Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Veteran Member Four Rings rollerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 16 2010
    AZ Member #
    64156
    Location
    Central Wash

    Bose System to aftermarket? Avoid *POP* from AMP?

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Couldn't find an answer in a brief search, but I've been doing some experimenting with what system I want to go to from the Symphony II w/ Bose amp. I have all the requisite adapters, wired correctly through pre-outs and it works great, sounds great- but is there a way to avoid the *POP* from the amp powering up (and powering down)? I have the signal from the 'remote control' blue/white wire, is there a better way?
    Just to clarify, it sounds awesome, but the AMP makes the loud *POP* just when powering up and down...no bad sounds during operation.
    -TIA
    Bob
    Last edited by rollerton; 10-05-2010 at 01:26 PM.
    foley803 : What does an electrical surge sound like? Barking dogs? Watermelons?

  2. #2
    Veteran Member Four Rings koolade9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 11 2008
    AZ Member #
    26294
    My Garage
    RS4, 190e 16v, e46 M3
    Location
    602

    that's typically a function of the amp/headunit you chose to run. Several headunits will not send an audio signal until a few seconds after they send the turn-on signal. Several amps will turn off the audio input until the amp is fully powered up (soft-on). There are a few devices (phoenix gold line driver comes to mind) that will provide a delayed turn-on for the amp...
    FRRG AZ Ring

  3. #3
    Established Member Two Rings badlandz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 06 2009
    AZ Member #
    40833
    My Garage
    1998 B5 2.8 30v Quattro and 1996 B5 2.8 12v Quattro
    Location
    Tucson

    Just put my Alpine iDA-305 in mine tonight, same thing, all the right harnesses to connect to Bose setup, I get the pop too. Sad to see this reply, might have to look into delay devices. Are they expensive?

    For the moment I just put the factory stereo back, I'll have to get back to this in a day or two. :-(
    1998 B5 2.8 30v Quattro and 1996 B5 2.8 12v Quattro

  4. #4
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 26 2008
    AZ Member #
    31287
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia

    Quote Originally Posted by koolade9 View Post
    that's typically a function of the amp/headunit you chose to run. Several headunits will not send an audio signal until a few seconds after they send the turn-on signal. Several amps will turn off the audio input until the amp is fully powered up (soft-on). There are a few devices (phoenix gold line driver comes to mind) that will provide a delayed turn-on for the amp...
    x2.
    Consider visiting a local quality car audio installer, they should be able to install a relay on your remote-on line to give you a delayed start up, if your amp doesn't have soft-on.

    Alternatively, you could always install a better (aftermarket) h/u.

  5. #5
    Veteran Member Four Rings 8520's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 07 2008
    AZ Member #
    25012
    My Garage
    04 Silverado V8, 06 Touareg V8, 03 RS6 V8TT, 01 allroad, 01 A6 6MT
    Location
    The boonies, near Seattle

    Quote Originally Posted by dcc236 View Post
    x2.
    Consider visiting a local quality car audio installer, they should be able to install a relay on your remote-on line to give you a delayed start up, if your amp doesn't have soft-on.
    A relay to what though?
    -dre

  6. #6
    Established Member Two Rings badlandz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 06 2009
    AZ Member #
    40833
    My Garage
    1998 B5 2.8 30v Quattro and 1996 B5 2.8 12v Quattro
    Location
    Tucson

    Well, I'm not sure my *pop* sound is the same. :-( If it was just a power-on/power-off pop, I suppose I'd not be as annoyed. But it pops every time I do anything, like change stations, jump from one song to the next on the iPod, pretty much everything. Any thoughts? Bad ground?
    1998 B5 2.8 30v Quattro and 1996 B5 2.8 12v Quattro

  7. #7
    Veteran Member Four Rings rollerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 16 2010
    AZ Member #
    64156
    Location
    Central Wash

    I did some research last week and here's the theory: the head unit 'mutes' the channels/ frequencies that aren't processed directly by it and fed to the AMP. So there are in reality lots of pops and cracks between tracks and anywhere actual music isn't being played, but they're muted by the head unit.
    SO the idea is to slow down the powering up of the AMP so the head unit will 'mute' the amp power-up *POP*, and conversely you want the amp to power down before the head unit so the head unit can mute that also. Some sort of relay setup is said to work,** I sort of verified this in practice by connecting and disconnecting the blue/wht (remote)wire TO the amp after the head unit is powered up...no POP to speak of-
    but I also found this:
    STINGER POP STOPPER
    And I've ordered one, I'll install it in the next couple days and see if it works.

