PDA

View Full Version : Super RICH - caused by my o2?



Don Supreme
03-31-2006, 09:15 AM
Guys...

My car is running super rich past 4800 rpm. Before that I am solid 12.5 or so.

I have been advised I might have a bad fpr or o2 sensors.

I am most definitely having a problem with my o2 sensor as I am receiving the following error code.

6524 - Oxygen (Lambda) Sensor B1 S2: No Activity P0140 - 35-00

My question is will a bad o2 sensor affect the richness level @ FULL THROTTLE.

I repeat my concern is only @ FULL THROTTLE. If o2 sensors only affects part throttle then that is not the source of my problem.

RedRocket
03-31-2006, 09:49 AM
Can you pull any readings off that sensor at all.

RedRocket
03-31-2006, 09:49 AM
I know what you mean by "@ full throttle". You're talking about the Open Loop / Close loop modes right?

Don Supreme
03-31-2006, 10:02 AM
Yes that is what I am referring too.

I believe the computer goes into open loop @ full throttle and ignores the sensors and works with a predefined fuel map.

If that is the case a bad o2 sensor should not be the cause of a super rich condition above 4800 rpms.

4kinboost
03-31-2006, 10:16 AM
Have you considered going standalone??

RedRocket
03-31-2006, 10:18 AM
Originally posted by Don Supreme

If that is the case a bad o2 sensor should not be the cause of a super rich condition above 4800 rpms.

yes, IF that is the case. But none the less, if you're getting no signal, there is still a problem.

try this link, I think you will like it.

http://www.sjmautotechnik.com/trouble_shooting/10vo2sen.html

Don Supreme
03-31-2006, 12:28 PM
maybe one day (with built internals), but I think I should be OK with my current tuner until then.

Red Rocket... I read the article... Now I know everything about o2 sensors (too much), but still not if a bad o2 is the cause of my problem.

Anyone else?

Eric@setuning.com
03-31-2006, 12:31 PM
What FPR do you have in there now?

With my 4 bar, i'm at 9.9 full boost at redline!!! (23psi GT2871r)
i'm putting in the 3 bar tomorow :)


E

Don Supreme
03-31-2006, 12:36 PM
I am running a 3 bar fpr.

9.9:1 AFR???

RedRocket
03-31-2006, 12:40 PM
ok, so if we're on track here, the following statement says that the ECU will read the exhaust composition with this sensor as a voltage signal to determine if it is burning rich or lean, and ADJUST acccordingly in the CLOSED LOOP mode.

Are you sure full throttle is using open loop? Can anyone confirm this?

Eric@setuning.com
03-31-2006, 12:47 PM
Originally posted by Don Supreme

9.9:1 AFR???

yup. i have the 3 bar software in my gti, and i have the 4 bar FPR in there atm. a weeee bit rich :)


E

Don Supreme
03-31-2006, 01:00 PM
Originally posted by Eric@setuning.com
yup. i have the 3 bar software in my gti, and i have the 4 bar FPR in there atm. a weeee bit rich :)


E

I am probably just as rich, if not worse!

marcini
03-31-2006, 03:15 PM
But guys isn't the O2 B1 S2 the post cat sensor, which has nothing to do with your afr, hello

Don Supreme
04-01-2006, 05:46 PM
Well seems like I stumped the experts on this one. I will try my luck @ another question.

I found a cheap VW part to replace the front sensor, but no luck with the rear.

Any suggestions on finding an alternative to the $150 audi sensor that will work on ATW ENGINE.

BarryT82
04-01-2006, 06:01 PM
Mine is running 10.8:1 on the top end.

mike-2ptzero
04-02-2006, 05:58 PM
The 02 readings are not used at wot. The post cat 02 sensor shouldn't cause the car to run any different.

Don Supreme
04-02-2006, 06:50 PM
I am going crazy!!!

What Mike says is what I believe to be true, but my tuner is telling me that the o2 **WILL** affect the richness @ WOT. I am also getting advice from others saying that the primary o2 is all I really need.

I am almost @ my limit....

AudiA4_20T
04-02-2006, 07:07 PM
wait question... does the richness cause you to drop boost at full throttle? like does it go from 20 to like 14 or something? If so mine is doing the same thing

mike-2ptzero
04-02-2006, 09:01 PM
Originally posted by Don Supreme
I am going crazy!!!

What Mike says is what I believe to be true, but my tuner is telling me that the o2 **WILL** affect the richness @ WOT. I am also getting advice from others saying that the primary o2 is all I really need.

I am almost @ my limit....


Well the only way I can see a bad 02 sensor causing you to run way too rich at WOT, would be if it was causing the fuel trim readings on block 032 to be so far on the lean side that the ecu then adds fuel all the time. Some people have seen this issue. Make sure you look at block 032.

BarryT82
04-03-2006, 05:08 AM
Mine is misfiring every time I start it, but only at startup. It has always done this ever since the first time I started it. Some people are telling me software can cause this, but the tuner is telling me it can't. I know the coil packs worked fine before I put the bigger turbo on. My car runs rich at idle, lean in the middle, and rich on the top end.

Don Supreme
04-03-2006, 05:13 AM
The following is a block 32 log. I had cleared fault codes 20 mins earlier. I am not sure if that can affect the readings.

I took these logs about a week ago while I was still running smic and stock exhaust.

http://www.wisptech.net/images/misc/audi/032-screen.JPG

bitterchild
04-03-2006, 05:54 AM
who's your tuner? I mean are you working with a local tuner or are you referring to sean @ uni

BarryT82
04-03-2006, 06:51 AM
We both have unitronic.

Don Supreme
04-03-2006, 07:37 AM
Originally posted by bitterchild
who's your tuner? I mean are you working with a local tuner or are you referring to sean @ uni

I am referring to Sean @ Uni.

marcini
04-03-2006, 09:37 AM
just by looking at your 032 it seems like you part throttle is on the rich side not lean, so I dont think it's your O2 that's bad, you really have to check for boost leaks, and change that dv to something stronger