Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 24 2014
    AZ Member #
    267908
    Location
    PA

    Would I need a new tune if 2.8 are installed?

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Would I have to retune my car if i put 2.8 heads on it ?

  2. #2
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 24 2014
    AZ Member #
    267908
    Location
    PA

    No one.?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Three Rings slowSfaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 26 2015
    AZ Member #
    329604
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ

    Short answer, yes.

  4. #4
    Veteran Member Three Rings Corradovolksb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 29 2013
    AZ Member #
    122066
    My Garage
    2018 VW Atlas
    Location
    Phoenix AZ

    It would run better if you did. The cam change over should be adjusted and there could be some minor boost and fueling changes needed. Depends on your setup.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Veteran Member Four Rings vavJETTAw36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 04 2012
    AZ Member #
    96276
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Items for Sale

    When I changed heads, Brad (Corradovolksb) got my car running like a champ. Contact him ^^ or brad@germanelitetuning.com

  6. #6
    Veteran Member Four Rings CELison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 23 2010
    AZ Member #
    55053
    Location
    Lehigh Valley

    To take advantage of them yes. But you can drive around on your old tune just fine in the meantime.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Three Rings Bob Marley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    367370
    Location
    Queens NY

    ...i'm currently running on 2.8 cams with no tune while I break in my clutch ... so far I see no negative effects other than power band is shifted to the Right a bit. Idle & part throttle round town driving is fine. Some mid/low torque is missing as well....However I'm coming from k04s & now running k24s on a k04 file so it's all subjective.

    Once all dialed in with a tune I expect even more benefits. But I don't think 2.8 cams are a drop in mod unless tuned for ....and paired with bigboy turbos

    This is all provided you installed them correctly in the first place...

    Be sure to check Measure Block 91,92 & 93 are in Spec

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Senior Member Three Rings avant1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 06 2016
    AZ Member #
    374356
    Location
    Parkton, Maryland

    Would I need a new tune if 2.8 are installed?

    I just ran into this- my buddy and I were running the same tune with the exact same hardware upgrades(injectors, ICs, turbos, both stage 3 builds), even the downpipes, turbo inlets, and MAF setup are the same. The only difference between my buddies set up and mine was the fact that I had 2.8 heads/cams and he had stock heads. My car was running 7-8% more lean consistently after the 2.8 head install by comparison to his s4. So yes, that is enough of a deviation to warrant a retune, especially if you are currently running a more aggressive file.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 07 2011
    AZ Member #
    73609
    Location
    Home of the mighty beaver

    thats interesting.. I ran into issues with being a bit too lean with my initial tune with blake, enough that it would get past the 25% long term trim mark... oddly enough, my k04 file on the old fueling was perfectly fine as I was breaking it in... well not going into limp anyhow, admitedly i was not monitoring the fuel trims too closely.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Three Rings Bob Marley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    367370
    Location
    Queens NY

    Quote Originally Posted by S4James View Post
    thats interesting.. I ran into issues with being a bit too lean with my initial tune with blake, enough that it would get past the 25% long term trim mark... oddly enough, my k04 file on the old fueling was perfectly fine as I was breaking it in... well not going into limp anyhow, admitedly i was not monitoring the fuel trims too closely.
    Damn ...25%!

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.