PDA

View Full Version : my fiberglass sub box



Eurotuned_A4
03-29-2006, 08:53 PM
well i worked on this over spring break. it looks big, but part of it is sectioned off by some fiberglass. the reason i made it so big instead of a simple box was so that it wouldnt leave a gap between the trunk liner and the box. this way its a more flush and clean look. it was as hard to make as i thought it would be, and took a long time because the bad weather kept the resin/hardener from drying fast enough. it was a good experience though and im glad i did it. saved a ton of room. pictures arent the best, but there it is:

Before:
http://pic15.picturetrail.com/VOL586/3639999/7495676/136200754.jpg

After:
http://pic15.picturetrail.com/VOL586/3639999/7495676/136199789.jpg

http://pic15.picturetrail.com/VOL586/3639999/7495676/136199791.jpg

http://pic15.picturetrail.com/VOL586/3639999/7495676/136199793.jpg

greenz
03-29-2006, 08:54 PM
ok, but i want to keep my CD changer and jack kit, can you fit a 10" DVC woofer on the right side ?

Eurotuned_A4
03-29-2006, 08:58 PM
i think you could. thats where i keep my cleaning materials and etc. i dont have a jack. i have triple A...lol. i also dont need the stock cd changer since i took it out after i did the stereo system. plus its a POS. mine kept getting stuck and wouldnt work.

TJHUB
03-29-2006, 09:05 PM
Nice work. I wish I had the time and motivation (more motivation than time) to do that as well. It would be nice to have all of my trunk back.

Eurotuned_A4
03-29-2006, 09:08 PM
it does take time, but its really worth it. it does cost a little $$, but anything does. if i would have ordered online i could have gotten the stuff for cheaper.

boostedup
03-29-2006, 09:11 PM
im liking the amp rack too, is it slide out? or fold down?
keeps the trunk area very open and stock looking, i wanna do something similar to that.

greenz
03-29-2006, 09:16 PM
i want the amp rack to have adjustable loops with quick detach buckles on it to hold my shotgun.

Eurotuned_A4
03-29-2006, 09:18 PM
its a fold down. slide out is nice, but i thought it wouldnt look as good because you would be able to see the sliding rail things(whatever you call them). plus i dont need access to the amps all the time. im gonna recarpet the amp rack with the same carpet as the box soon as well as throw on some fans for more air flow to keep it a little cooler. i just need time some time again.

TJHUB
03-29-2006, 09:18 PM
Originally posted by greenz
i want the amp rack to have adjustable loops with quick detach buckles on it to hold my shotgun.

I think you need to move to Kentucky...

boostedup
03-29-2006, 09:20 PM
my brother has a similar setup on his 99 grand prix GTP. but it's slide out, he used little computer fans to extract air.

(im getting dejavu, did we post this before?)

Eurotuned_A4
03-29-2006, 09:23 PM
the before pic was posted before, but the sub box was just done over spring break....lol. i wanted to show the updated version and my fiberglassing skills

boostedup
03-29-2006, 09:25 PM
ok, got you, i think we spoke about ventilating the amp rack.........[:D]

Eurotuned_A4
03-29-2006, 09:26 PM
yeah, i talked about it with someone.

AlmondA4
03-29-2006, 09:45 PM
You can buy these corner fit boxes for A4's for 110. That would be way easier than fiberglassing one your self and maybe cheaper fiberglass gets pricey

Eurotuned_A4
03-29-2006, 09:48 PM
got a picture or link? mine only was like $160 at the most.

boostedup
03-29-2006, 09:49 PM
Originally posted by Eurotuned_A4
got a picture or link? mine only was like $160 at the most.

seriously, i've never heard or seen of pre-fab ones, let alone going for 110....

IKE20VA4
03-29-2006, 10:10 PM
wow

only 110 for a corner pre'fabbed box? hmm. fiberglassed? or what? i got quoted like $150 for just a wood one. then I was quoted like $350 for a fiberglass one. hence i said "adios"

Eurotuned_A4
03-29-2006, 10:12 PM
yeah, 110 for a fiberglass box? i think he is talking about a simple wood box.

IKE20VA4
03-29-2006, 10:34 PM
yeah...or he is breathing too much exhaust gases

Aliel
03-29-2006, 11:50 PM
It looks real good man. I need something like that for my trunk too. My box looks so ghetto and i actually hold it down with bungie cords :)

sushi_turbo
03-30-2006, 02:16 AM
I like it, looks fantastic Robert.

94jedi
03-30-2006, 05:48 AM
Awesome, can't wait to finish mine...us 30 year olds don't get spring break :(

ryanmcell
03-30-2006, 05:51 AM
can u access ur spare easily still?

Mawhitey
03-30-2006, 06:07 AM
www.stealthboxz.com they do premade A4 boxes. I made mine for around £50 GBP and i have a SVC 12 inch sub in there

ryanmcell
03-30-2006, 06:44 AM
Originally posted by Mawhitey
www.stealthboxz.com, they do premade A4 boxes. I made mine for around £50 GBP and i have a SVC 12 inch sub in there


link no work

EuroA4
03-30-2006, 06:54 AM
Looks good! Here is a pic of mine...i used the corner to create a space to be a little different. DTC Designs Creation!!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v134/EuroA4/A4%20trunk/IMG_1371.jpg

IKE20VA4
03-30-2006, 09:51 AM
I just priced a box out on that site and it came to $526....

boostedup
03-30-2006, 10:02 AM
Originally posted by 20VTURBOA4
I just priced a box out on that site and it came to $526....

i like that box on the site though, something like i wanna do. On the passenger side so I can still retain the tool box and CD changer............. i'll probably make it myself though, with MDF.

