PDA

View Full Version : AEB stroker and ECU tune questions

Kronprinz
12-18-2015, 12:04 PM
I am getting ready to pick a 1998 1.8T that needs some work. Timing belt snapped. I am going to get this cheap and want to build it from the ground up. This is going to be a little project car that I can work on during the weekends, so there is no absolute rush. I want to do it, and I want to do it right, the first time. Although I am new to Audi's, I have experience plenty experience in the automotive field and rebuilding engines, so I know I can handle the task.

I have been researching for some time about stroking an AEB. Almost all of the threads and information out there seem quite a few years old, and many threads either talk about it in little detail, or just abruptly end leading me to believe they just abandoned the build.

I think I have gathered most of the information I need to complete this task, special care needed to grind inside block walls to make clearance for the connecting rods, space and shave #4 oil squirter, and send intermediate shaft out for machining(http://scch-heads.com/viewpart.php?id=36). Am I missing anything?

Question 1- What crank trigger wheel do I use, AEB, or the one that comes on the ABA crank?

As for tuning, it looks like AEB got the short end of the deal(at least that's the impression I get from research), which leads me to question 2- Without going stand alone, what are my options for a tune? Is there anyone on these forums that can tune the stock AEB ECU to run a 2L stroker and bigger turbo, or what companies in the Audi world can do this?

These are pretty much the only threads I found any useful information in:
http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?3964718
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/105602-20-20-build
http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?4320421-2008cc-20v-AEB-audi-with-PTE-6057-Dual-Ball-bearing-and-Vbanded
If anyone else can answer my questions, or have any useful links, please feel free to post up.