Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 88
  1. #1
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Aux Input for Symphony II+

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Thanks to daveman for this inspiration.....forgive the blurry iphone pics

    Step 1: Buy Audi Repair wires from Audi which come with ISO connectors , Audi Part Number 000-979-009: Wire Repair Set. Below is a close up of what an iso connector is.



    Step 2: Buy a 3.5mm Stereo socket from Radio Shack.



    Step 3: Solder one end of any stereo cable, to the terminals of the 3mm socket, and the other end, to one Audi Repair wire.





    Step 4: Pull out the blank empty cover from your radio



    Step 5: Drill a hole such that you can pass the 3.5mm socket through it.





    Step 6: Thread the wires through that hole, and push the cover back in.



    Step 7: Now using your Radio Removal Tools, pull out the Radio. At the back of the radio, locate and unplug the following cable:



    Step 8: Now here is the back of the connector, where those ISO connectors will be pushed in. There are several empty ones, refer to the circuit diagram below on which sockets are for Aux.





    Your 3.5mm stereo pins are: Tip : Left, Ring: Right, Sleeve: GND

    Step 9: using the above circuit diagram as a guide, push the ISO Connector pins into the blue socket: Pin 1: Left, Pin 3: GND, Pin 4: Right



    Step 10: Push the Blue connector back in and then push the radio back in.

    Step 11: VAG COM your car, to enable Aux Input. (Some might already have it, try it by keeping the CD button pressed. If it says EXT Source, its already programmed.
    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index...ration_II_Plus
    http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...gh-*Revisited*

    After you vag com it, turn the radio on, keep the CD button pressed for a few seconds until the following screen appears.



    Enjoy your iPhone/ mp3 player w/o having to burn a new MP3 CD for new songs.
    Last edited by kristokes; 03-19-2012 at 05:12 AM.

  2. #2
    Established Member Two Rings Dhuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 09 2010
    AZ Member #
    60052
    Location
    Tampa/FL/USA

    Very nice. Looks like this may be my next project on my day off. Good write up and I love the pictures going along with it. +1

  3. #3
    Veteran Member Four Rings billyhoyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 29 2010
    AZ Member #
    62011
    My Garage
    2007 GSXR-600, 1977 GS750, mice
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta

    Great writeup! Any idea how similar it would be on the original Symphony stereo?
    2005 B7 A4 2.0T | Brilliant Red | 6MT

  4. #4
    Senior Member Two Rings pierranchis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 18 2009
    AZ Member #
    50893
    My Garage
    2007 A4 FWD 6sp, 02 R6
    Location
    Pompano Beach FL



    I had a super hard time understanding how your wiring went to the Audi switch. Everything else was incredibly clear and I thank you for that. Now, based on the image, I am assuming that the repair sleeves are going to be put into the Aux-L, Aux-R, and AUX. Now from the 3.5 stereo socket, you have red white and blue cables. From the 3.5 stereo socket, the blue wire went to which one (granted I'm correct about the pins) and so on? Again, excellent write up. Def a project to do ASAP.
    APR 93|Greddy FMIC|Carbonio|AWE hpfp|Pulley|TP|SB stg 3 clutch|Ecode 11lbs flywheel|Koni Coils|Hardwired V1|B&B Exhaust|RS4 Sway bar

  5. #5
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Quote Originally Posted by pierranchis View Post
    [img]http://i236.photobucket.com/albums/ff56/djpawscivic/auxinput/ckt.jpg[img]

    I had a super hard time understanding how your wiring went to the Audi switch. Everything else was incredibly clear and I thank you for that. Now, based on the image, I am assuming that the repair sleeves are going to be put into the Aux-L, Aux-R, and AUX. Now from the 3.5 stereo socket, you have red white and blue cables. From the 3.5 stereo socket, the blue wire went to which one (granted I'm correct about the pins) and so on? Again, excellent write up. Def a project to do ASAP.
    Thanks.
    Yes, the repair sleeves are going to be put into the Aux-L, Aux-R and AuX Gnd.

    So the yellow wire in image 3, goes into the blue socket, step 8.

    You have to trace from that 3.5mm connector, which one is L, R or Gnd and the appropriately push those ISO connectors in.

    I have a few connectors, PM me, I can mail at least a few of you with 4 each.

  6. #6
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Quote Originally Posted by billyhoyle View Post
    Great writeup! Any idea how similar it would be on the original Symphony stereo?
    You cannot with Gen I and Gen II. Sorry.