IKE20VA4
03-30-2006, 10:04 AM
^^ yeah, I have a bunch of MDF laying around and it seems like there is plenty of room over there. As long as you don't need to get to your door lock vaccum pump too often.

Poopie
03-30-2006, 11:23 AM
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a279/iMryanmac/dvag%20gtg5%20nock/IMG_2585.jpg

almost like me. I used felt carpet for the time being.

Eurotuned_A4
03-30-2006, 11:29 AM
ill be sending you your carpet tomorrow or this weekend poopie.

Poopie
03-30-2006, 01:49 PM
Nice, do you have a lot of trunk rattle?

Eurotuned_A4
03-30-2006, 04:57 PM
yes. i gotta do something to fix it. i just may use some of that matting stuff they use. i really dont want to use it though since it weighs a lot. i dont hear the trunk rattle inside, so its not that big if a deal. i just dont want my car to sound ghetto.

Poopie
03-30-2006, 05:22 PM
Try pressing down on the top of your trunk lid where you would mount an M3 lip spoiler. If that rattle quiets down, you can just take the trunk trim towards the bumper off and just a socket wrench to loosen the nuts. Then you can push the locking post down and tighten up the nuts. That should tighten up your trunk. You need to use a little more effort to close the trunk though. I have my trunk lid dynamated and it didn't help much as far as the rattle goes.

Eurotuned_A4
03-30-2006, 08:14 PM
dynamat really didnt help. hmmm, ill check your idea this weekand. when i do hold the trunk down it does quiet up the rattle.

fred2ka4
03-30-2006, 09:06 PM
It seems that there is a lot of interest in pre-made enclosures for the A4. JL Audio had one of the best stealth boxes for the A4 and I was able to get the last one they had even though thay had been discontinued for about 2-3 years. I'm sure if there was enough interest generated they might start producing more.


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/audia4025.jpg
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/AudiA42049.jpg

Eurotuned_A4
03-30-2006, 09:10 PM
thats very nice, but my amp rack wouldnt fit. how much did that cost you if you dont mind me asking? is it wood or what?

fred2ka4
03-30-2006, 09:16 PM
It's fiberglass and it ports into the cab through the rear deck speaker location. (you have to take them out) It was $600 and it sounds awsome. Your not going to win any SPL contests but is has decent bass.

Poopie
03-30-2006, 09:27 PM
thats awesome. My future plans are to make a new rear deck cover with mesh coverings over the holes to let the bass pass though. I'm trying to figure out what to cover it with though.

fred2ka4
03-30-2006, 09:31 PM
I just removed the speakers but left the grills, so that from the inside it looks stock.

Poopie
03-30-2006, 10:34 PM
so what about rear fill?

boostedup
03-30-2006, 10:36 PM
Originally posted by fred2ka4
It seems that there is a lot of interest in pre-made enclosures for the A4. JL Audio had one of the best stealth boxes for the A4 and I was able to get the last one they had even though thay had been discontinued for about 2-3 years. I'm sure if there was enough interest generated they might start producing more.


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/audia4025.jpg
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/AudiA42049.jpg

That's hot!!

fred2ka4
03-30-2006, 10:50 PM
Originally posted by Poopie
so what about rear fill?

I have MB Quarts in the rear doors

boostedup
03-30-2006, 11:36 PM
check this out, I've been looking into Carputers, (thinking of POSSIBLY doing one in my B5). since I got alot of extra Computer parts laying around my house.....you could do NAV, MP3's, internet, possibilities are endless with these things...

http://users.pandora.be/FloristVansteenkisteGerdy/Front.JPG

http://users.pandora.be/FloristVansteenkisteGerdy/carputer.JPG

http://users.pandora.be/FloristVansteenkisteGerdy/audi2.JPG

BTW this is in a B6, We have double DIN so I would probably do a custom in dash screen. get rid of the radio altogether. You can even run these things straight to the OBD plug and run VAG.COM[:D]

*edited* even better install, and on a B5

http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=9258&stc=1&d=1108580714

We'll see what happens, Even though it's not as expensive as it looks (if you got computer parts laying around like me). But it is extensive work and wiring........

SoFresh
03-31-2006, 04:18 AM
To eliminate the trunk rattle, he is correct, just lower the latch lock downward, it closes the trunk, making it more airtight, you can also intall extra rubber stoppers on the actuall trunk lid, I used to own a Subaru WRX, and I had to do that, dynomat worked a lil bit but not too much especially when you got 4 10"s rattling it, lol. I also do custom fiberglass enclosures, ive done 4 in my lifetime, they are very costly but the overall enhance the looks and sound performane of your system.

4ingDrive
03-31-2006, 04:54 AM
Dynamat is designed to dampen resonances, not to stop rattles. Sometimes lowering resonance creates more rattles.

EuroA4
03-31-2006, 06:18 AM
Originally posted by Poopie
so what about rear fill?

Actually rear speakers confuse the listener most of the time...if you get a great set of front stage speakers and the sub, it can fill the whole cabin with a more accurate sound.

fred2ka4
03-31-2006, 06:27 AM
What I did was set the gain on the amp to a little less than half so that it doesn't overpower the front stage, and just adds the right amount of back fill.

Poopie
03-31-2006, 09:45 AM
Same here. I hear 90% of my music through the front components.

IKE20VA4
03-31-2006, 10:21 AM
Yeah, I want a carputer so bad after seeing one in person for the first time.

Eurotuned_A4
03-31-2006, 11:26 AM
carputer wouldn be tight, but i dont want to spend money on it when i already have my flip out head unit and etc. ill have to fix the trunk rattle for sure. i didnt realize how ghetto it sounds when im outside of my car.

IKE20VA4
03-31-2006, 11:54 AM
i really need to upgrade my door speakers. i have the factory bose...but those are still just paper pieces of poop