PDA

View Full Version : CD Changer Hook-up in Trunk



buck
12-03-2005, 02:07 PM
Is this the changer hook up?:

http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/551ChangerPlug-med.JPG

It's on the drivers side in the trunk. Just wondering because I'm looking for a plug 'n play used changer for my MY 2001. There seems to be different variations of changers.

TIA

[az]

BranCKY3
12-03-2005, 02:11 PM
Mine was circular, that almost looks like the connection on the back of my Phatnoise.

salz2135
12-03-2005, 02:26 PM
should be a round connector. that's not the right one.

buck
12-03-2005, 03:03 PM
Hmmmmmmmm... what the heck is that then? Where would the round one be? I can't find any other connections back there

Neo1130
12-03-2005, 03:03 PM
That is for the cell phone mumbo jumbo...

Starting
12-03-2005, 03:13 PM
You should find it in the area.

BranCKY3
12-03-2005, 10:36 PM
Reach back more, the end should be covered in foam.

AudiSnawb
12-04-2005, 06:48 AM
you may not even have one, some a4's dont.... does your headunit have the CD button on there???

imsosure
12-04-2005, 06:56 AM
Mine was behind the bracket used for holding the tool kit and stock cd changer. Romove the bracket and you'll see it, if you have one.

lowestA4
12-04-2005, 08:42 AM
Remove the headunit and check if the plug in the upper left corner (at the rear) is used. If there`s no beginning of the wiring you don`t need to look for the ending any longer ((-: I was looking for the same thing few weeks ago since I also installed a CD changer. I will post a pic of the location where I installed it.

buck
12-04-2005, 11:05 AM
yes, my radio has the CDC control - as well as the plug in the back of it.

I'll pull out that bracket and see what's deeper down.

RippleChip
12-04-2005, 02:06 PM
Keep digging Mike, mine was stashed way back in there. It had a foam piece covering the actual plug, which is a small round one.

buck
12-05-2005, 07:36 AM
Found it! it has 10 (13) pins - so I need to find a 13 pin changer. I hope all 13 pin changers are the same!

onemoremile
12-05-2005, 08:18 AM
i have a 13 pin changer. do you want it?

94jedi
12-05-2005, 08:29 AM
buck, don't even mess with the stock changer. just get a phatbox. It's only like $170 shipped w/ a 20gb cartridge and everything else you need. The stock changers suck and have trouble reading cdr's. At least mine did. Heck, it's stopped working completely.