Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 19 2016
    AZ Member #
    372051
    Location
    mn

    Wanna help me out and share your VCDS coding? (LED headlight retrofit)

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    I am retrofitting LED headlights to my 13 A6, but I can't seem to get the gremilins worked out. Everything is installed, and I used a commercially-available adapter harness for the lights (had xenons without curve-lighting before). I am getting errors on the dash saying "audi adaptive light error" and "bulb error". The curve lighting isn't working at all, and for some reason when I am using the turn signals, only the inside half of the LED strip is turning amber on both sides (but the whole strip works in DRL/white mode).

    My coding for address 09 (Cent. Elec.) is: 09072091093C8FE08100008380001800CF9CD208A608022100 0104546F00
    and both LED modules are coded as: 110000

    The errors I have in the module are:
    03645 - Output Module for LED Headlamps; Left
    004 - No Signal/Communication - Intermittent

    03641 - Output Module for LED Headlamps; Right
    004 - No Signal/Communication - Intermittent

    03804 - Supply Voltage for Left Headlamp
    011 - Open Circuit

    03805 - Supply Voltage for Right Headlamp
    011 - Open Circuit

    I contacted the adapter vendor and they just tell me that they aren't sure about US-spec wiring, but I checked the wiring diagrams and they look like they are identical with the addition of the stupid US side markers. And since it's identical on both sides, I would be very surprised if it's a defective module somewhere.

    Anyway....if anyone has coding for the BCM (addr. 09) and LED modules from their US-spec pre-facelift A6 with LED headlights they wouldn't mind sharing, I would surely appreciate it. Or any suggestions at all...I'm pretty much stuck.

    If it helps, is a 2013 prem+ A6 3.0T, no driver assistance stuff.

    Thanks in advance!
    Cody
    13 A6 3.0

  2. #2
    Senior Member Two Rings Dawid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 09 2012
    AZ Member #
    89619
    Location
    Denmark

    Wanna help me out and share your VCDS coding? (LED headlight retrofit)

    Did you change the BCM to one that supports LEDs?
    Dis you pull 1 wire (LIN) from the headlights to the BCM?
    I can provide you wirh exact coding for this upgrade as i did it so many times, but if you didnt do the BCM change and added wire it will never work.

  3. #3
    Veteran Member Three Rings Alister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 07 2005
    AZ Member #
    8686
    My Garage
    Audi RS5
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia

    I second the above on the appropriate BCM and LIN BUS wiring.

    My S6 (Australian/Euro spec) came standard with the LED headlights.

    Coding of the [09] module in my car is as follows:

    0907201009749FE0298100C7A0001800CF9DC3082F08020180 0108546F01

    The LED modules (subsystem 4 and 5 of [09]) are coded 110000.

  4. #4
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 19 2016
    AZ Member #
    372051
    Location
    mn

    Quote Originally Posted by Dawid View Post
    Did you change the BCM to one that supports LEDs?
    My car already had a BCM ending with -CG installed. I figure it must have been replaced somewhere along the way before I bought the car.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dawid View Post
    Dis you pull 1 wire (LIN) from the headlights to the BCM?
    The adapter I used had 3 wires that had to be added to the BCM:

    1 went to pin 1 of T16c/beige- I believe this is the Lin Bus connection.

    1 went to pin 2 of T17e(red), and the other went to pin 12 of T17c(beige). These appear to control the high beams on the new lights.

    Thoughts?
    13 A6 3.0

  5. #5
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 19 2016
    AZ Member #
    372051
    Location
    mn

    Quote Originally Posted by Alister View Post

    Coding of the [09] module in my car is as follows:

    0907201009749FE0298100C7A0001800CF9DC3082F08020180 0108546F01

    The LED modules (subsystem 4 and 5 of [09]) are coded 110000.
    Thanks!
    13 A6 3.0

  6. #6
    Senior Member Two Rings Dawid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 09 2012
    AZ Member #
    89619
    Location
    Denmark

    Quote Originally Posted by slocody View Post
    My car already had a BCM ending with -CG installed. I figure it must have been replaced somewhere along the way before I bought the car.



