Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 22 2016
    AZ Member #
    367589
    My Garage
    Audi TT and Touareg
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Cluster removal instructions: Anyone?

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Looking for directions on how to remove the dash cluster (speedo). I found B6 directions etc, but I am a technical idiot and need to see everything in pictures or video. :) If anyone could help, it would be appreciated.

    Also, if I replace my broken dash what is needed and how hard is it to program the new dash?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Four Rings whiped's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2016
    AZ Member #
    371376
    Location
    Portland, OR

    It is pretty easy, similar to other cars.
    I don't believe anything is stored on the cluster itself so you should just be able to swap them.

    Lower the steering wheel all the way.
    Remove the trim. (It just pops off, drivers vent will also come off. On B8.5 you will need to either unclip it or remove the plug on the back)
    Undo the 3 screws (See pic)


    Undo the latch on the back


    Here is the pinout:

    Code:
    1 - 	Not used
    2 - 	CAN bus (screening) wake-up wire
    3 - 	CAN bus (Low) wake-up wire
    4 - 	CAN bus (High) wake-up wire
    5 - 	Sender earth for fuel gauge sender -G- - pin 2
    6 - 	Fuel gauge sender -G- - pin 4
    7 - 	Fuel gauge sender -G- - pin 3
    8 - 	Switch panel
    9 - 	Fuel gauge sender 2 -G169- - Pin 2
    10 - 	Fuel gauge sender 2 -G169- - Pin 1
    11 - 	Not used
    12 - 	Not used
    13 - 	Not used
    14 - 	Not used
    15 - 	Not used
    16 - 	Not used
    17 - 	Not used
    18 - 	Not used
    19 - 	Not used
    20 - 	Check button
    21 - 	Not used
    22 - 	Not used
    23 - 	Radio-controlled clock 5V
    24 - 	Radio-controlled clock signal
    25 - 	Oil level
    26 - 	Not used
    27 - 	Not used
    28 - 	Not used
    29 - 	Terminal 31
    30 - 	Terminal 31
    31 - 	Terminal 30
    32 - 	Terminal 30
    Geoff
    '13 S4 - Glacier White | DSG | 034 Stage 2++ | Current Setup
    452WHP / 443WTQ | 11.352 @ 119.26 | @dirtyaudi

  3. #3
    Veteran Member Four Rings infinkc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 14 2004
    AZ Member #
    465
    Location
    S C, C*

    There is component protection on it and the cluster keeps the mileage on it, so swapping is not direct.
    There are 10 kinds of people in this world, those who know binary and those who don't.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Four Rings whiped's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2016
    AZ Member #
    371376
    Location
    Portland, OR

    Quote Originally Posted by infinkc View Post
    There is component protection on it and the cluster keeps the mileage on it, so swapping is not direct.
    Damn. Just like my old car

    Didn't see anything on that in the notes so figured it was stored in the ECU.
    Geoff
    '13 S4 - Glacier White | DSG | 034 Stage 2++ | Current Setup
    452WHP / 443WTQ | 11.352 @ 119.26 | @dirtyaudi

  5. #5
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 22 2016
    AZ Member #
    367589
    My Garage
    Audi TT and Touareg
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Still great info.. so how exactly do I move the info over? Find someone with a Vag?

    Ignorant to this... so excuse me!

  6. #6
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 22 2016
    AZ Member #
    367589
    My Garage
    Audi TT and Touareg
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Also...

    I looked at my cluster briefly yesterday so ill have to look again, but do the "square buttons" pop off? or do they come out with the cluster? Does anyone happen to have a video of the b8 removal?

    I just want to be thorough, screw for screw, etc...

  7. #7
    Senior Member Four Rings whiped's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2016
    AZ Member #
    371376
    Location
    Portland, OR

    B8 or B8.5?

    Square buttons in the instrument cluster probably come off with the cluster.

    Hazard light switch on the B8.5 comes off with the trim piece.
    Geoff
    '13 S4 - Glacier White | DSG | 034 Stage 2++ | Current Setup
    452WHP / 443WTQ | 11.352 @ 119.26 | @dirtyaudi

  8. #8
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 22 2016
    AZ Member #
    367589
    My Garage
    Audi TT and Touareg
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    ok..

    http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data...m/cluster4.JPG

    I think you maybe right... Now if I could find a video or instructions that are the "same dash" being removed. I am not technically savy when it comes to taking things apart and need to know every bolt, etc...

  9. #9
    Veteran Member Three Rings EHesh14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 16 2010
    AZ Member #
    61515
    Location
    Colorado

    I need to remove mine to figure out how I am gonna correct all of the fine scratches that I have on the plastic. Anyone advice or technique to get in there would be appreciated. I know a rupes ibrid nano would do wonders.

