Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 24 2011
    AZ Member #
    71458
    Location
    Pittsburgh

    Bench VCDS rns-e?

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Is it really as simple as just connecting the k-line pin from the VCDS cable to the k-line pin on the rns-e... with a 12v bench power supply to 12v and gnd? Has anyone done this?
    2005 A4 B6 3.0L USP Ocean Blue

  2. #2
    Senior Member Four Rings CJ_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 27 2014
    AZ Member #
    291120
    Location
    Flag/Phx, AZ
    Items for Sale

    Iím going to be trying it tomorrow. You may need to connect can hi and low too

    Iíll report back with my findings
    Last edited by CJ_; 05-09-2018 at 07:06 PM.

    2001.5 Silver S4 Avant - 6spd swap + BW K04s (Current)
    2001.5 Santorin S4 Sedan - SRM k24 build (Totaled)

    IG: CJ_s4

  3. #3
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 24 2011
    AZ Member #
    71458
    Location
    Pittsburgh

    Thanks... I suspect that VCDS will require connection to the ECU to initialize. Maybe a less sophisticated scan tool would work better. :/

    This post says has a bit of a clue... but next to no information:
    http://audiforum.us/threads/vag_com-...for-rnse.8074/
    Last edited by jj94tt; 05-10-2018 at 06:52 AM.
    2005 A4 B6 3.0L USP Ocean Blue

  4. #4
    Senior Member Four Rings CJ_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 27 2014
    AZ Member #
    291120
    Location
    Flag/Phx, AZ
    Items for Sale

    Just found what seems to be a decent thread here. Havenít read through all of it yet, but FYI:

    http://forums.ross-tech.com/showthre...estbench-setup

    Just found this on nefmoto also, itís for a cluster, but same concept

    http://nefariousmotorsports.com/foru...?topic=3205.15
    Last edited by CJ_; 05-10-2018 at 12:06 PM.

    2001.5 Silver S4 Avant - 6spd swap + BW K04s (Current)
    2001.5 Santorin S4 Sedan - SRM k24 build (Totaled)

    IG: CJ_s4

  5. #5
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 24 2011
    AZ Member #
    71458
    Location
    Pittsburgh

    K-line:
    OBD2 connector, pin 7 (corresponding pin on the VCDS cable)
    to
    rns-e connector B, pin 5

    I am tempted to try this... I wonder if there is any risk of damage.... ?
    2005 A4 B6 3.0L USP Ocean Blue

  6. #6
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Dec 24 2009
    AZ Member #
    52496
    Location
    NY

    Quote Originally Posted by jj94tt View Post
    K-line:
    OBD2 connector, pin 7 (corresponding pin on the VCDS cable)
    to
    rns-e connector B, pin 5

    I am tempted to try this... I wonder if there is any risk of damage.... ?
    Let us know :)


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine

  7. #7
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 24 2011
    AZ Member #
    71458
    Location
    Pittsburgh

    Quote Originally Posted by superdlux View Post
    Let us know :)
    Well.. it doesn't seem to be that simple. No response from the controller with only the k-line connected. I am only using a test wire... nothing fancy.
    2005 A4 B6 3.0L USP Ocean Blue

  8. #8
    Veteran Member Four Rings LINDW4LL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 10 2011
    AZ Member #
    85071
    My Garage
    Stage 3 S4, E46 M3
    Location
    WI ✈ NC
    Items for Sale

    Why the complication when you could just hook up the harness and connect to VCDS via OBD2?
    -Hayden


  9. #9
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 24 2011
    AZ Member #
    71458
    Location
    Pittsburgh

    Quote Originally Posted by LINDW4LL View Post
    Why the complication when you could just hook up the harness and connect to VCDS via OBD2?
    Because why take the easy road?

    In my particular case, I purchased a used rns-e without a PIN. I would like to retrieve the serial number from the unit so that I can call and get a pin... and if that doesn't work for some reason, I would not have spent the $ on a harness and removed my Symphony2 head unit. Also, it would be nice to be able to eject the nav disc without going through the hassle of hooking it up to a car (if the drive is locked).... or update software, etc.
    2005 A4 B6 3.0L USP Ocean Blue

  10. #10
    Veteran Member Four Rings LINDW4LL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 10 2011
    AZ Member #
    85071
    My Garage
    Stage 3 S4, E46 M3
    Location
    WI ✈ NC
    Items for Sale

    OK; so you haven't purchased the harness yet. Understood. I'd just buy. Audi can always get the code, and once you have the harness, you can have the Symphony ejected, RNS-E powered up, and the AUZ obtained in ~ 5 minutes. Another ten minutes with Audi and you'll be up and running!

    I've powered up many on the bench, but never connected to VCDS that way. Simple power/ground to the unit allows you to do everything else you mentioned once you have the code.
    -Hayden


  11. #11
    Senior Member Four Rings CJ_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 27 2014
    AZ Member #
    291120
    Location
    Flag/Phx, AZ
    Items for Sale

    Bench VCDS rns-e?

