PDA

View Full Version : Limp mode correction ?



ktsimp721
12-08-2018, 10:27 AM
At wide open throttle about 115 mph car goes into limp mode for about 10 seconds slowing back down to 80 mph then comes back alive and would prolly reapeat that process. Iím running stage 1 tune on ko3s boosting 18 psi with forge valve and a resonator delete otherwise stock def felt like she wanted at least 130mph as it was pulling hard up to the 115mph what are some causes for this type of event and what can I do to correct it from happening?


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

rockbeau25
12-08-2018, 10:28 AM
Drive the speed limit.

ktsimp721
12-08-2018, 10:43 AM
Drive the speed limit.

No seriously Iím looking for some insight Iím getting ready to check with vag and see if anything comes up... I get that your forever gonna be messing with my post which is really petty.. the least you can do is be helpful while your doing it ... lol your def not getting an apology but Iíd appreciate if you stop posting on my posts with that type shit


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

Turbo_B5
12-08-2018, 10:51 AM
sort out and fix your shitty car and it wont go into limp mod.

ktsimp721
12-08-2018, 10:56 AM
sort out and fix your shitty car and it wont go into limp mod.

There he is figured you chime in eventually... any ideas on where to start ?


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

Turbo_B5
12-08-2018, 11:00 AM
There he is figured you chime in eventually... any ideas on where to start ?


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

I would probably start with vacuum testing the turbo actuator and then the turbo sensors. N75/n249.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ktsimp721
12-08-2018, 11:05 AM
I would probably start with vacuum testing the turbo actuator and then the turbo sensors. N75/n249.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ok.. and what makes you think thatís itís a vacuum or turbo issue tho cuz it seems to be boosting fine from zero to 110 at wide open throttle.. i was thinking more along the lines of fueling or spark issues


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

RENOxDECEPTION
12-08-2018, 12:14 PM
You shouldn't be pushing the car hard when it's in limp mode. Pull out the codes and post them up.
Otherwise, it's a shit show of guessing.


use VCDS and pull logs of requested boost vs actual boost
lambda values
maf readings over full rpm range under load.

ktsimp721
12-08-2018, 12:32 PM
You shouldn't be pushing the car hard when it's in limp mode. Pull out the codes and post them up.
Otherwise, it's a shit show of guessing.


use VCDS and pull logs of requested boost vs actual boost
lambda values
maf readings over full rpm range under load.

Ok will post some data in a few but to clarify the car wasnít in limp mode the whole time just when I hit 115 at wide open throttle otherwise the car seems to be running perfect and another question would be why are you led to believe itís a turbo/vacuum issue ?


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

ktsimp721
12-08-2018, 01:32 PM
Ok will post some data in a few but to clarify the car wasnít in limp mode the whole time just when I hit 115 at wide open throttle otherwise the car seems to be running perfect and another question would be why are you led to believe itís a turbo/vacuum issue ?


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

And idk if itís limp mode exactly.. it just cuts the power at 115 mph it feels like a speed governor... and I know for sure it would do 130 at least on the stock ecu it would get there slower but itís been done


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

rockbeau25
12-08-2018, 02:04 PM
Well for one your speedometer is probably way off from that wheel setup of yours, and two thereís no way to bypass the cutoff other than not driving like a reckless jackass. Donít get butthurt again, thatís what the correct answer.

ktsimp721
12-08-2018, 02:25 PM
Well for one your speedometer is probably way off from that wheel setup of yours, and two thereís no way to bypass the cutoff other than not driving like a reckless jackass. Donít get butthurt again, thatís what the correct answer.

The wheels are only a 1/4 in taller the stock 195/60/15 i never checked the weight difference i donít think itís off more than 5 mph also.... this is what I just did -I held down the left button on the gauge cluster and changed the speed to 220 mph with the wiper blade stalk Iím not entire if this will correct but to my understanding itís secondary speed governer weíll see if that helps next time I get a chance


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

RENOxDECEPTION
12-08-2018, 05:04 PM
that will not limit your speed...it's a warning...

ktsimp721
12-08-2018, 06:21 PM
that will not limit your speed...it's a warning...

Yea I thought so... Iím reading that you can change with vag but you can only lower the speed not increase it Iím also seeing it that it could be done with a program called lemmiwinks or w/e seems sketchy tho


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

rockbeau25
12-08-2018, 08:57 PM
I donít know why youíd want to mess with that. Itís not like these cars are geared to go faster anyway.

Turbo_B5
12-08-2018, 09:02 PM
For real. Thatís the fastest Iíve ever gotten my car up to and it just wonít go faster. The gearing just isnít there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ktsimp721
12-08-2018, 09:21 PM
For real. Thatís the fastest Iíve ever gotten my car up to and it just wonít go faster. The gearing just isnít there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Iíve hit 130 on the stock ecu idk why the stage one tune would be set at less than that I like driving fast and highway racing random newer Volkswagens lol I built it and I like driving it i believe thatís how it should be


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

Blazius
12-08-2018, 11:58 PM
Well, bust out VCDS, scan codes, do logs .. etc.

Fasterd
12-18-2018, 01:11 PM
Im fully convinced if you keep asking the answer will magically appear