    @Badlandz- from what I've read you need a ground loop isolator- your problem isn't uncommon with the BOSE amp/ aftermarket head unit- something about how the BOSE amp runs grounds by capacitors on the board? I know nothing about Hi-fi or stereos really, but in my searching I saw many threads about that problem, and seems like ALOT of it can be cured with common things- again...no experience, but it's a cheap thing to try...

    STINGER GROUND LOOP ISOLATOR
    Last edited by rollerton; 10-10-2010 at 10:23 PM.
    foley803 : What does an electrical surge sound like? Barking dogs? Watermelons?

  8. #8
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 18 2005
    AZ Member #
    4897
    Location
    North NJ

    the PAC SOEM-4 (or whatever variant they have out now) 4 channel line out converter has switchable inputs and outputs so you can go from high level into low level going into your bose amp. that always stopped the popping. I recall also using a resistor on the amp turn on wire and that would get rid of it, forgot what value it was though

  9. #9
    Veteran Member Four Rings rollerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 16 2010
    AZ Member #
    64156
    Location
    Central Wash

    A resistor would be waaay easier than the POP stopper thing if you knew that value! As long as the blu/wht wire is just the 'switch' signal for the amp- I doubt the amp is actually powered by that through the head unit, but if it was the resistor could cause a problem I'd think?
    foley803 : What does an electrical surge sound like? Barking dogs? Watermelons?

  10. #10
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 27 2010
    AZ Member #
    64926
    My Garage
    64 bug w/swapped crossflow, 71 KGhia, Nissan Armada
    Location
    Reading, PA

    I just went thru this when installing a pioneer avic f90-bt into my 01 AR. I had the pop and checked all my connections and tried grounding outside the harness. it still popped. I had an old ground loop isolator in my garage. I hooked it up to one line out and zero pop. I went and bought another and problem solved. Not the best answer, but the stereo sounds great and no annoying POP. Just my .02...

  11. #11
    Veteran Member Four Rings rollerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 16 2010
    AZ Member #
    64156
    Location
    Central Wash

    I'll have to do that then I guess...The pop stopper works on 'either' power up OR power down, it can't do the delay for both. I ran the amp through the antenna (+) wire and that seemed to stop the pop on power down...but I'm not satisfied.
    I did read it's possible to use a 1.5k ohm/.5watt resistor in the circuit..that might work too, But I like the ground loop isolator idea, since I'm installing an Avic too.
    foley803 : What does an electrical surge sound like? Barking dogs? Watermelons?

  12. #12
    Veteran Member Four Rings 8520's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 07 2008
    AZ Member #
    25012
    My Garage
    04 Silverado V8, 06 Touareg V8, 03 RS6 V8TT, 01 allroad, 01 A6 6MT
    Location
    The boonies, near Seattle

    Quote Originally Posted by CKYmike View Post
    the PAC SOEM-4 (or whatever variant they have out now) 4 channel line out converter has switchable inputs and outputs so you can go from high level into low level going into your bose amp. that always stopped the popping. I recall also using a resistor on the amp turn on wire and that would get rid of it, forgot what value it was though
    The bolded section is the best answer in this thread. Trust me.
    -dre

  13. #13
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 26 2008
    AZ Member #
    31287
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia

    I would have thought the best option would be to remove (throw away) the Bose amp & speakers and use some quality aftermarket equipment in its place...

  14. #14
    Established Member Two Rings badlandz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 06 2009
    AZ Member #
    40833
    My Garage
    1998 B5 2.8 30v Quattro and 1996 B5 2.8 12v Quattro
    Location
    Tucson

    Yes, bypassing the Bose stuff might be best, but for those that just want to spend a little money on a headunit rather than a lot of money on new amp and speakers and wiring, it's not to bad to use it.

    I solved a lot of my pop situation. I had assumed that the lines that weren't used didn't go anywhere, so I wired up the harness completely. Then I thought about it, and I was running power out to lines I didn't know where went (the ones that would go to the speakers and not the amp). I disconnected them from the harness and balled them up and taped them off, and no more popping. Not even noticing the power on pop.

