PDA

View Full Version : 2006 C6 3.2 - oil flooded spark plug hole - valve cover gasket



vtraudt
04-29-2016, 01:49 PM
Changing plugs, I found the spark plugs submerged in oil.
Purchased valve cover gaskets, but found out that there are TWO (2) what I would call valve covers that have the potential to leak and let oil get into the spark plug hole.
One is the main cover under the plastic valve cover.

But then there is a second one below (likely not called valve cover) that ALSO has a seam with the spark plug hole.

Do I need to change BOTH. I only ordered the upper one (than pulled up under valve cover gasket search).

Aside from valve cover gasket letting oil leak onto the plug hole: what else should I check?

Saifxnyc
04-29-2016, 01:52 PM
I changed the one on the top they come in a pair of two and it resolved my problem the middle spark plug had some oil on the passenger side. No issues ever since and it's the same spark plug that is in there. I have to change them at some point.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

FL C6 Avant
04-29-2016, 05:14 PM
well the vcg is easy (relatively speaking). the second seam is an RTV only seam between the cam girdle and the head. lotta work to reseal those.....

vtraudt
04-30-2016, 04:35 AM
Sure hope it was the top one, and not the 'cam girdle'.
How to check on the 3.2 that the underlying cause is not over pressure in the crank vent system?


https://www.dropbox.com/s/v9ui9gh97v58hzt/IMG_2917.JPG?dl=0

vtraudt
04-30-2016, 05:10 AM
How to check on the 3.2 that the underlying cause is not over pressure in the crank vent system?


Not familiar with the PCV system of 3.2 (and the 3.2 in general). But have had a few 2.0T FSI engines with PCV related issues.
What to check/verify/test on the 3.2 in this respect?

FL C6 Avant
04-30-2016, 07:24 AM
I suspect the PCV issues on this series is rooted in the breather/separator.
so for 'overpressure' maybe start by removing the oil fill cap (could splash) at idle? if properly scavenging (under vacuum), I'd expect a blip in idle speed and an adjust on the STFT (if you are set up to monitor it).