PDA

View Full Version : installing used chip



boostedup
03-24-2006, 08:59 AM
well, im looking to buy a used chip, but where the hell would i get it installed, i called the local APR dealers and they said they won't do the install (obviously not making enough money on it). so for those who have purchased USED chips. How did you get them installed?

aberke
03-24-2006, 09:17 AM
you're DBW, you dont solder your chip in, its flashed. But maybe you can do both. i donntttt knoowww

boostedup
03-24-2006, 09:17 AM
bump, i know someone's installed a used chip before. I tried the search but found nothing.[confused]

SeanF
03-24-2006, 10:58 AM
i had my GIAC chip soldered in at the local APR dealer [up]

creechsa4
03-24-2006, 11:20 AM
my buddy dualaudi got his apr chip soldered at a reputable electronics place for about $40. he says it works great! Try locally for a performance shop that does that stuff or worst case scenario a electronics place that'll do it for you.

joker1626
03-24-2006, 10:03 PM
I have already emailed GIAC about this recently. They are going to call around to local dealers and find one that will install the chip for me. At least that's what I understand from the email.

I also have found a local performace shop that is willing to do it for $50 but they're not GIAC dealer.

boostedup
03-24-2006, 10:05 PM
that's funny cause APR won't do it for me, but a local unitronic's dealer that's a friend of mine is gonna do it for 50 bucks also.

SeanF
03-24-2006, 10:12 PM
yep, its all up to the independent dealers....

the install is the same whether its an apr or giac chip...

Jovian
03-24-2006, 10:26 PM
Yeah I had mine done at a third party APR dealer. It was soldered