PDA

View Full Version : Seat Options

TheRedGlacier
12-04-2016, 07:48 AM
Hey guys, I've been wondering what to do with my ripped driver's seat for awhile. I would like to get sport cloth seats, but as we all know they aren't too common.. Then my mind came to replacing the bottom cover, which costs just as much as a whole seat on eBay, and even more on ECS. Then I still need to figure out how to tear apart the seat, which, being my daily driver, isn't really a good option for now.

I know this may seem dumb, but the reason I haven't turned to an aftermarket slide on seat cover, is that I want an OEM look. I mean by no means is my B5 a show car, but I want her to keep her dignity intact. I'm pretty sure there is no seat cover that looks OEM, and isn't made out of that cheap nylon material.. So I'm turning to the forums. What would you guys recommend I should do with the seat? Funds are lacking, as I'm a poor college student (trying to fix up a B5, how silly of me [>_<])

Currently running the factory leatherette manuals with heat and airbags.

tar
12-04-2016, 08:07 AM
Go 2 a junkyard, get a passenger seat cover, install that and done.

If you search you will find the diy I'm talking about.

TheRedGlacier
12-04-2016, 08:34 AM
There aren't really any junkyards in my area :/ just out of curiosity, why a passenger side cover? sorry if that is a dumb question.

seanf86
12-04-2016, 08:45 AM
There aren't really any junkyards in my area :/ just out of curiosity, why a passenger side cover? sorry if that is a dumb question.

passenger seat covers the same and because you don't always have a passenger the seat cover usually isn't ripped and is in good shape, check local classifieds, there are always people parting them out, I usually always end up getting a seat for $50-$60 and it takes an afternoon to remove the seat and swap covers if you don't know what you're doing, if you know what you're doing it takes about an hour.

zandrew
12-04-2016, 10:22 AM