    The adapter I used had 3 wires that had to be added to the BCM:

    1 went to pin 1 of T16c/beige- I believe this is the Lin Bus connection.

    1 went to pin 2 of T17e(red), and the other went to pin 12 of T17c(beige). These appear to control the high beams on the new lights.

    Thoughts?
    I did this 10 times and never seen adapter with 3 wires. Always 1 wire that splits out to both lights for the LIN.
    It seems that the adapter might be from Halogen to LED or else it wouldnt make any sense :)
    Last edited by Dawid; 07-11-2018 at 05:06 AM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Two Rings Dawid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 09 2012
    AZ Member #
    89619
    Location
    Denmark

    You can't use full coding from another car as the BCM controls much more than the headlights. So changing to another cars long coding might result in other issues.
    Here is exact coding to perform retrofit of Full LED on PFL A6 4G

    09 - Cent. Elec and long coding:
    Byte 00 - Hex 09
    Byte 01 - Hex 07
    Byte 04 - Hex 09
    Byte 05 - Hex 74
    Byte 14 - Hex 18
    Byte 15 - Hex 00
    Byte 21 - Bit 0 change to 0
    Byte 25 - Hex 01
    Byte 27 - Hex 54
    Byte 28 - Bite 0 / 1 / 2 / 3 change to 1

    Depends on what more equipment you have go to:
    Address 20 and change Byte 0 to Hex 04
    Address 85, Byte 0, bit 2 change to 0

    And at last go to 09 Cent. Elec - Security Access (pass 20113 or 20103) and the adaptions. Channel 3 change to 26, test and save.

  8. #8
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 19 2016
    AZ Member #
    372051
    Location
    mn

    Quote Originally Posted by Dawid View Post
    You can't use full coding from another car
    Understood....I'm just hoping to look through the coding and figure out if I have something random coded wrong.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dawid View Post
    09 - Cent. Elec and long coding:
    Byte 00 - Hex 09
    Byte 01 - Hex 07
    Byte 04 - Hex 09
    Byte 05 - Hex 74
    Byte 14 - Hex 18
    Byte 15 - Hex 00
    Byte 21 - Bit 0 change to 0
    Byte 25 - Hex 01
    Byte 27 - Hex 54
    Byte 28 - Bite 0 / 1 / 2 / 3 change to 1
    Yeah, these match the instructions I have, so I have already made all of these changes, except for byte 05 I have set to 3C instead of 74 since I don't have the high-beam assist installed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dawid View Post
    Depends on what more equipment you have go to:
    Address 20 and change Byte 0 to Hex 04
    Address 85, Byte 0, bit 2 change to 0
    don't have either of these installed

    Quote Originally Posted by Dawid View Post
    And at last go to 09 Cent. Elec - Security Access (pass 20113 or 20103) and the adaptions. Channel 3 change to 26, test and save.
    already done.

    Have you ever tried this with US-spec equipment? Maybe there is a difference somewhere that I'm missing.

    Thanks
    13 A6 3.0

  9. #9
    Senior Member Two Rings Dawid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 09 2012
    AZ Member #
    89619
    Location
    Denmark

    As i wrote i my first post you need ti change the BCM. If you didnt did that it will never work.
    So you issues are because your BCM simply dont support LEDs.

  10. #10
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 19 2016
    AZ Member #
    372051
    Location
    mn

    Quote Originally Posted by Dawid View Post
    As i wrote i my first post you need ti change the BCM. If you didnt did that it will never work.
    So you issues are because your BCM simply dont support LEDs.
    change it to what? everything I found indicates that I need bcm part number 4H0 907 063 CG. Thats what I have installed. is there a different bcm i should be looking for?

  11. #11
    Senior Member Two Rings Dawid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 09 2012
    AZ Member #
    89619
    Location
    Denmark

    Quote Originally Posted by slocody View Post
    change it to what? everything I found indicates that I need bcm part number 4H0 907 063 CG. Thats what I have installed. is there a different bcm i should be looking for?
    Im not sure if he CG will work. I always use 4H0 907 063 BG when doing full LED retrofit. I can check what BCM i have in my S6 with original Full LED if you want me to.

