Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 30 2018
    AZ Member #
    421597
    Location
    New York

    Traffic sign recognition

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    I have a 18 a5sb with the navigation plus and convenience package plus Audi connect set up, but I have yet to see the car recognize a single sign. Is this only available on certain trims or is there something I have to turn on in one of the 3000 menus?

  2. #2
    Veteran Member Four Rings RLB6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 20 2006
    AZ Member #
    11804
    My Garage
    '18 S5 SB // '05 MV Agusta F4-1000
    Location
    Frederick, MD

    It's on by default and is only applicable in certain cities. When I travel thru D.C., it is available -- not always accurate by nonetheless, available.

    Current: '18 S5 | SportBack | Prestige

    Previous: S4 | Stage ++ | PLM


  3. #3
    Active Member Two Rings Sojournin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 25 2013
    AZ Member #
    112097
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL

    I don't know how it "sees" the signs as much as it recognizes the speed limit based on GPS coordinates. Because whenever I actually pass the street sign does it automatically change the speed. Just my observation.
    2017 A4: Prestige/Quattro/Scuba Blue Metallic/Nougat brown/Gray oak/Sport seats/Audi Beams // Previous: '13 Estoril Blue Crystal S4 / '06 Acura TSX

  4. #4
    Active Member Two Rings Four rings fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 10 2016
    AZ Member #
    380620
    Location
    Florida

    The camera in front of the rear view mirror looks for the speed limit signs. So basically it uses both the camera and known speed limit info from the nav system to figure out the speed limit.
    2017 B9 A4 PREMIUM+ QUATTRO | IBIS WHITE/BLACK/GREY OAK | NAV PKG | SPORT PKG | 19" WHEEL PKG | APR TUNED | S4 PEDAL SET | HARTMANN 19" RS6 REPS | MICHELIN PS4S | 034 MOTORSPORT STRUT BRACE |

  5. #5
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jul 07 2017
    AZ Member #
    402342
    Location
    Charles Town, WV

    You have to have the "Audi virtual cockpit" option. Then a camera-based traffic sign recognition system detects standard speed limit signs that are within the upper windshield camera's visual field. If you search for "traffic sign" in the standard A5 Owner's Manual, you can read about it there. It's in the manual even if you don't have that option. This feature "reads" and displays the traffic sign but doesn't adjust the vehicle's speed. However, a speed warning threshold can be set based on a speed limit sign in the Information System "Menu" button.

  6. #6
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 30 2018
    AZ Member #
    421597
    Location
    New York

    Quote Originally Posted by GCyr42 View Post
    You have to have the "Audi virtual cockpit" option. Then a camera-based traffic sign recognition system detects standard speed limit signs that are within the upper windshield camera's visual field. If you search for "traffic sign" in the standard A5 Owner's Manual, you can read about it there. It's in the manual even if you don't have that option. This feature "reads" and displays the traffic sign but doesn't adjust the vehicle's speed. However, a speed warning threshold can be set based on a speed limit sign in the Information System "Menu" button.
    Ok, but we’re does it actually display the information? I live in nyc and I am driving by a ton of signs all the time but I never seem to see the cockpit indicate anything special? Also, is it just speed signs?

  7. #7
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 30 2018
    AZ Member #
    421597
    Location
    New York

    Quote Originally Posted by GCyr42 View Post
    You have to have the "Audi virtual cockpit" option. Then a camera-based traffic sign recognition system detects standard speed limit signs that are within the upper windshield camera's visual field. If you search for "traffic sign" in the standard A5 Owner's Manual, you can read about it there. It's in the manual even if you don't have that option. This feature "reads" and displays the traffic sign but doesn't adjust the vehicle's speed. However, a speed warning threshold can be set based on a speed limit sign in the Information System "Menu" button.
    Ok, but we’re does it actually display the information? I live in nyc and I am driving by a ton of signs all the time but I never seem to see the cockpit indicate anything special? Also, is it just speed signs?

  8. #8
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jul 07 2017
    AZ Member #
    402342
    Location
    Charles Town, WV

    Quote Originally Posted by RLB6 View Post
    It's on by default and is only applicable in certain cities. When I travel thru D.C., it is available -- not always accurate by nonetheless, available.
    Are you speaking about speed limit sign recognition or traffic light recognition? These are two different things. Speed limit sign recognition is available anywhere if that option is installed, active and it's a standard sign. Whereas, traffic light recogition is only available in limited areas even though Audi advertised it as a feature on the 2018 Audi A5. And, I imagine Audi Connect is required...

  9. #9
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jul 07 2017
    AZ Member #
    402342
    Location
    Charles Town, WV

    Quote Originally Posted by Ajax1900 View Post
    I have a 18 a5sb with the navigation plus and convenience package plus Audi connect set up, but I have yet to see the car recognize a single sign. Is this only available on certain trims or is there something I have to turn on in one of the 3000 menus?
    Look for "Camera-based traffic sign recognition" in the Owner's Manual--page 109 in mine.

  10. #10
    Active Member Two Rings Four rings fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 10 2016
    AZ Member #
    380620
    Location
    Florida

    You don't have traffic sign recognition on your car. You would have had to order a prestige with the drivers assistance pkg (DAP).

    If you really want it you can buy it here and install the software yourself. https://www.kufatec.de/shop/de/diagn...8w-a5-f5-q5-fy

    It's plug and play and this is what it would look like.
    Attached Images
    2017 B9 A4 PREMIUM+ QUATTRO | IBIS WHITE/BLACK/GREY OAK | NAV PKG | SPORT PKG | 19" WHEEL PKG | APR TUNED | S4 PEDAL SET | HARTMANN 19" RS6 REPS | MICHELIN PS4S | 034 MOTORSPORT STRUT BRACE |

  11. #11
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 30 2018
    AZ Member #
    421597
    Location
    New York

    Quote Originally Posted by Four rings fan View Post
    You don't have traffic sign recognition on your car. You would have had to order a prestige with the drivers assistance pkg (DAP).

    If you really want it you can buy it here and install the software yourself. https://www.kufatec.de/shop/de/diagn...8w-a5-f5-q5-fy

    It's plug and play and this is what it would look like.
    That makes sense, I don’t want it but I was just interested as I just got the car and wasn’t familiar with everything. The site you gave me is awesome though.



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.