Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Established Member Two Rings DaveLinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 03 2015
    AZ Member #
    365327
    My Garage
    99 A6 Quattro
    Location
    Fairmont, WV

    Cleared codes and now the car won't crank long enough to start on its own?

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Hi everyone,

    Today I hooked up my VCDS to my S4, and pulled the codes. One CAN module code for energy management active (guess I let the battery dip too low once, no big deal), one parking brake code for an intermittent power issue (but it's always worked, so no big deal), and one engine code for SAI pressure sensor intermittent short to ground (this has been causing a CEL).

    So I cleared all 3 individually, but NOW, when I press the "push to start" button, the car cranks for a fraction of a second then gives up, before the car is able to start. Obviously before, it would crank as long as it needed to to start the car. Now I have to HOLD the "push to start" button to make it crank long enough to start. What gives? Has this happened to anyone else? I tested it several times. I have no idea what I did wrong here.
    B8 S4 parts WTB/ISO: rear belly pan

  2. #2
    Established Member Two Rings spoolin80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 03 2013
    AZ Member #
    110640
    Location
    Va

    I had something similar happen one time as well after doing vagcom...I'd push the "push to start" and it would crank for a split second and stop

    I ended up just putting the key in the actual key slot and drove it to where I had to go...after that the oush to start semeed to work fine....I do wish I knew what I did wrong as well lol
    2012 Ice Silver S4 - CW Stage 2 - JHM 179 - HR OE Springs - Roc-Euro Intake

  3. #3
    Senior Member Two Rings casey_tuzziano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 25 2015
    AZ Member #
    322686
    My Garage
    '68 Nova, Subaru Forester
    Location
    United States

    Some wierd stuff can happen when the battery voltage gets too low.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Veteran Member Four Rings theweebabyseamus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 12 2008
    AZ Member #
    28667
    Location
    Bay Area, CA

    This has happened to me. I just hold the start whenever I start it after clearing codes now, nbd.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Three Rings awwturbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    90421
    My Garage
    2010 VW Passat Komfort Wagon, 2012 Ducati 1199 Panigale
    Location
    NH
    Items for Sale

    This happens to me as well after I do something in VCDS. It's back to normal on the next start.
    [2012 Audi S4 Prestige | S-tronic | Moonlight Blue | Black Nappa Leather | Sport Diff | Titanium Package | IE Stage 2 tune & DSG tune | AWE Coldfront System | JHM Race Pipes | AEM V2 water/meth kit | CTS 57.02mm S/C Pulley | JHM 179mm Crank Pulley | ECS Luft-Technik Intake | CR-15 Brace | H&R OE Sport Springs | 034 Trans Insert | ECS rear diff mount]

  6. #6
    Veteran Member Four Rings RWD2quattro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 29 2011
    AZ Member #
    85929
    My Garage
    Lexus IS250, Volvo 850R, Ford tractor
    Location
    The Bay

    Cycle ignition off and restart, it's normal from what dealer told me. This also happens when you activate/test systems in the car.
    2014 S4, Audi Exclusive DRM, 6MT, 034 Stage 2+ E40, DP (3.362), AMS Cooler, AEM meth kit @TB (500cc), Autotech HPFP, ADV. 1 wheels, CR-15, CF low kick spoiler, Deval CF, JHM LWFW/3R, Eurocode, KW V3, ST6 BBK, USP SS clutch line, XPEL full wrap.
    Gone: 2012 S4 Brilliant Black, Prestige, S-tragic.

  7. #7
    Established Member Two Rings redlinerex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 03 2015
    AZ Member #
    340370
    Location
    Folsom, CA

    Quote Originally Posted by theweebabyseamus View Post
    This has happened to me. I just hold the start whenever I start it after clearing codes now, nbd.
    This is exactly what I do also. Don't momentarily press the start/stop button ... hold it down until it starts.

    Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Senior Member Four Rings s4matty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 15 2015
    AZ Member #
    349196
    My Garage
    C5 stage 3 all road.
    Location
    canada

    Does it every time for me also.
    Try starting the car in the N position instead of P after.
    Dont ask me why but it works

    Sent from my SM-G950W using Audizine mobile app



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.