ Member #
    320504
    My Garage
    B5 S4
    Location
    Akron, Ohio

    Quote Originally Posted by CELison View Post
    Iím on the fence right now, as I can get a brand new one for $300 from a friend. Somebody away me one way or the other.
    Quality part thatís cheaper than factory new. Not sure that itís making a huge difference, however.

  12. #12
    Senior Member Two Rings 4LiterBeater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 15 2015
    AZ Member #
    320504
    My Garage
    B5 S4
    Location
    Akron, Ohio

    Quote Originally Posted by christianb5s4 View Post
    Can't comment on torque specs, but I laughed out loud at your first sentence because it's so true.
    I am glad to be of service good sir. Maybe that will be my signature lol.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Two Rings 4LiterBeater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 15 2015
    AZ Member #
    320504
    My Garage
    B5 S4
    Location
    Akron, Ohio

    Quote Originally Posted by MacDaddy View Post
    Why bother? Its just going to fly off anyway
    At least something on the car will be moving fast.

  14. #14
    Veteran Member Four Rings MacDaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 06 2008
    AZ Member #
    31677
    Location
    Canadia

    ATI now makes a damper so there is no reason to waste your money on the fluidampr grenade.

  15. #15
    Veteran Member Four Rings CELison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 23 2010
    AZ Member #
    55053
    Location
    Lehigh Valley

    Welp, ended up getting one. Can you wiggle the balancers on and off from under the car or do I have to pull the front clip off? Getting lazy in my old age.

  16. #16
    Senior Member Four Rings JustManson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 11 2016
    AZ Member #
    382924
    Location
    Connecticut

    Quote Originally Posted by CELison View Post
    Welp, ended up getting one. Can you wiggle the balancers on and off from under the car or do I have to pull the front clip off? Getting lazy in my old age.
    You can TRY!

    I needed to smack my pulley with a mallet 3 times (not crazy hard) to unseat it.

    Obviously is will be much easier in Service Mode.




    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine

  17. #17
    Veteran Member Four Rings CELison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 23 2010
    AZ Member #
    55053
    Location
    Lehigh Valley

    Yeah Iíll just pull the front end off. Only takes 20 min anyway.



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.