  10. #10
    Established Member Two Rings Drunktank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 05 2015
    AZ Member #
    347152
    Location
    TX

    The Audi Alpine aftermarket head unit video has a demonstration of it, as they put the GPS antenna behind the cluster. Here you go.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DwiPIYcLQ9Q

  11. #11
    Veteran Member Three Rings MVR 155's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 04 2013
    AZ Member #
    112675
    My Garage
    2018 Audi S6, 2015 GMC Yukon Denali and 2002 Corvette Z06
    Location
    Bartlett, IL

    Quote Originally Posted by infinkc View Post
    There is component protection on it and the cluster keeps the mileage on it, so swapping is not direct.
    Would the new/replaced cluster show the mileage from the previous car? Could the new cluster be programed to the mileage of the OP's car? I know some clusters need to be programmed on a dealer computer otherwise they will lock.
    2018 S6 Prestige, Glacier White/Black
    2002 Corvette Z06
    2015 GMC Yukon Denali

  12. #12
    Senior Member Three Rings quietcropduster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 21 2015
    AZ Member #
    316499
    Location
    Ohio

    Quote Originally Posted by EHesh14 View Post
    I need to remove mine to figure out how I am gonna correct all of the fine scratches that I have on the plastic. Anyone advice or technique to get in there would be appreciated. I know a rupes ibrid nano would do wonders.
    Shit was just going to ask this exact question, previous own did it thou, not me. Can we replace the clear plastic piece on the front?

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
    B8.5 S4 S-Tronic | Glacier White Metallic Technology Package | Bang & Olufsen | Sports Differential | Carbon Inlays | Roc Euro Intake | LED Fogs | Summer: VMR V710s with Michelin PSS | Winter: OEM Peelers with Pirelli Winter Sottozero Series II | Magnaflow X Pipe | CR-15 Strut Brace | Stasis RSB | various vag-com mods

  13. #13
    Veteran Member Three Rings MVR 155's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 04 2013
    AZ Member #
    112675
    My Garage
    2018 Audi S6, 2015 GMC Yukon Denali and 2002 Corvette Z06
    Location
    Bartlett, IL

    Quote Originally Posted by quietcropduster View Post
    Shit was just going to ask this exact question, previous own did it thou, not me. Can we replace the clear plastic piece on the front?

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
    Multiple products made for removing fine scratches on the plastic instrument cluster cover, here is a good thread with numerous product recommendations......

    http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/...-clusters.html
    2018 S6 Prestige, Glacier White/Black
    2002 Corvette Z06
    2015 GMC Yukon Denali

  14. #14
    Senior Member Three Rings quietcropduster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 21 2015
    AZ Member #
    316499
    Location
    Ohio

    Quote Originally Posted by MVR 155 View Post
    Multiple products made for removing fine scratches on the plastic instrument cluster cover, here is a good thread with numerous product recommendations......

    http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/...-clusters.html
    Tried a few of those it helps but not entirely and I'm ocd as fuck, it's eating st me lol

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
    B8.5 S4 S-Tronic | Glacier White Metallic Technology Package | Bang & Olufsen | Sports Differential | Carbon Inlays | Roc Euro Intake | LED Fogs | Summer: VMR V710s with Michelin PSS | Winter: OEM Peelers with Pirelli Winter Sottozero Series II | Magnaflow X Pipe | CR-15 Strut Brace | Stasis RSB | various vag-com mods

  15. #15
    Veteran Member Four Rings Gunnark100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 21 2012
    AZ Member #
    102672
    Location
    Earth...

    Quote Originally Posted by MVR 155 View Post
    Would the new/replaced cluster show the mileage from the previous car?
    No, new cluster mileage has to be programmed. Dealer can adjust mileage of the new cluster, hackers can adjust mileage of used one also(carprog, enigma tool etc).
    Retrofits: FL taillights / MMI 3G & 3G+(Street view incl.)/ Color Cluster & FL S5 Cluster/ BiXenon/ ADS Lite
    Other: ECU Tune/ VCDS Tweaks/ FL Gearknob/ Soundproofing/ Interior 6D Carbon Wrap/ Rieger Rep Front Bumper Valance/ Basic sound(8) upgrade to "ASS"(9+1) + B/O Sub(in sidepanel)/Tweeters + Activsub/ Efficiency Prog via Cluster & Gateway flash/ Sideskirts/ Window Tint/ Wsp Peeler reps/ License plate & Interior leds

  16. #16
    Veteran Member Four Rings Gunnark100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 21 2012
    AZ Member #
    102672
    Location
    Earth...

    Quote Originally Posted by quietcropduster View Post
    Can we replace the clear plastic piece on the front?