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index...tion_II#Coding

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index...o_Generation_I

  7. #7
    Veteran Member Four Rings JEENYUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 28 2009
    AZ Member #
    45627
    My Garage
    2003 A4 3.0 V6
    Location
    SL,UT

    wish i had a Symphony 2+ just for this mod...
    Asses are where it's at. even fat chicks can have nice boobs. -MmmBoost

  8. #8
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jun 13 2010
    AZ Member #
    60203
    Location
    Fairfax, VA

    Hey... great DIY! Thinking of doing this for my car. Do you know whether the Symphony II+ 6 CD changer is affected by this at all?
    2007 A4 2.0T Brilliant Black Tip-tronic: Pictures
    DONE:
    Revo Stage 1 Flash
    RS4 Sway Bar
    ST Coilovers (24" F / 24.5" R)

    TO DO:
    Paint Calipers Red, Faux Carbon-fiber interior trim, Faux Ti Trim (Vinyl), Cupra R Lip
    Replace Symphony II+ with RNS-E

  9. #9
    Senior Member Three Rings daveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 01 2009
    AZ Member #
    43156
    Location
    Houston TX

    Nice one thats a bit clearer than mine
    2008 A4 2.0TQ Quartz Grey, DTM Rear, APR HPFP, APR Stage 2+, 034 HFC, Billy Boat Exhaust (w/DP), AWE FMIC, GSG CAI, RS4 Swaybar

  10. #10
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Quote Originally Posted by daveman View Post
    Nice one thats a bit clearer than mine
    lol...all thanks to you !!!!

  11. #11
    Senior Member Two Rings Godfather 2.0T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 09 2009
    AZ Member #
    51830
    Location
    Fairfield County/CT

    will i be able to vag my car for aux input if my car came stock with symph II but i currently have symph II+ installed?
    --Roger

  12. #12
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfather 2.0T View Post
    will i be able to vag my car for aux input if my car came stock with symph II but i currently have symph II+ installed?
    umm...that I don't know. You can try it......when you VAG - COM it will read and display the radio information first, before you change the code.

    So in that display if it detects, it as Generation Plus or something on its own (don't remember, but it clearly displays what gen it is), you know that the car knows which radio it is, which means you can do this mod.
    Last edited by djpaw; 08-17-2010 at 06:34 AM.

  13. #13
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Quote Originally Posted by ThaVerge View Post
    Hey... great DIY! Thinking of doing this for my car. Do you know whether the Symphony II+ 6 CD changer is affected by this at all?
    Nopes. They are different bits of coding. Also even if you select +1 = Analog Input (AUX), you DO NOT LOSE steering wheel controls.

    0?x0xxx: Options 3
    +1 = Analog Input (AUX)
    +2 = Multifunction Steering Wheel
    +4 = Telephone

    0x?0xxx: Options 2
    +1 = Digital Sound System
    +2 = CD-Changer
    +4 = Satellite Radio

  14. #14
    Active Member Two Rings Leeg303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 18 2010
    AZ Member #
    57819
    My Garage
    Golf Clubs
    Location
    Boulder/Colorado

    Sick write-up man, I'll definitely be doing this asap.

    Anyone in the Denver/Boulder area have a VAG-COM that could enable my AUX? PM me, I'd REALLY appreciate it!
    2007 A4 2.0TQ S-line Ti 6MT Phantom Black
    Done: APR Stage 2, Carbonio CAI, 034 HFC, Gunsmoke Tails, Valentine 1 Hardwire, Color Matched Reflectors, Podi ESM Boost Gauge, Filler Plate, Show n Go, Sonic License LED's, Hoen Xenonmatch fogs
    Next: RS4 Rear Sway Bar, Milltek Exhaust

  15. #15

  16. #16
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Quote Originally Posted by ThaVerge View Post
    Hey... great DIY! Thinking of doing this for my car. Do you know whether the Symphony II+ 6 CD changer is affected by this at all?
    Quote Originally Posted by Sanjman View Post
    Nice man!

    There was a DIY for this without pics... thanks for the pics!

    http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...?highlight=aux
    Yep, I just used his steps and I have referred to daveman in the beginning.

    I saw some people were confused and this will help them. $25 instead of those other $100+ solutions is totally worth it.

