PDA

View Full Version : Soft pedal after BBK

rockbeau25
05-22-2018, 02:42 PM
Recently upgraded my B5 A4 to D2 S8 (same as Porsche 993tt) calipers, with B5 S4 rear calipers. I also replaced lines with braided lines. After I got it all put back together, I bled the brakes but when I started the car the pedal went right to the floor. I bled them again and same thing. By the third time, there was some feeling but nothing significant. Each subsequent time after that there was more feeling till about the 5th or 6th time when it didn't seem to be getting any stiffer. I bled both with a pressure canister and normally. The car is to a point where its driveable but not very confidence inspiring. I can manually pump the brakes while I'm driving to give them more feeling but it goes away if I'm not constantly on the brakes. There are no brake fluid leaks.

There are two things I am thinking it could be but I am no expert and am not sure if either of them really make sense. The first idea I had was the ABS needs to be bled. I've read conflicting things on this. Some people say never bleed ABS unless you're swapping ABS components. Others says its possible to get air in the ABS lines regardless. To my understanding, this is just a simple vag com procedure after the brakes have been bled.

My other idea was the master cylinder. I've again read conflicting info on this. More pistons means more fluid to push which makes me think I just need to upgrade the master cylinder. However, I read that the A4 master cylinder is good up until 18Zs, which my BBK is much smaller than.

So do I keep bleeding them until I have more feeling, ABS bleed, or upgrade the master, or something I'm missing altogether?

Loserface
05-22-2018, 04:21 PM
Same thing happened to me on a Jetta years ago. Bled and bled and bled the brakes, but could never get a firm pedal. Did the ABS pump bleed procedure with VCDS, and pedal was restored. If you have access to VCDS, definitely try bleeding the ABS pump.

fR3ZNO