  12. #12
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 19 2016
    AZ Member #
    372051
    Location
    mn

    that would be awesome. I appreciate your help.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 25 2010
    AZ Member #
    55129
    My Garage
    A6 BiTDi, A3 E-Tron, A5 Cab
    Location
    Cheshire UK

    CG does work as i have done the retrofit and works fine.
    Also has channel 55 been coded correctly? Byte 3 HEX 60
    A6 BiTdi Avant MTM
    Retrofitted: Full Led Headlights, DAB, Full Electric Seats, Power Tailgate, Surround View Cameras, Genuine RS6 Grille, RS6 Seats, Leather Door Armrests, Soft Close Doors, Rear Side Blinds, Electric Steering Column, LED Sill Plates, Ambient Lighting Pack, High Beam Assist, Eibach Springs, Led Roof Console, 4 Zone Climate, Rear Heated Seats, Head Up Display, Side assist,
    To be done: Alcantara interior retirm

  14. #14
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 19 2016
    AZ Member #
    372051
    Location
    mn

    Quote Originally Posted by morski View Post
    CG does work as i have done the retrofit and works fine.
    That's what I thought....but I almost wish it was the wrong one just so I would have an explanation ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by morski View Post
    Also has channel 55 been coded correctly? Byte 3 HEX 60
    Yep...and then I got an error that required me to reset to basic settings to clear.

    Thanks.
    13 A6 3.0

  15. #15
    Established Member Four Rings OlyS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 22 2016
    AZ Member #
    386370
    Location
    Olympia, WA

    Silly question probably, but do you have all the modules installed in the LED housings? They are often sold without the necessary internal modules (fan, etc), and when installed without them, will throw codes similar to what you're describing (I installed ecode headlights on my car not realizing I needed to install a fan module and got similar error codes).
    2016 S6, mythos black, RS7 turbos, MRC inlets |AWE touring exhaust| APR downpipes| Eventuri intake| AMS cooler| Eurocode sways, end-links, and AK | Audi CCB| HRE P103, 20x10 | RS6 grille| Neidfaktor CF mirrors, diffuser, and steering wheel| Blackvue dashcams| Escort Max CI 360 | RS6 LED headlights |Sound: Navtv Zen-v, Audiocontrol DM-810 DSP, JL HD900/5 driving JL10W3 sub and Focal KX3 up front. Rear; JL HD600/4 driving Focal KX2.

  16. #16
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 19 2016
    AZ Member #
    372051
    Location
    mn

    Quote Originally Posted by OlyS6 View Post
    Silly question probably, but do you have all the modules installed in the LED housings? They are often sold without the necessary internal modules (fan, etc), and when installed without them, will throw codes similar to what you're describing (I installed ecode headlights on my car not realizing I needed to install a fan module and got similar error codes).
    Yep all the modules are there. Did your ecodes require any coding changes since they are euro spec?
    13 A6 3.0

  17. #17
    Senior Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 25 2010
    AZ Member #
    55129
    My Garage
    A6 BiTDi, A3 E-Tron, A5 Cab
    Location
    Cheshire UK

    Sound more like an issue with wiring or faulty modules
    A6 BiTdi Avant MTM
    Retrofitted: Full Led Headlights, DAB, Full Electric Seats, Power Tailgate, Surround View Cameras, Genuine RS6 Grille, RS6 Seats, Leather Door Armrests, Soft Close Doors, Rear Side Blinds, Electric Steering Column, LED Sill Plates, Ambient Lighting Pack, High Beam Assist, Eibach Springs, Led Roof Console, 4 Zone Climate, Rear Heated Seats, Head Up Display, Side assist,
    To be done: Alcantara interior retirm

  18. #18
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 19 2016
    AZ Member #
    372051
    Location
    mn

    Quote Originally Posted by morski View Post
    Sound more like an issue with wiring or faulty modules
    Guess I'll have to spend some time in the garage with my trusty multimeter.

    If anyone has BCM coding for a US-spec A6 w/LEDs, I'd still like a peek....

    Thanks all.

    -cody
    13 A6 3.0



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.