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
    Yes you can replace only front face, but you need donor cluster, as the face is not separate part in catalogue.
    http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...etrofit-for-A4
    Retrofits: FL taillights / MMI 3G & 3G+(Street view incl.)/ Color Cluster & FL S5 Cluster/ BiXenon/ ADS Lite
    Other: ECU Tune/ VCDS Tweaks/ FL Gearknob/ Soundproofing/ Interior 6D Carbon Wrap/ Rieger Rep Front Bumper Valance/ Basic sound(8) upgrade to "ASS"(9+1) + B/O Sub(in sidepanel)/Tweeters + Activsub/ Efficiency Prog via Cluster & Gateway flash/ Sideskirts/ Window Tint/ Wsp Peeler reps/ License plate & Interior leds

  17. #17
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 22 2016
    AZ Member #
    367589
    My Garage
    Audi TT and Touareg
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    I appreciate the hijack of my thread...

    But again, any removal instructions etc.. would be nice as well. :) I can't see that youtube video for some reason, maybe something at work. But as soon as I can ill check it. If anyone has anything relevant to the B8 (not 8.5 unless exactly the same) please post up.

    Is there anyone in Orlando or close by that has removed one, that I could pay to remove and put back in?

    **Watched youtube video and that isn't the same as my S4** I am looking for something that show's the removal from a B8 s4 so it's 100% relevant.

  18. #18
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 22 2014
    AZ Member #
    191804
    My Garage
    ML350
    Location
    Sacramento

    Quote Originally Posted by KissMySSSSS View Post
    But again, any removal instructions etc.. would be nice as well. :) I can't see that youtube video for some reason, maybe something at work. But as soon as I can ill check it. If anyone has anything relevant to the B8 (not 8.5 unless exactly the same) please post up.

    Is there anyone in Orlando or close by that has removed one, that I could pay to remove and put back in?

    **Watched youtube video and that isn't the same as my S4** I am looking for something that show's the removal from a B8 s4 so it's 100% relevant.
    A few of us have swapped clusters in our A4s, same process. Here are a couple of good things with info:

    http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...1#post11851028

    http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...etrofit-for-A4

    If you swap a cluster completely it'll run in safe mode and need to be taken off at a dealer. Only the speedo and mileage will work at that point, everything else on the cluster won't function.
    2011 A4 JHM K04-R : APR : EUROCODE : CTS : 034 : PUREMS : ECS TUNING : USP MOTORSPORTS : BFI : SNOW PERFORMANCE

  19. #19
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 22 2016
    AZ Member #
    367589
    My Garage
    Audi TT and Touareg
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Quote Originally Posted by shaunm82 View Post
    A few of us have swapped clusters in our A4s, same process. Here are a couple of good things with info:

    http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...1#post11851028

    http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...etrofit-for-A4

    If you swap a cluster completely it'll run in safe mode and need to be taken off at a dealer. Only the speedo and mileage will work at that point, everything else on the cluster won't function.

    Gotcha... well I found some places that repair clusters. So maybe I can just send mine out and what not. :)

    Still hopeful that someone on the forum lives in Florida and has done this on a B8... I don't feel comfortable doing it since no one has a B8 video etc... Ill look at those in a bit when I get to work.

  20. #20
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 22 2016
    AZ Member #
    367589
    My Garage
    Audi TT and Touareg
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Okay! That second link is hopeful! Now I need a pry tool. But as I said I am clumsy and brake stuff (especially clips!)... Wondering how much of a pain in the ass those panels are to get off because yesterday I applied a bit of pressure with my fingers and they didn't want to budge. (scratches head)

    Very good post though! Now if I can find a video lol..


    Quote Originally Posted by shaunm82 View Post
    A few of us have swapped clusters in our A4s, same process. Here are a couple of good things with info:

    http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...1#post11851028

    http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...etrofit-for-A4

    If you swap a cluster completely it'll run in safe mode and need to be taken off at a dealer. Only the speedo and mileage will work at that point, everything else on the cluster won't function.

  21. #21
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 22 2016
    AZ Member #
    367589
    My Garage
    Audi TT and Touareg
    Location
    Orlando, FL

    Bump! Anyone have any videos of the B8 S4 / A4 Dash removal? (Not any other make) This exact model for removing dash? OR is there anyone near Orlando / Lake Mary that I could pay to pull it?

  22. #22
    Senior Member Four Rings whiped's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2016
    AZ Member #
    371376
    Location
    Portland, OR

    Dash trim wasn't hard to remove but get the plastic pry tools they will save you a lot of headaches.

    With those you just have to commit, the clips take more force than I'd like to remove but aren't awful.



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2019 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.