Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 81 to 107 of 107
  1. #81
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Fitted new oem maf today, no better but get more of a stutter when itís not full blown misfiring.

    Blitz, thanks bud - did you do tfsi coils or 1.8t coils, ideally iíd use the early tt bolt down ones, thereís a company Ďbenchmarkí on ebay who sell uprated ones theyíll sell me 6 for £160

  2. #82
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    They must be more powerful - theyíre blue

    https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F192181224986

  3. #83
    Senior Member Three Rings slowSfaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 26 2015
    AZ Member #
    329604
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ

    If you want bolt down coils, rs6 is what most people will recommend.

  4. #84
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    Slowsfaux - just checked they are the same part / number as the tt coils, are the stock ones better than the stock s4 items then?

  5. #85
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    Ordered the bolt down Ďupratedí coils

    I pulled the plugs just now, bank 1 is fine, bank 2 not so much, any ideas? I tried a new icm on each sife and went for a drive earlier in the week but made no difference






  6. #86
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    I have another couple of threads going but iíll keep this updated, fitted my Ďupratedí rs6 coils and followed the tfsi solder how to, also fitted more new plugs, got new pre cat lambdas and fresh oil and filter to go in, hopefully tonight.

    Getting open circuit codes from coil upgrade which isnít ideal, regards remap - tuner has reviewed file and said there are errors so loading a new one soon.






  7. #87
    Active Member Two Rings In4cus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    373490
    My Garage
    2004 Allroad, 2006 Chevy Malibu, 1994 Ford E350, 2010 Ford Flex, 2007 BMW 328Xi
    Location
    Dingmans Ferry Pa

    Quote Originally Posted by ReggieNoble View Post
    I was always told not to gap iridium plugs. Because they damage to easily.

    Brought to you by "Beer" the cause of and solution to all life's problems
    Lololololololol

    Sent from my 5049W using Audizine mobile app

  8. #88
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    So I did some trial and error testing on the 'open circuit' fault, switched pin 2 for pin 4, tried all combination of grounding points, no change. dropped an old tfsi coil in one of the cylinders and the code didn't come back for that cylinder. tried another with wiring as pictured above - no code

    looks like these uprated coils are no good.

    got the lambdas (what a job ) and oil change done last night and getting new map loaded tomorrow, fingers crossed we'll be back in business soon.

  9. #89
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    Got my new oem rs6 coils @£47 each





    Got them fitted up and while i was there fitted new lower injector o-rings on the bosch 550ís and made sure they were all still clocked correctly









    And all covers back on again again



    All codes cleared, none returned 👍🏻 Another map loaded and i know have lambda adaption / correction, misfire counter, no misfires, much better afr on idle and part throttle, mpg has almost doubled

  10. #90
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    The tuner has looked at my file / logs and he says it's leaning out over 5.5k so I guess the fuel pump is tired so I've ordered a deatschwerks 300 universal pump for intank so hopefully that [I]should[I] be the last of the spend to get this tune running right.

    I'm assuming I'm good for 400chp now?

    gen bw k04's
    xs turbo intakes
    3" to 2.5" down pipes
    catless merging into custom 3" single box system
    bosch 550's
    uprated oversize smics
    RS4 clutch
    custom bi pipe
    ported all road tb merger
    panel filter
    darintake mod
    silicon boost pipes
    pressure tested
    new 710 dv's / n75 / maf / pre cat lambdas / rs6 coils / bkr7eix plugs / fuel filter
    dw 300 intank pump
    Last edited by olethalb; 11-29-2017 at 01:10 AM.

  11. #91
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    My pump arrived pretty swiftly



    Also 36 and 38mm nitrile o rings, iíll see what works best with the basket




  12. #92
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    Built my pump up into a spare housing i had, iíll have to see how rhe sock works out when it comes to fitting











    I went with the 36mm o rings

  13. #93
    Veteran Member Four Rings vavJETTAw36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 04 2012
    AZ Member #
    96276
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Items for Sale

    Never seen that fuel lid before.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #94
    Senior Member Three Rings Bob Marley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    367370
    Location
    Queens NY

    Quote Originally Posted by olethalb View Post
    Built my pump up into a spare housing i had, iíll have to see how rhe sock works out when it comes to fitting











    I went with the 36mm o rings
    No check valve?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

  15. #95
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    Bob marley - Built into the pump outlet iím pretty sure

  16. #96
    Senior Member Three Rings Bob Marley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    367370
    Location
    Queens NY

    Quote Originally Posted by olethalb View Post
    Bob marley - Built into the pump outlet iím pretty sure
    I have the same pump DW300 brand new & experienced fuel leak down pressure drop when car sits for a little causing long cranking....buddy of mine running a walbro 255 same issue. installed a 5/16" high flow check valve between pump outlet & hat... problem solved! Not sure if a check valve is not included in the dw300 internally or if it's not sufficient, but its a known issue with aftermarket high flow pumps... Aeromotive, 044,walbro & yes DW..