  17. #17
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jul 26 2010
    AZ Member #
    61904
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA

    Has anyone found a place to buy the ISO Connectors (included in Audi Part Number 000-979-009: Wire Repair Set)? I have been unable to find a place that sells them online. I appreciate any help.

  18. #18
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jul 26 2010
    AZ Member #
    61904
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA

    Quote Originally Posted by trup0241 View Post
    Has anyone found a place to buy the ISO Connectors (included in Audi Part Number 000-979-009: Wire Repair Set)? I have been unable to find a place that sells them online. I appreciate any help.
    Nevermind... found it at http://www.genuinevwaudiparts.com

  19. #19
    Established Member Two Rings Matteeee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 29 2009
    AZ Member #
    48527
    Location
    Malmoe, Sweden

    What´s the difference between symphony and concert II+ ? I have concert II+ I think? Looks like the pics above though, double DIN?!
    Here is a pic:
    /Matteeee
    A4 2.0TSq Avant -07 Dolphin grey S-line
    http://www.garaget.org/?car=169717

  20. #20
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Oct 07 2008
    AZ Member #
    33917
    Location
    north carolina

    how would i know if i have symphony 2+?

    which one i have?

    my car is 2008 a4 sline quattro

  21. #21
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Quote Originally Posted by Matteeee View Post
    What´s the difference between symphony and concert II+ ? I have concert II+ I think? Looks like the pics above though, double DIN?!
    Here is a pic:
    yeah, im not sure on that one. Maybe when you VAG - COM it you can find out.


    Quote Originally Posted by nycqtplayazz View Post
    how would i know if i have symphony 2+?

    which one i have?

    my car is 2008 a4 sline quattro
    Does it play Mp3s ?

  22. #22
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 04 2010
    AZ Member #
    62276
    My Garage
    08 A4 3.2 Quattro Convertible, Smart, Jeep Wrangler, GMC Canyon, MB SLK, BMW 128i Conv, Buell S3T
    Location
    The O.C.

    Mine plays MP3s, does that mean I can do the mod?

  23. #23
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Quote Originally Posted by buellwinkle View Post
    Mine plays MP3s, does that mean I can do the mod?
    Pull out the head unit and check if there is that connector.

    or keep CD pressed until it shows "EXT. Source"

  24. #24
    Established Member Two Rings KMc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 06 2007
    AZ Member #
    23148
    My Garage
    2008 A4 Avant 2.0T MT6
    Location
    Westerville, OH

    I have the factory iPod dock, which was a total waste of money. How would performing this mod interfere with that existing installation?

  25. #25
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Quote Originally Posted by KMc View Post
    I have the factory iPod dock, which was a total waste of money. How would performing this mod interfere with that existing installation?
    hmmm...how do you enable the ipod ?

  26. #26
    Established Member Two Rings KMc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 06 2007
    AZ Member #
    23148
    My Garage
    2008 A4 Avant 2.0T MT6
    Location
    Westerville, OH

    Quote Originally Posted by djpaw View Post
    hmmm...how do you enable the ipod ?
    It shares the CD changer connection. When you have the iPod plugged in, CD1-CD5 become the first 5 playlists on your iPod and CD6 is All Tracks.
    Last edited by KMc; 08-20-2010 at 12:35 PM.

  27. #27
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    Then I guess it should be doable. Best way is to VAG-COM it and see if that ext. source can be displayed.

    This is the safest, since you can always undo it, as long as you put that original code back in.

    Once you know this is possible, and that you have that cable at the back with that circuit diagram, you should be good to go ahead.

  28. #28
    Veteran Member Four Rings Sanjman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 16 2006
    AZ Member #
    13439
    My Garage
    nothing else special
    Location
    Skokie, IL

    Quote Originally Posted by djpaw View Post
    Yep, I just used his steps and I have referred to daveman in the beginning.

    I saw some people were confused and this will help them. $25 instead of those other $100+ solutions is totally worth it.
    Yeah, but your 25 dollar solution is missing somethings, like ESD and EMI protection. When plugging in your music device, there could be spikes that can potentially damage your headunit. The 100 dollar solutions are designed in for this. And having to not VAG the headunit to enable the aux makes it a turnkey solution.

  29. #29
    Senior Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Oct 01 2007
    AZ Member #
    21497
    Location
    Location, Location, Location

    I followed this tutorial to the letter, yet for some reason no audio comes through the speakers when I plug my iphone into the radio. I vag'd the car and it says ext source, I have already soldered the wires twice in case I had a bad connection or had done it wrong. I have included pictures in the hopes that someone can spot my mistake.








