PDA

View Full Version : Does the B5 A4 come with a wide band 02 sensor?



b00st
12-17-2005, 10:32 AM
thought this might be a handy gizmo should our B5s have it.

http://www.brockwayengineering.com/r920.html

R-Dub
12-17-2005, 11:05 AM
Yeah....thats pretty damn hot right there.

I will be picking that up as soon as I sell my old deck for sure.

Thanks for picking up on this one bOOst!

94jedi
12-17-2005, 11:28 AM
nope they don't. My 98.5 doesn't have a WB O2.

b00st
12-17-2005, 11:33 AM
WELL THATS A MAJOR LET DOWN!!!!

i saw that the 03 JETTAS have it some i'm assuming prolly B6's have it.

k0mpresd
12-17-2005, 11:36 AM
awm engine codes and up do...pretty much any vw 01.5+

R-Dub
12-17-2005, 11:40 AM
Sweet! Gotta love the AWM engine! [up]

'Cept for the whole MAF death thing.


Hey Ian - get on AIM!

b00st
12-17-2005, 11:49 AM
i guess we gotta do things the hard/expensive way!
whatelse is new.

R-Dub
12-17-2005, 12:11 PM
Hey, at least you guys get K04 and PC-16!

Im stuck with K03/GIAC chip!

Unless I go RF-BT.

b00st
12-17-2005, 12:17 PM
tru dat.

b00st
12-17-2005, 05:57 PM
so is the PLX Devices M-300 the way to go then?

M-300 Plug and Play Bosch Wideband Sensor Controller Kit with Display .

i guess i tap the narrowband connection and the replace the 02 with the Wideband 02 sensor and I get my reading correct?

$325 for the whole sha-bang (includes shipping).
unless i want the gauge and run dual A-Pillar pod for 369....and i guess you hide the unit then. i'd stick it somewhere in by the fuses on the drivers side and run the gauge...dunno if it really worth it to do that. i was think M-300 and remove the dash cup holder where most people put their turbo timers if it fits. my turbo timer is by my fuses....hidden. I just do the set it and forget it method.

what are you other guys using?

b00st
12-17-2005, 06:05 PM
and the narrowband sensor is the downstream one right? the second sensor?

b00st
12-18-2005, 10:26 AM
bump

R-Dub
12-18-2005, 10:37 AM
Yes.

b00st
12-18-2005, 11:44 AM
so i guess i will looking PLX Devices M-300 then.

k0mpresd
12-18-2005, 06:20 PM
i have that wideband gauge..works great

and no, the front o2 sensor is the one you replace...not the rear one, the front one measures a/f, the rear measures catalyst efficiency

technically they are both narrowband sensors, unless you have an awm engine code, then the front one is a wideband, the rear a narrow

bitterchild
12-18-2005, 08:28 PM
m-300's are $300 shipped. PM me if you can't find that price.

k0mpresd
12-18-2005, 08:45 PM
i got mine for $299/shipped [:p]

b00st
12-18-2005, 09:22 PM
dag a dolla cheapa.

cool tony....I will PM you when i is ready. its winter and its freeze and i have no desire to do anything to my car right now. i'm do some research and stuff....M300 seems like a good deal and an appropriate to run for wideband. Don't know much about installing them but then again from reading on PLX's website, its pretty simple stuff....i think.