PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading from 2 piece to one-piece questions



98Black30V
01-16-2006, 08:34 PM
Just a couple questions about moving to 1-piece projcetors. Will I need any additional wiring, or will I just be able to dremel my fenders and plug em in? Second, what to do with the fog from the 2 piece? I didn't think the 1-piece lights had the fog inside the housing like the 2 piece light does.

Poopie
01-16-2006, 08:38 PM
You can get the adapters for the wiring or you can cut up and connect the wires yourself. Thats what I did. make sure you mark which wires did what.

blacka41point8t
01-16-2006, 08:42 PM
All you need to do is take the stock wiring harnesses out of your 2 pieces and then connect them in the same way to the 1 piece. There is no slicing etc... involved. You will loose your fogs but with the projectors it makes such a big difference!

SilverBullet
01-16-2006, 08:47 PM
wont he have to get a different wire harness? because i was going to do this some time back and then i decided not to do it....ECS wire harness for 1pc headlights (http://www.ecstuning.com/stage/edpd/pagebuild_v2.cgi?make=Audi&engine=V6%2030v&model=B5%20A4&submodel=Quattro&category=Lighting&subcategory=Headlight)
from what i know you will need to get these, because the wire harness on our cars are different than the ones in the 99.5 but thats all you have to do. from what i understand[:D] .....btw what part of mass are you from? i am in lexington

Poopie
01-16-2006, 08:51 PM
You do need the harness.

98Black30V
01-16-2006, 08:52 PM
I'm from Westborough, but go to school at Umass Dartmouth

SilverBullet
01-16-2006, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by 98Black30V
I'm from Westborough, but go to school at Umass Dartmouth
ohh ok...but yeah if i were going to keep my car...i would be doing those 1 piece headlights...im sure there is another company local that has those wireharness...but ecs is the best place for you to get them from...

Poopie
01-16-2006, 09:00 PM
awe has the harness for $37.

SilverBullet
01-16-2006, 09:03 PM
Originally posted by Poopie
awe has the harness for $37.
I stand corrected thank you[up] i didnt even think to look there

Poopie
01-16-2006, 09:12 PM
happy to help

ed@mtl
01-17-2006, 03:50 AM
Getting the wire hardness make things easier. But I didn’t want to spend any more $$. I took the plugs from the two-piece headlights and solder couple of wires to the one piece.

Oh, the rest of the wiring is for my HID kit.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v105/hobbesmickey/DSC00184.jpg