PDA

View Full Version : Resistors for those in need



andyrew
12-21-2016, 08:44 AM
Doing custom tuning on my engine conversion I was in need of a couple of resistors for various engine pieces. These were awesome, snapped in great, and work fantastic. Figured I would share for those of you in need doing the same thing. Also worked for my harness swap since I dont have a VVT.

https://www.carrottoptuning.com/products/resistor-kit-5pc

wclepse
12-21-2016, 01:06 PM
I have a question for you...where does this VVT delete plug into? I ask because I am getting a CEL for P0012 for the CCT not adjusting as expected. So would this plug essentially defeat that error?

a4kamila6
12-21-2016, 02:15 PM
I have a question for you...where does this VVT delete plug into? I ask because I am getting a CEL for P0012 for the CCT not adjusting as expected. So would this plug essentially defeat that error?

Resistor gets plugged into the harness. The plug that you connect to your cam tensioner, that plug gets a resistor.


Sent from my iPhone using Audizine (https://siteowners.tapatalk.com/byo/displayAndDownloadByoApp?rid=87676)

andyrew
12-21-2016, 03:03 PM
^This

wclepse
12-22-2016, 04:54 AM
Thanks guys...now I just need to confirm the shape of my connector. If it is right this may be a cheap way to test and see if there is something else causing this fault. I am due for inspection in February and would like to get this car passed but with 275k on the clock and running the original turbo I don't want to put too much into it since it could blow at any time.

andyrew
12-22-2016, 07:00 AM
The square connector is the VVT. http://image.cpsimg.com/sites/carparts-mc/design/s7/Images/spacer.gif

Wet0willy01
12-22-2016, 11:44 AM
I have a question for you...where does this VVT delete plug into? I ask because I am getting a CEL for P0012 for the CCT not adjusting as expected. So would this plug essentially defeat that error?

This will not fix that code.

wclepse
12-22-2016, 05:44 PM
This will not fix that code.

Can you elaborate? I posted a separate thread trying to understand the loop and how the code gets triggered.

Mad Cow
12-24-2016, 10:36 AM
Can you elaborate? I posted a separate thread trying to understand the loop and how the code gets triggered.
The only way to get rid of that code is through software, no amount of resistors or hardware hackery will fix it.

Sent from my MI 5 using Tapatalk