PDA

View Full Version : Mystery problem



gray7
09-01-2017, 12:17 PM
Whenever I shift my rpms stay at whatever u was shifting at expect from 1st-2nd, below 2k rpms. When I shift, it hangs for about 1.5 seconds then drops down. Yes, I'm taking my foot off the gas. It also hangs when I Rev it past 2k in neutral, standing still


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

blitz2190
09-01-2017, 12:26 PM
not a mystery, either a vaccum leak causing it to run lean, or (I'm assuming you have a manual as you said when you shift) the clutch switch is going out and not telling the ecu to drop the rpms on shift.

Jake@JHM
09-01-2017, 12:28 PM
not a mystery, either a vaccum leak causing it to run lean, or (I'm assuming you have a manual as you said when you shift) the clutch switch is going out and not telling the ecu to drop the rpms on shift.

yup

gray7
09-01-2017, 01:25 PM
Well if the clutch switch was bad, I wouldn't be able to start right? And where would you check first for vacuum leaks, I'll have it on the lift today


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

gray7
09-01-2017, 01:29 PM
I will check cruise control too


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

blitz2190
09-01-2017, 02:13 PM
Well if the clutch switch was bad, I wouldn't be able to start right? And where would you check first for vacuum leaks, I'll have it on the lift today


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

no your confusing the clutch interlock relay siwtch (bottom of pedal assembly) with clutch vacuum vent valve switch(upper portion of the pedal next to brake switch). they can fail intermittently and cause high idle between shifts and if bad enough randomly cause the cruise control to switch off. as for checking for vacuum leaks. anywhere there is a vacuum line, or valve. best way is to rig up a boost leak tester using an air gun, regulator, and some pvc pipe.

gray7
09-01-2017, 02:36 PM
Yea the cruise doesn't work


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)

gray7
09-01-2017, 02:53 PM
I just ordered the switch, it was 29$ oem. We'll see what it does. The car has 160k so I'm not too surprised


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87676)