    It couldn't hurt to throw one in at this point before you install in tank... or take you're chances, you may be a lucky one

    Curious to see how that works out for you once its installed

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

  17. #97
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    Bob Marley - been in for 2 days so far so good behaves like normal or maybe slightly quicker crank vs start than the oem pump but as you say time will tell, thanks for input.

    hoping i'll finally be able to get a strong map on it and see over 400chp

  18. #98
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    still running around part tuned, the tuner has gone quiet and there's not many options over here for decent mapping.

    my 01e still feels slack, looking at other box options or maybe rebuild this one, kind of lost motivation lately with the mapping saga and now the 'part' map that surges and doesn't produce any decent power really.

  19. #99
    Senior Member Three Rings Bob Marley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 18 2016
    AZ Member #
    367370
    Location
    Queens NY

    Quote Originally Posted by olethalb View Post
    still running around part tuned, the tuner has gone quiet and there's not many options over here for decent mapping.

    my 01e still feels slack, looking at other box options or maybe rebuild this one, kind of lost motivation lately with the mapping saga and now the 'part' map that surges and doesn't produce any decent power really.
    Which tuner are you using?

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  20. #100
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    a local one, I would ideally use MRC but we've had history

  21. #101
    Veteran Member Four Rings vavJETTAw36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 04 2012
    AZ Member #
    96276
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Items for Sale

    2.7t noob - first time pulling engine

    Quote Originally Posted by olethalb View Post
    a local one, I would ideally use MRC but we've had history
    Contact brad AT germanelitetuning dot com aka corradovolksb and he will get you straightened out. He's tuned a few of my cars and he's awesome. Or shoot me your contact info and I'll forward it to him.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  22. #102
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    Thanks bud but iím not sure how that would work for me in the uk

    Not alot been going on, iíve been putting a tfsi motor in my friends mk4 golf quattro. I did order some ak motorsports box mounts as my other ones had become increasingly sloppy





    I fitted them couple of hours after they arrived and so far so good, the shank on the bolts was a little too long so iíve ordered some better oem bolts, theyíve tightened everything back up nicely, coupled with my rs4 engine mounts and poly snub it feels pretty good, i may need to re-adjust poly but theyíre working well so far, slightly more noise - probably amplified by my solid subframe mounts but worth the slop trade off and iím pretty fussy about these things.

    Itís spurred me on to get making my new shift rod assembly so iíve purchased a Ďnewí full linkage assembly so i can chop it up and add my track rod end in place of the ball / socket oem set up - pics will follow once it arrives

  23. #103
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    Ok so after a week or so of running these mounts it became clear my 'recon' gearbox is really close to expiration, you can hear the diff knocking over bumps, rumble on deceleration, odd characteristics when manoeuvring and general slop, it's a shame because the shifts are pretty good all things considered.

    I have sourced a used box I'm hoping will be better but only way to tell without stripping is get it fitted up unfortunately.

    a friend of mine just bought some corner weight scales and it came in at 1726kg with 1/4 tank and no driver, I'm not sure how good or bad that is for a6 but I thought while I'm changing the box I may as well fit aluminium RS6 subframe and I found a pair on ebay (front and rear) so that might shave off a few KG's, also tempted to fit some lighter seats and wheels.

    hopefully i'll finally get around to fitting the steel slave, braided line and make the new shifter linkage setup

  24. #104
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    still not done anything and the box is getting pretty bad now, I have the replacement sat in my garden with the aluminium subframes and whole host of other bits waiting to go on, or on the todo list.

    tempted to take it off the road and pull the motor and just get everything done in one hit.

    I'm currently spending all my free time making my friends mk1 golf 4 wheel drive but really need to get back on with with this.

  25. #105
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    I've decided to ditch the 01e and I've sourced an 0a3, just starting to gather the other parts for the conversion now, was going to try and stretch to cae but seems they don't do a cable set up for the 0a3 which is a pain, I might try to make something myself...

  26. #106
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    I collected the 0a3 last week, the guy threw in;

    linkage
    heatshields
    all bolts
    2 x right side shafts
    slave

    picked up EUT rear diff on ebay hopefully be here next couple of days

    and just ordered the JHM speed converter and box conversion mounts

    so hopefully that's all the parts, just need my prop shortening and balancing when I decide to go ahead with the swap

  27. #107
    Senior Member Three Rings olethalb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 22 2013
    AZ Member #
    110012
    Location
    london ish

    my JHM conversion mounts and speed converter turned up last week, very well packaged and arrived swiftly. the £120 import tax was a bit of a bummer but I'm all set apart from the prop

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.