PDA

View Full Version : TP came!



AudiSport12
10-16-2006, 05:13 PM
thanks blacka41point8t!
2.5 ecode testpipe and spacer to be bolted up to my 2.25 borla - well whenever i get the damn thing back from the bodyshop.

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e277/kyleconn/DSCF0589.jpg
http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e277/kyleconn/DSCF0591-1.jpg
[wrench] [drive] [:D]

sean1.8t
10-16-2006, 05:42 PM
nice man. i've had mine for about 3 days now and i LOVE it. so much more torque.. i would be interested in knowing just how your O2 spacer works and if it's better than the regular antifouler mod?

AudiSport12
10-16-2006, 05:57 PM
im excited for the quicker spool and sound. i dont know the specifics on how the spacer works yet, perhaps blacka41point8t (he made it), or someone else, could chime in and let us know.

*edit* - does any one know where i can get new hardware for the install? can they be bought at Audi?

southpaw10
10-16-2006, 10:06 PM
I too am in the market for a testpipe. Although right now I am at a standstill on which tp to go with. Which would give greater performance gain. 3" tp to 2.5" catback, or 2.5" tp to 2.5 catback. Enlighten me please

BzeB5A4
10-16-2006, 10:15 PM
Ahh i'm in the same boat. I've had my Ecode TP for over a month. Just neeed time to install it. How long did it take you guys to intsall?

TQMB5
10-16-2006, 11:13 PM
i have had mine for about a month to, i think that is going in next weekend maybe... i might need to give my self a brake, i just did my coilovers and all new control arms and TRE. The car is at the shop right now for an alignment. Oh and not to mention michigan winters SUCK!!! i had to fight every bolt on my car.

TQMB5
10-16-2006, 11:14 PM
and yes you can get the new gaskets at your audi dealer

AudiSport12
10-17-2006, 05:47 AM
Originally posted by southpaw10
I too am in the market for a testpipe. Although right now I am at a standstill on which tp to go with. Which would give greater performance gain. 3" tp to 2.5" catback, or 2.5" tp to 2.5 catback. Enlighten me please

the 2.5" tp to the 2.5" downpipe because there is a smooth transition between the two. the 3" would create turbulence. but if you decide to go with the 3" tp, the loss's probably wouldnt be noticeable, so either would be fine.

sean1.8t
10-17-2006, 07:09 AM
Originally posted by BzeB5A4
Ahh i'm in the same boat. I've had my Ecode TP for over a month. Just neeed time to install it. How long did it take you guys to intsall?

took me and a buddy about 2 hours figuring things and tricks along the way. could probably do another one in 1 to 1.5 hours now

1 ate T
10-17-2006, 07:32 AM
it took me a few hours as i was jerkin around the whole time... im positive i could do this in at LEAST 1.5 hours now.

bitterchild
10-17-2006, 10:23 AM
Originally posted by audisport12
the 2.5" tp to the 2.5" downpipe because there is a smooth transition between the two. the 3" would create turbulence. but if you decide to go with the 3" tp, the loss's probably wouldnt be noticeable, so either would be fine.

you do realize that the exhaust discharge coming out of the turbo is just under 3" in diameter right? if you're worried about turbulence maybe you should focus on the volume restriction coming right out of the turbine w/ a 2.5" tp.

There's also a 3>2.5" flared TP that ER makes if you don't like the fulle 3" that ATP offers

Euro
10-17-2006, 01:10 PM
Maybe a point less question

Once the tp is installed don't you throw codes or a CEL?
Being catless I would think that your going to have issues with out tricking the ecu some how.

unless this is stated somewhere else I haven't seen a thing about it...

BzeB5A4
10-17-2006, 01:16 PM
Euro, Yes it will throw a CEL, but that is what the spark plug non foulers are for...so you dont get a CEL.

blacka41point8t
10-17-2006, 01:20 PM
Glad you got it man. Let me know how it is

cleanandsimple
10-17-2006, 01:54 PM
where can you get the spark plug non foulers from?

Euro
10-17-2006, 02:11 PM
Originally posted by cleanandsimple
where can you get the spark plug non foulers from?
+1

And what exactly do they do?
does it confuse the ECU or is it a O2 sensor thing?

Thanks.

1 ate T
10-17-2006, 02:18 PM
ask turboquattro068 about them [up]

TQMB5
10-17-2006, 02:27 PM
its an o2 sensor thing. i think what it does is gets it farther back from the TP so it only gets a small amount of the exhast gas

blacka41point8t
10-17-2006, 03:25 PM
the one on the test pipe that I sold to him is custom CNC'd it takes the o2 sensor out of the main flow so it still gets a whif of the exhaust but not as much. They cost 50 bucks shipped.