    Apparently they were running somewhere that was not insulated well.
    1998 B5 2.8 30v Quattro and 1996 B5 2.8 12v Quattro

  15. #15
    Veteran Member Four Rings rollerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 16 2010
    AZ Member #
    64156
    Location
    Central Wash

    I have the wiring very tidy and soldered, no wires going anywhere they don't need to be.. but I may look again.
    In my case the pop-stopper doesn't work for power up because the head unit (Avic F90bt) take so long to boot up, basically you cant stall the AMP long enough to power up after the head unit. I have the POP stopped now at shutdown where it was loudest by running the AMP off regular keyed power and the head unit off keyed power that is live until key is removed. Works normal but the AMP powers down when the key is turned off, but the stereo stays ON until I remove the key.
    I have a GLI but haven't got the time to try it yet.. .
    foley803 : What does an electrical surge sound like? Barking dogs? Watermelons?

  16. #16
    Veteran Member Four Rings BASARAB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 01 2010
    AZ Member #
    55352
    Location
    Farmington Hills,Mi

    Does anybody got any new solutions for that damn pop? My amp even goes to protect mode when its powering up

  17. #17
    Established Member Two Rings TurKey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 18 2011
    AZ Member #
    78404
    My Garage
    02 A4 Avant, 03 ZX6R, 66 Mustang, TTR250,
    Location
    Bay Area

    For anybody getting the pop on power up or power down you can use this:
    DEI 528T Pulsed Timer Relay

    You can adjust it to delay amp power on for 1-30 seconds.

  18. #18
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Apr 27 2009
    AZ Member #
    41760
    My Garage
    1992 VW Corrado SLC TDI
    Location
    Ft. Riley, KS

    Quote Originally Posted by badlandz View Post
    Well, I'm not sure my *pop* sound is the same. :-( If it was just a power-on/power-off pop, I suppose I'd not be as annoyed. But it pops every time I do anything, like change stations, jump from one song to the next on the iPod, pretty much everything. Any thoughts? Bad ground?
    I just put an Alpine in my S6. I get the pop every time I do anything. What did you do to fix it?

    Coming to you via a combination of smoke signals, carrier pigeons, and tin cans on a string.

  19. #19
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 29 2013
    AZ Member #
    122005
    Location
    Mt Pleasant, SC

    Put a relay on the remote turn-on wire before it gets to the amp. It will delay the amp startup.

    If you have a DSP, you usually don't need the relay because most DSPs have amplifier delayed turn-on.
    2013 Audi S6 Ibis White, Black interior, LED headlights, 20" alloy wheels, Carbon Atlas inlays, Audi side assist

    Mods Bel STiR Plus, Blinder HP-905, BlackVue dash cams (front and rear), Black Optics grill, Black window trim, XPel Ultimate film, Modesta BC-03 glass coating

  20. #20
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Nov 25 2009
    AZ Member #
    51209
    Location
    Lexington, KY/Orlando, FL

    Just dealt with the same problem...had a ground loop isolator laying around so I tried unhooking the rear rca inputs and running just the fronts through the isolator. Totally fixed the pop. Gonna buy a second one or perhaps a 4 channel one if that exists

  21. #21
    Senior Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 03 2014
    AZ Member #
    279997
    My Garage
    2014 Audi Q7 Premium Plus, 2014 Audi A4 2.0T Quattro S-Line
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD

    I used to have a similar problem with the turn-on pop in a previous setup in another car. I just installed a SPST toggle switch in-line with the turn-on wire to the amp and mounted the switch on the dash. I'd turn on the head unit and wait a couple of seconds before switching on the amp. No more pops. I would always switch off the amp before turning the car or the head unit off to avoid the turn-off pop. It may not be the most convenient solution, but it was effective and inexpensive.

  22. #22
    Stage 3 Forum Advertiser Four Rings Christian@enfig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 12 2004
    AZ Member #
    2759
    My Garage
    2013 CC Executive Edition VR6 3.6, 2003 GLI VR6, 2005 A4 cab 3.0 V6, 01 GTI VR6. Past 89 & 78 Golf
    Location
    Fort Lee, NJ

    Our HILO radio installation harnesses have filters that prevent the pop and also make the system sound better overall.

    https://enfigcarstereo.com/radio-ins...odel=A4/S4/RS4
    EnfigCarStereo.com - iPod iPhone & Aux Specialists - Radio Replacement Specialists
    info@enfig.com
    201-490-5015
    FaceBook



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2019 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.