PDA

View Full Version : Well, now I am pissed...



Neo1130
01-11-2006, 02:02 PM
ECS should update their crap... Their little $22 o2 sensors they have say it fits ALL B5 A4's... Well guess, what... NOT THE AWM!! Fags... I am a little pissed off now... Now that I get the part in and try to install it, I noticed that, OH, yeah the AWM's have a WIDEBAND!! Probably wasn't even the damn o2 sensor causing my troubles anyway and probably the MAF!! Anyone know where I can get a good MAF and O2 sensors for cheap?! Not trying to turn this into a for sale thread but might as well say, first $30 shipped takes it... Reason it's $30 is cause I want to get what I paid for it!!

Neo1130
01-11-2006, 02:16 PM
Well, what do you know... I just did something today I should have done a LONG time ago... Disconnected the MAF and voila!! Car runs great... Also, I got no CEL when it was disconnected... Hrm... Seems I should have something!! But yeah, anyone have any AWM MAFs?

alen
01-11-2006, 02:29 PM
I unconcientiously (sp damn) unplugged MAF on my 00 ATW and the car drove great w/o cel or any problems. it wasn't until i checked in vag-com that airflow was blank which scared the wind out of me.

you can get reman MAFs from dealer for under 80 bucks. i bought one in 04 and no problems ever since. make sure pn ends with X.

R-Dub
01-11-2006, 02:58 PM
Muahaha! Welcone to the great world of AWM!

The MAF and rear 02 will drive you MAD, just like it did to ME!!

Do what I did - replace all vaccum lines, replace the plugs and get a new MAF.

nizmosx
01-11-2006, 03:04 PM
i bought a cv boot from ecs that said its for my car and i had it put on. Turns out it was not for my car and i had to buy a new one and replace it. Had to pay labor twice for thier stupid mistakes.

Poopie
01-11-2006, 03:26 PM
what does the sensor fir then? If it works with AEB i'd be interested.

Neo1130
01-11-2006, 04:01 PM
Well the reason it doesn't fit my car is cause I have the wideband... If your car has the 4 wire o2 sensor then it SHOULD work... I'll let you know in a bit...

Poopie
01-11-2006, 04:51 PM
yeah man let me know. I'm looking for one on ecs so it would work out if it fits.

Neo1130
01-11-2006, 05:05 PM
PM sent

Poopie
01-11-2006, 05:12 PM
replied

goldenchild
01-11-2006, 05:18 PM
i thought the we ran narrow bands i dont think it matters that its 5 wire thats just what i hear from the vetrans

Neo1130
01-11-2006, 06:17 PM
5 wire = wide band and that is the way I would like to keep it... With the wideband o2 that is...

goldenchild
01-12-2006, 07:11 AM
if it was a TRUE wideband why do people with the same years buy em? and no they arent idiots bc id put money on it the y have better knowledge than u on these cars

k0mpresd
01-12-2006, 07:34 AM
Originally posted by goldenchild
if it was a TRUE wideband why do people with the same years buy em? and no they arent idiots bc id put money on it the y have better knowledge than u on these cars
im not quite sure what you just said but awm's have a true (not like theres a fake, but w/e) 0-5v 5wire wideband o2 sensor

the downstream is still a narrow, 0-1v sensor because it only measures catalyst efficiency

goldenchild
01-12-2006, 07:46 AM
ok then why would u say a vag coms a/f isnt as accurate as a lm-1 if its runin off a true wideband?

k0mpresd
01-12-2006, 08:07 AM
i never said it wasnt as good or as accurate

what i said was that i think it is better to have a wideband mounted in the car so you can see it on demand as well as log, if you have a wideband that logs of course

to check your a/f w/ vag that means you have to have a cable running all over your lap or under your feet and have a laptop in the passenger seat...not quite as convienent if you have a wideband permanently mounted on the dash

GlacialBass
01-12-2006, 08:16 AM
Sorry to jack the thread, but if there is already a wideband, would it be possible to tap the signal and run a guage in the car?

BarryT82
01-12-2006, 09:07 AM
Get the MAF for a 225TT from ecs for $55.

Daft
01-12-2006, 09:54 AM
Originally posted by Neo1130
Well the reason it doesn't fit my car is cause I have the wideband... If your car has the 4 wire o2 sensor then it SHOULD work... I'll let you know in a bit...


The $22 O2 sensor really only works well on the ATW motor (MY2000).

If you have an AEB motor (97-99.5), you will need the $103 sensor that ECS carries.

If you have an AWM motor (2001), they have the front one listed for $149.

Last summer I bought a new O2 sensor from ECS and before I ordered, I did some research on the $22 sensor. There were posts all over AW about it and every non-ATW owner had issues with it. All the ATW owners you bought it had no issues at all.

ECS does list 2 sensors for the front position on the AEB. I will tell you first hand that the $103 part is the correct one. It is a Bosch 15160. Works like a champ. Not sure what you get when you buy the $129 AEB front sensor but, it should also be a 15160. My guess is that the $129 one comes in an Audi parts wrapper whereas the $103 part came in it's Bosch box like when you buy one at your local autopart store.

k0mpresd
01-12-2006, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by GlacialBass
Sorry to jack the thread, but if there is already a wideband, would it be possible to tap the signal and run a guage in the car?
i believe aem, and i sure a few other companies as well, make gauges so you can piggyback the stock wideband

01'A41.8T
01-12-2006, 11:17 AM
Originally posted by BarryT82
Get the MAF for a 225TT from ecs for $55.

Thats actually not correct. The true TT225 AMU maf is $300 new $120 remanufactured. I wish it was only $55. But any case I will have an AWM MAF to get rid of when GIAC come out with the new K04 software. Unless I can run the TT225 maf I have with my car now then I can sell you my AWM right away.

Neo1130
01-12-2006, 01:52 PM
Originally posted by goldenchild
if it was a TRUE wideband why do people with the same years buy em? and no they arent idiots bc id put money on it the y have better knowledge than u on these cars

Actually no, I am the one that invented electronics... Not to mention Audi.... [rolleyes] I never said that I knew any more than anyone and I never said that anything else wouldn't work, all I am saying is that I don't feel like hacking wires up and shit... And o2 sensor is an o2 sensor... All I am saying is that I would like to stay as close to original as possible...