PDA

View Full Version : Where to ground amps?



94jedi
01-09-2006, 04:17 PM
Hey all not sure if all of you know my existing issue but I'm getting some engine whine through my speakers. Anyway, I was told it was a ground issue so i've moved my ground point around w/ some success but I still get some whine.

My question is this: Where do you all ground your amps?

Scuba06Steve
01-09-2006, 05:21 PM
i just grounded mine right behind my seat. it seemd to work fine, ur supposed to run the power wires seperatly from the others.

heres a great tutorial for a 96 a4 http://www.european-forums.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=4753

Neo1130
01-09-2006, 05:51 PM
Still having the problem huh?! Did you eliminate all paint? Is it a good contact?

94jedi
01-09-2006, 06:01 PM
Originally posted by Neo1130
Still having the problem huh?! Did you eliminate all paint? Is it a good contact?

yep sure did....still having the damn humming noise...I think it's a ground loop problem...

Starting
01-09-2006, 06:19 PM
I just grounded mine to the rear deck. I dont have any problems with the cd or radio but sometimes when my computer is on I get a little whine but I think that has to do with the power invertor more then anything.

Poopie
01-09-2006, 06:54 PM
you sure its not your amp thats the problem? What amp do you have? Mine is grounded to the sheet metal behind the seat. I drilled and tapped a hole.

94jedi
01-09-2006, 07:02 PM
Originally posted by Poopie
you sure its not your amp thats the problem? What amp do you have? Mine is grounded to the sheet metal behind the seat. I drilled and tapped a hole.

I've tried 4 different amps, 2 sets of rca's...

RippleChip
01-09-2006, 07:06 PM
How have you setup your system, I had this issue with a blaupunkt adapter but grounding the RCAs off eliminated it completely.

94jedi
01-09-2006, 07:20 PM
^ that's my next step....buck suggested that...can you explain it in more detail please? oh and if you want to post a pic...feel free to do so...Thanks.

I have the stock concert, blau adapter, 2 sets of rca's running to 2 amps 4ch for infinity speakers in the doors/rear deck and a 2 ch for a 10" sub.

mike-2ptzero
01-09-2006, 07:32 PM
Originally posted by 94jedi
^ that's my next step....buck suggested that...can you explain it in more detail please? oh and if you want to post a pic...feel free to do so...Thanks.

I have the stock concert, blau adapter, 2 sets of rca's running to 2 amps 4ch for infinity speakers in the doors/rear deck and a 2 ch for a 10" sub.

Could be your adapter that is causing the problem.

94jedi
01-09-2006, 07:35 PM
Originally posted by mike-2ptzero
Could be your adapter that is causing the problem.

yep that's whay I'm leaning towards....from everything I've read, I'm not the only one to have this issue w/ this adapter.

scooter44
01-10-2006, 12:26 AM
i grounded in the wheel well, seems to work fine. i did this with my '96 and my 99.5 both worked great.

buck
01-10-2006, 06:58 AM
Originally posted by 94jedi
^ that's my next step....buck suggested that...can you explain it in more detail please? oh and if you want to post a pic...feel free to do so...Thanks.

I have the stock concert, blau adapter, 2 sets of rca's running to 2 amps 4ch for infinity speakers in the doors/rear deck and a 2 ch for a 10" sub.

I think this is what Ripple did:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v144/buckcheese/pre_out.jpg

Wrap a copper (or other type of bare wire) around the RCA connections and tie the other end to a chassis ground behind the radio somewhere.

RippleChip
01-10-2006, 09:58 AM
Sorry just checking back.

That's exactly what I did. Put a ground wire and pinch it between the connectors of the blau adapter and the RCAs. Then ground this off on the back of the stock radio (it has a ground screw). This will eliminate all noise.

I think I have a pic which might help...

RippleChip
01-10-2006, 10:00 AM
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/10RCA.jpg

94jedi
01-11-2006, 06:56 PM
Thanks guys, I'm doing this right now. hopefully it ends this damn engine whine.

b00st
01-11-2006, 10:36 PM
or you'll just have to buy a ground loop isolator. if none of the above don't work.

b00st
01-11-2006, 10:37 PM
Originally posted by RippleChip
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/10RCA.jpg

i would think this would be the easiest and quickest way to find out what the problem is.

RippleChip
01-12-2006, 09:47 AM
So did it work for you?

94jedi
01-12-2006, 09:58 AM
no luck yet but that can be attributed to me breaking an RCA by tugging on it too hard. I'm gonna try again tonight after work.

ny02s4
01-12-2006, 06:22 PM
try the seatbelt bolt under the rear seat.