PDA

View Full Version : 2001 Daily Driver restore

Quaality
06-10-2016, 09:45 AM
I am a first time Audi owner and I recently purchased a 2001 A4 1.8T for about $3300 (included a new windshield installed as the original had a crack in it). The car has a very clean interior and relatively clean body (small wear items and few cosmetic issues) and has ~140,000 miles. I am planning on restoring/doing all the neglected maintenance to bring it back to life and make it my daily driver. The last daily I had was a '98 civic I bought for $2000 and ran it for 5 years until it threw a rod, but based on cosmetic and rust condition it wasn't worth fixing, currently trying to sell that. I am not a mechanic but a decent DIY guy so I am hoping some of you may be able to help with some of the issues I am running into with the car. Some background on the car is that the shop that sold it to me had been doing all the work on it for the last ~10 years and it was well kept. (I'll add photos later) All the control arms were recently replaced and had the timing belt/water pump replaced already (no cracks on belt and it looks decently clean, so I trust it was done). The only cosmetic issues the car has is some bubbling rust under the passenger front door (probably just find one to swap to it), the drivers mirror (auto tint I'm told) is cracked and needs to be replaced and some rock chips I need to fill in before winter as I live in Minnesota and they use salt on the roads still so, yay, need to make sure I avoid rust issues as much as possible.