PDA

View Full Version : switchblade Key replacement question



audimanj
01-06-2006, 02:28 PM
does anyone know how much it costs to get a key programed and cut?? I lost my key and I am using the spare. TIA

BranCKY3
01-06-2006, 02:31 PM
Take it to the VW dealership, it will be cheaper. And the price will depend on what they feel like charging, shouldn't be too much though.

audimanj
01-06-2006, 02:32 PM
should I just buy an uncut key from ebay or would it be cheaper to buy a already cit key and get the key part from the vw dealership?

BranCKY3
01-06-2006, 02:40 PM
Well, call up the dealership and ask how much they're gonna charge. I dunno if you can buy the Audi keyfob at the VW dealership, but it's worth a try. I'm sure that ebay would be cheaper though..

Poopie
01-06-2006, 03:11 PM
cheapest way is to buy a used key fob and get a new uncut key blank. I have a 3 button remote I can't get to work with my car and a blank key blade FS.

Daft
01-06-2006, 04:20 PM
If memory serves me, I bought a 3-button switchblade key (lock/unlock/panic) from Ebay in 2004 for about $40 with an uncut key blade. My local VW dealer charged me $10 to cut it.

k0mpresd
01-06-2006, 04:23 PM
we cut keys for free

and ebay is going to be your best bet as far as price goes

logicbyondreaso
01-06-2006, 08:45 PM
How do i know if i have a fob system or what ever i have? I need to figure this out soon!! Please someone help

Poopie
01-06-2006, 11:14 PM
you have a key fob. key fob = remote keyless entry. just go on ebay and get a key that looks like yours

blacka41point8t
01-07-2006, 10:53 AM
I have an extra key that I lost for a while and spend like 130 at the dealership for a new one. The most expensive part is the remote so Id give it to you for like 40 bucks.

HighDesertAudi
01-07-2006, 11:46 PM
Went to the stealership today and they said they dont sell just the blade part, only the key half of the fob together for $65. Is ebay the only place to get a blank blade? My dealership is the worst its a Porsche, Audi, and BMW dealership, so if you dont own a Porsche they treat you like shit.

BarryT82
01-08-2006, 06:07 AM
Buy the entire key fob on ebay and have it cut at the VW dealer.

HighDesertAudi
01-08-2006, 10:36 AM
I allready have a fob i just dont have a blade for it

BranCKY3
01-08-2006, 10:44 AM
Have you searched ebay yet? Type in 'Audi blank' and you'll see a couple there. 'VW blank' would work too.

skiboard
01-08-2006, 11:14 AM
I lost my key so bought it from Ebay and it worked without even cutting

blacka41point8t
01-08-2006, 11:53 AM
No way thats crazy.

Kidsays
07-17-2014, 01:59 PM
Reopening this thread.. the housing for my key broke.. so now the blade part and the whole key part is separated. is there any way i can get a new upper half with the key in the housing cut and used or do i have to spend 300 dollars to get a new key from the dealership? all help and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.!!

U_know_me
07-17-2014, 02:05 PM
I have been down this road recently, in short a lot of things have changed since 2006, and NO there isnt any cheaper way. You could get an ebay key but no dealership will cut it anymore because they are made of a harder material and screw up there drill bits. So you will have to find a locksmith that will do it, and if you do they will charge $100-$150 to cut it. As much as I hate effing saying this go to the dealership, it will save you a lot of headache and money over time.

Kidsays
07-17-2014, 02:08 PM
so you've tried the whole buying two remotes from ebay and taking ti to the locksmith? i have a few that will do it.. but they said it might not work?

ricekikr
07-17-2014, 06:36 PM
Reopening this thread.. the housing for my key broke.. so now the blade part and the whole key part is separated. is there any way i can get a new upper half with the key in the housing cut and used or do i have to spend 300 dollars to get a new key from the dealership? all help and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.!!

Did the blade itself break? If not, you could just buy an ebay half and remove the blade it comes with and transfer your current blade to it. No cutting needed.