PDA

View Full Version : A4 1.8t - non-chipped EBC installed

mathew r
03-25-2006, 08:21 AM
Spending three hours of work. Me and my mate finally installed a EBC on my A4 1996.

As I understand it, my 1996 doesn't require a chip for low boost.

Having been itchy for the whole two weeks (was busy at work), I could finally installed the EBC [wrench] today!

First time i trired to test the 'peak' setting of the internal wastegate of hte little snail. Second & third gear it is showing only 0.3 bar at max.

Seted the boost controller to 0.8 (.78 bar to be exact) bar, i am one happy driver [drive]

My and my mate had a run on the highway, he was pulling alittle ahead of me, and he has a APR chip and exhaust (he is running one bar).

I am not a newbie to turbo cars. So i tend to spend what works the best for me. For huge power upgrade, i would just jump to a larger GT2540r ball bearing and have my mate (who is ECU guru) flied to my country and tune it.

My comment on A4's k03.

In terms of turbo, not very response compared to my other car.

Dump valve is not dumping air fast & large enough, everytime i slow down, i can feel its pumping back.

Me being in high 30's, every dollar I spend have to provide me with best value nad power.

My lovely a4 avant project begins.haha..

next mod on the list is adjsutable fuel regulator and turn up the boost....
hahaah I have a feeling i can match with my mate's apr chipped A4 1.8t [:D] i no time..

if not, i will goto wreckers and go turbo shopping

Neo1130
03-25-2006, 08:31 AM
Are you a pirate? Butt pirate? You keep calling that dude your "mate."

mathew r
03-25-2006, 08:35 AM
I am not from US

aberke
03-25-2006, 08:40 AM
you couldve figured that out when his location is under your bonnet, i have yet to hear an american call a hood a bonnet

A4ringedONE8T
03-25-2006, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by Neo1130
Are you a pirate? Butt pirate? You keep calling that dude your "mate."