Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Veteran Member Four Rings Hockenheim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 09 2007
    AZ Member #
    19401
    Location
    Phoenix

    Enable Adaptive Cruise Control?

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Have been bouncing around various forums and its like a wealth of misinformation. I'm hoping some of the experts here help solve this.

    My car has the built in radar sensor in the front its a 2018 model. As I understand this is the same radar sensor used for ACC.

    Has anyone turned turned this on?

    Do you need any retro kits or anything? https://www.kufatec.de/shop/en/audi/...acc-audi-a3-8v

  2. #2
    Veteran Member Three Rings Tweakophyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 15 2012
    AZ Member #
    88265
    Location
    Boulder, CO

    That would be interesting...
    MY12 Ibis, Titanium, 6MT, Sport Diff, Leather, Prestige : 35% tint, AK, SC Badges... CPO (kind of a mod)

  3. #3
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Mar 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    395641
    My Garage
    2016 Audi S3 Prestige
    Location
    Bridgeville, PA

    Definitely would be interesting if you could add it.

    I tried to activate high beam assistant since i have the camera for lane assist. Didnít go too well so good luck. I agree that the parts are there but itís proven super difficult to activate things like that.

  4. #4
    Active Member Two Rings Chaoscreature's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 26 2018
    AZ Member #
    419484
    My Garage
    2018 A3 Quattro, 1995 Porsche 993 C2, 2006 Jetta TDI
    Location
    Vista, CA

    I thought there were additional sensors required for the Adaptive CC. I also have a 2018 with "Pre-Sense Basic" and would also be interested in adding this feature if it is available.

  5. #5
    Veteran Member Four Rings Hockenheim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 09 2007
    AZ Member #
    19401
    Location
    Phoenix

    I'll keep researching, let me know if you guys come across anything.

  6. #6
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 17 2016
    AZ Member #
    373456
    Location
    Hong Kong/LA

    As far as I know, the PFL can have high-line radar (dome shape) for ACC or low-line radar (flat) for pre-sense front only, that's why it was easy to retrofit ACC using the high-line radar for PFL. But on the FL, the only radar available is the low-line radar (flat) and standard on FL in a lot of regions, it has to work in conjunction with the windshield camera for ACC to work (camera for driver assistance programs), NOT the HBA camera! It can be done, but you'll need a new windshield to fit the camera, and of course, need ODIS to have component protection removed. It's been done over here, but I doubt any dealer in US would do it for you, so no, you can't just "turn it on"...

  7. #7
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 17 2016
    AZ Member #
    373456
    Location
    Hong Kong/LA

    Oook... Apparently, it's possible to enable ACC with just the FL radar, but you won't have lane assist and congestion assist tho... And it's somewhat of a hack as well and requires remote ODIS session, you can't code this on your own...

  8. #8
    Senior Member Three Rings jiannu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 23 2016
    AZ Member #
    370693
    Location
    Ontario,Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by larbel View Post
    Oook... Apparently, it's possible to enable ACC with just the FL radar, but you won't have lane assist and congestion assist tho... And it's somewhat of a hack as well and requires remote ODIS session, you can't code this on your own...
    How would it be possible on PFL cars to get the congestion app in traffic to work. Meaning , in traffic I have seen FL cars use the ACC to stop/go in low speed traffic... I think that is soooo cool!! Not sure if my PFL car has it? IF not, what would I need?

    BTW my PFL car has the ACC and lane assist.

  9. #9
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 17 2016
    AZ Member #
    373456
    Location
    Hong Kong/LA

    Quote Originally Posted by jiannu View Post
    How would it be possible on PFL cars to get the congestion app in traffic to work. Meaning , in traffic I have seen FL cars use the ACC to stop/go in low speed traffic... I think that is soooo cool!! Not sure if my PFL car has it? IF not, what would I need?

    BTW my PFL car has the ACC and lane assist.
    It's possible, but again TONS of work... Congestion assist is FL function, you'll need the FL radar and camera for driver assistance programs, the PFL windshield cam won't work.. And obviously, the activation switch handles on the steering wheel... But you'll also need MMI2 to be able to access the settings, and ODIS session...



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.