Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    373491
    Location
    wyoming

    Is there a way to check timeing without pulling the engine? V10

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Is there a way to check timeing without pulling the engine? V10 5.2 can I do it though vag com?

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Veteran Member Three Rings cal3thousand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 19 2013
    AZ Member #
    109847
    My Garage
    1994 Volvo 850 Turbo
    Location
    Los Angeles

    Quote Originally Posted by s4ugenfast View Post
    Is there a way to check timeing without pulling the engine? V10 5.2 can I do it though vag com?

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    Engine module blocks 91, 92, and 93

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
    Danton Black: 2009 Audi C6.5 A6 Sedan (Quattro, 3.0T, Prestige)
    I miss my Avant, longing for a 2011 3.0T
    Dead:
    Griselda, aka Grizzy: 2007 Audi C6 A6 Avant (Quattro, S-Line)

    Just some small cosmetic mods while getting to Stage 0

  3. #3
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    373491
    Location
    wyoming

    Quote Originally Posted by cal3thousand View Post
    Engine module blocks 91, 92, and 93

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
    What values do I look for? Thanks!

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Established Member Two Rings ApostolSauce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 28 2010
    AZ Member #
    66315
    My Garage
    3.0T A6 Avant, STG3 B5 S4
    Location
    North Jersey

    if you have the special tools.. you can put the crank pin into the inspection hole, remove the valve covers and see if the cam locks thread in correctly. You have a timing fault i assume? Swap actuators, if it doesnít change and physical timing is good then you may need an adjuster. Then you can pull the engine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine

  5. #5
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    373491
    Location
    wyoming

    Quote Originally Posted by ApostolSauce View Post
    if you have the special tools.. you can put the crank pin into the inspection hole, remove the valve covers and see if the cam locks thread in correctly. You have a timing fault i assume? Swap actuators, if it doesnít change and physical timing is good then you may need an adjuster. Then you can pull the engine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine
    The fault I'm getting is P0368 Camshaft Position Sensor "B" Circuit High Input

    I swapped cam position sensors and actuators the fault stays the same. The car feels like it has a massive air leak more then a timeing issue.

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Established Member Two Rings ApostolSauce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 28 2010
    AZ Member #
    66315
    My Garage
    3.0T A6 Avant, STG3 B5 S4
    Location
    North Jersey

    thatís bank 1 exhaust side cam, does the fault come back right after clearing at idle or do you have to drive it for it to return? if the fault didnít follow the correct sensor and actuator then i would check physical timing and suspect the adjuster. As for air leaks, itís possible you have one, 5.2s donít have a good reputation with those intake manifolds.


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine

  7. #7
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    373491
    Location
    wyoming

    Quote Originally Posted by ApostolSauce View Post
    thatís bank 1 exhaust side cam, does the fault come back right after clearing at idle or do you have to drive it for it to return? if the fault didnít follow the correct sensor and actuator then i would check physical timing and suspect the adjuster. As for air leaks, itís possible you have one, 5.2s donít have a good reputation with those intake manifolds.


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine
    Car will barely idle pops and dies after a few seconds. When I erase the fault and restart the car and it comes back right. I was thinking possibly the the crankcase breather I had that before.

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Established Member Two Rings ApostolSauce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 28 2010
    AZ Member #
    66315
    My Garage
    3.0T A6 Avant, STG3 B5 S4
    Location
    North Jersey

    i would follow the fault. pull the valve covers and see if all the treaded holes (that the special tool would screw into) are in the same exact position at top dead center. they should be straight flat in line with the deck of the cylinder head.


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine

  9. #9
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jul 02 2018
    AZ Member #
    421680
    Location
    Lima oh

    Quote Originally Posted by ApostolSauce View Post
    i would follow the fault. pull the valve covers and see if all the treaded holes (that the special tool would screw into) are in the same exact position at top dead center. they should be straight flat in line with the deck of the cylinder head.


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine
    TBH...I think your taking it too far early on. If there was indeed a timing issue, you would get cam timing over/under advanced or cam crank correlation error. I forget the code numbers. I would first start by checking the wiring for that cam position sensor. I suspect youíll find your issue there. Trace it back through wire harness. Make sure all connectors are good and no pinched wires.

  10. #10
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    373491
    Location
    wyoming

    Quote Originally Posted by Terak0306 View Post
    TBH...I think your taking it too far early on. If there was indeed a timing issue, you would get cam timing over/under advanced or cam crank correlation error. I forget the code numbers. I would first start by checking the wiring for that cam position sensor. I suspect youíll find your issue there. Trace it back through wire harness. Make sure all connectors are good and no pinched wires.
    Thanks I think it is a wiring issue for that sensor but the car had bigger problems. The rocker popped out. Now I have to figure out why and swap a camshaft and new rockers.20180711_163611.jpeg

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Audizine mobile app



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.