    You get the AUZ code by simply hooking up power, no need for vcds for that. Then, Iíve never done it, but call audi or use the online chat and give them the AUZ and your vin and they will give you the pin


    2001.5 Silver S4 Avant - 6spd swap + BW K04s (Current)
    2001.5 Santorin S4 Sedan - SRM k24 build (Totaled)

    IG: CJ_s4

  12. #12
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Dec 24 2009
    AZ Member #
    52496
    Location
    NY

    Quote Originally Posted by CJ_ View Post
    You get the AUZ code by simply hooking up power, no need for vcds for that. Then, Iíve never done it, but call audi or use the online chat and give them the AUZ and your vin and they will give you the pin

    True-ish. Depends on the version of software running on the RNS-E. Older versions do not show the AUZ on the screen, so you need to go in via VAGCom

  13. #13
    Veteran Member Four Rings LINDW4LL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 10 2011
    AZ Member #
    85071
    My Garage
    Stage 3 S4, E46 M3
    Location
    WI ✈ NC
    Items for Sale

    Quote Originally Posted by CJ_ View Post
    You get the AUZ code by simply hooking up power, no need for vcds for that. Then, Iíve never done it, but call audi or use the online chat and give them the AUZ and your vin and they will give you the pin
    If it's running an older (pre 0260, I believe) software version, then the AUZ isn't displayed on the lock screen and that's when VCDS comes into play. But yeah OP, try just power first- there's a good chance it will show.

    -Hayden


  14. #14
    Senior Member Four Rings CJ_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 27 2014
    AZ Member #
    291120
    Location
    Flag/Phx, AZ
    Items for Sale

    Interesting, didnít know that. Both of my units are running above sw260 though

    2001.5 Silver S4 Avant - 6spd swap + BW K04s (Current)
    2001.5 Santorin S4 Sedan - SRM k24 build (Totaled)

    IG: CJ_s4

  15. #15
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 24 2011
    AZ Member #
    71458
    Location
    Pittsburgh

    Quote Originally Posted by superdlux View Post
    True-ish. Depends on the version of software running on the RNS-E. Older versions do not show the AUZ on the screen, so you need to go in via VAGCom
    I hooked up power immediately to make sure it was not DOA... shows the red-ish lock screen, no code. Plus, isn't that one pictured an MK2? I guess I can deduce from this, that I should be considering a SW update too.

    Thanks for the tips, anyway. I am sorry to say that I have accepted defeat and ordered a harness. :/
    2005 A4 B6 3.0L USP Ocean Blue

  16. #16
    Senior Member Four Rings CJ_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 27 2014
    AZ Member #
    291120
    Location
    Flag/Phx, AZ
    Items for Sale

    Yes mine is a mk2, but I also have a mk1 with sw0260 that shows the code. Yours is probably just running an older SW.

    On a side note, I got my bench setup started. I started with the cluster and was able to connect with my VAG-401 just by hooking up the k-line and power to my OBD harness. I performed coding and output tests with no issues. I haven't tried VCDS yet, but I assume it would work the same.

    2001.5 Silver S4 Avant - 6spd swap + BW K04s (Current)
    2001.5 Santorin S4 Sedan - SRM k24 build (Totaled)

    IG: CJ_s4

  17. #17
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 24 2011
    AZ Member #
    71458
    Location
    Pittsburgh

    Quote Originally Posted by CJ_ View Post
    On a side note, I got my bench setup started. I started with the cluster and was able to connect with my VAG-401 just by hooking up the k-line and power to my OBD harness. I performed coding and output tests with no issues. I haven't tried VCDS yet, but I assume it would work the same.
    This is interesting. I did not rig up a bench OBD harness... connected power and ground directly to the radio and simply connected the k-line from the radio to the VCDS cable. I wonder if the VCDS scanner relies on the +12, chassis ground, or signal ground to activate (it has a blue LED that turns green when connected; some signal must be activating it... it never turned green during my tests).
    2005 A4 B6 3.0L USP Ocean Blue

  18. #18
    How can I tell which version mk1/ml2 I have with out powering the unit. Thank you

  19. #19
    Veteran Member Four Rings LINDW4LL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 10 2011
    AZ Member #
    85071
    My Garage
    Stage 3 S4, E46 M3
    Location
    WI ✈ NC
    Items for Sale

    Quote Originally Posted by kRussia View Post
    How can I tell which version mk1/ml2 I have with out powering the unit. Thank you
    Part number on the top sticker. If it ends in 192, it's a Mk1; 193 is Mk2.

    Other differentiators include the MK2 saying "MEDIA" instead of CD on the second button from left, and generally having piano black screen trim and aluminum knobs; though I have seen a few outlier Mk2s with matte screen trim, and some late 192 units with aluminum knob.
    -Hayden


  20. #20
    Thank you Lindw4ll,



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.