    Thanks for any help!

  30. #30

  31. #31
    Senior Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Oct 01 2007
    AZ Member #
    21497
    Location
    Location, Location, Location

    I have tried using different devices, nothing seems to work. I tested my harness and sound goes through it....for some reason the radio is just not registering the sound...

  32. #32
    Deactivated Three Rings
    Join Date
    Oct 07 2008
    AZ Member #
    33923
    Location
    Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep.

    For the sake of not starting another thread on this. I'll be doing this mod next week and went to the stelaership to get the audi repair wire set, but jesus, almost 10 bucks for a piece of wire and 2 iso connectors!!!!! That's pretty steep. I googled the connector and found this:

    The ISO connectors that the 000979009E (VW/Audi Repair Wire) use = 963715-1 (TE Electronics) which can be bought for about 0.14 each from www.onlinecomponents.com.

    Bear in mind there is a minimum, but still better than almost 10 bucks for 2 connectors and a piece of wire at the stealership.

  33. #33
    Veteran Member Three Rings Brrman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 11 2004
    AZ Member #
    75
    Location
    Indianapolis

    Does this mod affect the Sat Radio at all? I think this has to be on my short list for this summer.

    Looking at these options I am not sure I understand which gets changed...

    0?x0xxx: Options 3
    +1 = Analog Input (AUX)
    +2 = Multifunction Steering Wheel
    +4 = Telephone

    0x?0xxx: Options 2
    +1 = Digital Sound System
    +2 = CD-Changer
    +4 = Satellite Radio
    2013 allroad...
    -------------------------------------
    SOLD 2007 A4 2.0T S-Line Ti (APR stg1, Koni Coilovers, LED Tails)
    SOLD. 2000 A4 avant 1.8T (GIAC stg1, Bilstein/H&R)
    RIP... 1998 A4 1.8T (GIAC stg1, Bilstein/Neuspeed)

  34. #34
    Established Member Two Rings trex000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 07 2008
    AZ Member #
    32801
    My Garage
    2005.5 S4
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI

    masteroc

    I have tried using different devices, nothing seems to work. I tested my harness and sound goes through it....for some reason the radio is just not registering the sound...
    I think I know what's wrong with your install!
    You need to take the connectors apart like these and insert them all the way down. Clip them back together again.




    Anyhow... all thanks to djpaw!!!!
    2007 Black D3 S8 V10
    2005.5 Black B7 S4 - 6MT SOLD
    2008 Black B7 A4 Avant Tip

  35. #35
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 04 2010
    AZ Member #
    52920
    My Garage
    Jeep Cherokee, S10
    Location
    Southeastern, CT

    i've had the wires soldered for months, i hooked it up and it didn't work. i said the heck with it. then i reread this and boom it works. thank you! i knew the wires weren't seating well hah

  36. #36
    Established Member Two Rings MikeyMike206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 30 2010
    AZ Member #
    56866
    My Garage
    CBR 600
    Location
    Seattle

    Sorry to bump this, but I have read in a few places that you need to buy a new 12 pin connector, yet in this DIY it does not refer to that.

    Do we need to buy a 12 pin connector or can we use the one already on the unit?

  37. #37
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 05 2010
    AZ Member #
    57167
    Location
    NYC

    already one on the unit

  38. #38
    Veteran Member Four Rings c@@kieMonsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 17 2009
    AZ Member #
    42619
    My Garage
    2016 F-150 SCREW and 09 A6 Avant
    Location
    Idaho

    I'm probably gonna go the DIY route but in case I change my mind, would this work?

    http://kufatec.com/index.php?main_pa...oducts_id=1065

  39. #39
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jun 12 2011
    AZ Member #
    76811
    My Garage
    Titanium Avant - VR Cabrio
    Location
    Burlington Ontario, Canada

    Will this work with the NAV unit?

  40. #40
    Veteran Member Four Rings c@@kieMonsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 17 2009
    AZ Member #
    42619
    My Garage
    2016 F-150 SCREW and 09 A6 Avant
    Location
    Idaho

    Quote Originally Posted by fr4nugen View Post
    Will this work with the NAV unit?
    Oh look what do you know? http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...X-RNS-E-(pics). In the same section too!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2019 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.