PDA

View Full Version : My gas gauge is giving out???



juju4uofa
12-05-2005, 07:48 PM
A few days ago my gas gauge started acting up. I'll just be riding along and it'll go to Empty and a few seconds later it'll come back up. It's becoming more frequent unfortunately. Anyone else dealt with this issue?

Poopie
12-05-2005, 07:54 PM
i have it, i don't feel ike fixing it

onemoremile
12-05-2005, 07:57 PM
it is the fuel level sender. it is under the carpet in the rear between the spare tire well and the rear seat.
it is a half hour job if you've done it before. figure less than an hour for the first time.

make sure you don't have a full tank when you change out the sender. half tank or less is fine.

badassbaldie
12-05-2005, 10:05 PM
it is the fuel level sender. it is under the carpet in the rear between the spare tire well and the rear seat.
it is a half hour job if you've done it before. figure less than an hour for the first time.

make sure you don't have a full tank when you change out the sender. half tank or less is fine.

how about this...When I fill up, mine is always about 1/8 short of the full mark. Same problem?

R-Dub
12-05-2005, 10:14 PM
Originally posted by badassbaldie
how about this...When I fill up, mine is always about 1/8 short of the full mark. Same problem?

Pretty much, I had that even when I fixed my erratic fuel gauge.

TOTAL PITA is all I have to say - even with the time, tools and know-how its a complete PAIN to do this mod.

I recommed buying a new gauge and replacing it rather than a re-wire/sauter job.

juju4uofa
12-06-2005, 06:03 AM
Could someone post a part number and a good place to purchase? Thanks guys.

R-Dub
12-06-2005, 09:16 AM
Ecs Tuning is the only place that I know who carries them.

80 if I remember correctly.

bitterchild
12-06-2005, 11:20 AM
i would think it's more likely a sender issue than the actual gauge display in the dash. Course one would diagnose to be sure before throwing parts at the problem

juju4uofa
12-06-2005, 02:22 PM
I fell pretty certain my issue is the Fuel Level Sending Unit after doing a little more research. I can get it for $75 off ECStuning.com. After looking at the part and how it works it seems like something that could easily go out.

Quattrocket
12-06-2005, 03:27 PM
yup. ive had that problem for about 6 months now. just dont wanna fix it really.

juju4uofa
12-06-2005, 03:47 PM
I can't imagine living with this much longer. Every time it goes to Empty (which now is very often) the light comes on and it beeps. So annoying!!!

Neo1130
12-06-2005, 03:48 PM
98% of those problems on a TT turn out to be the gauge cluseter.... But then again, these are A4's...

chaua1
12-06-2005, 03:53 PM
I have that same problem, just use your trip meter to gauge gas levels. I usually try to fill up before I hit 280 miles, and even then I have 5 gallons left.


Common problem with A4's.