PDA

View Full Version : New Ipod mount



.aye four.
10-12-2005, 08:40 PM
Just made this new mount today. I used to have it mounted next to my headunit but it seemed to look out of place. It was more functional mounted there but I don't really look at my Ipod that much I just play it and go. His one is made from a piece of MDF that i cut to fit the little cubby under the lighter which was replaced with the torch light. Then I used a sheet of plexi glass to try to recreate the red light ambience. The plexi glass is lit with a small LED mounted inside the piece of MDF. The bar is a 1 inch by 1/4 inch thick piece of aluminum that I bent around a pole to get the smooth curve. Mounted everything together using tee nuts and allen socket bolts. Came out pretty good I might sand down the plexi glass to diffuse the light alittle better.

http://students.uta.edu/tt/ttn1156/mount1.jpg

http://students.uta.edu/tt/ttn1156/mount2.jpg

http://students.uta.edu/tt/ttn1156/mount3.jpg

TurbousMaximus
10-12-2005, 08:44 PM
wow bro, just wow. i regret selling my ipod now. you better start selling this thats high quality and nice looking.

Russ D
10-12-2005, 08:44 PM
Schweeet!

scooter44
10-12-2005, 08:55 PM
looks great man. very nice

tYcOoN
10-12-2005, 09:06 PM
That looks pretty clean, I like the LED illumination. But that place is shitty to see the display. Where will you wire the cable ? I had my iPod close to the right side of the h/u. That was also a bad place because it's just to far away. So I made a new holder. Now the iPod is just next to the cluster. So I can browse the menu while driving.

http://images12.fotki.com/v239/photos/8/82413/2720298/DSC06758-vi.jpg

But the work on your mount is pretty good ! [up]

.aye four.
10-12-2005, 09:08 PM
Yeah its not a good place if you like to browse your Ipod but I usually don't my passangers usually mess with it more then I do so that spot is good for me, alittle out of the way.

tYcOoN
10-12-2005, 09:10 PM
Originally posted by .aye four.
Yeah its not a good place if you like to browse your Ipod but I usually don't my passangers usually mess with it more then I do so that spot is good for me, alittle out of the way.

how can you use your arm rest and the iPod at the same time ?[:D]

chaua1
10-12-2005, 09:12 PM
Come on, no one ever uses the arm rest. EVER.

.aye four.
10-12-2005, 09:12 PM
Armrest doesn't touch the mount it has plenty of clearance. Just pull the Ipod out to change tracks and slide it back onto the mount.

tYcOoN
10-12-2005, 09:13 PM
Originally posted by chaua1
Come on, no one ever uses the arm rest. EVER.

I do, I am old[:D]

eurowerks
10-12-2005, 09:21 PM
hehe I have the same exact holder except I mounted it where your turbo timer is.

Skippster86
10-12-2005, 11:05 PM
That is nice! good work my friend.

boosteda4
10-12-2005, 11:19 PM
I used my armrest alllll the time... until i have girls in the car.. but if im cruising or have buddies the armrest is down. =) iPod mount ever be for sale??

geeboyjibber
10-13-2005, 12:30 AM
how much for it shipped to 92507? ;)

JMG
10-13-2005, 03:08 AM
that is SICK. You willing to make and sell them?

LateraLex
10-13-2005, 06:46 AM
Nice work... now just mod the ipod to have audi graphics. I can send you the files..

lude2euroa4
10-13-2005, 07:07 AM
thats the same interior i have expcept im armrest-less i dont know why but i wish i had one :(

i like your boot and shift knob where you get those?

.aye four.
10-13-2005, 11:39 AM
I can probably make a few but I'll probably have to make them without the cradles since there are different iPods. The cradle attaches to the metal bar with a piece of 3m tape which I can provide. Price would vary depending on if you wanted the LED lighting or not.

Boot is an Alcantara and the knob is Oettinger

bitterchild
10-13-2005, 12:33 PM
your car is the exact opposite of mine.

sean951
10-13-2005, 01:39 PM
that is a very nice mount, i think ill make one too. hope you dont mind me copying you[:)] . i may change it up a bit though

G-low
10-13-2005, 03:12 PM
what kind of cable are you using to connect it to your headunit? and if you dont mind me asking where did you get the cradle for the ipod??? i just got my ipod and im trying to figure out where im gunna put it and what to connect it with

.aye four.
10-13-2005, 09:48 PM
The cradle if a bracketron unit. Just google it and it should come up. Right now its just attached via the headphone jack with an adapter to the AUX input on my headunit. I will soon hardwire a Belkin car charger so I can charge it and play it at the same time through the dock connector.

almaster666
10-13-2005, 09:53 PM
i use the armrest when i drive the A4...
the position of the armrest can be a pain when you want to use the handbrake in city hill driving

JHousyS4
10-13-2005, 10:23 PM
what about Ipod video???

.aye four.
10-13-2005, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by JHousyS4
what about Ipod video???

I saw that on the new iPods would be really sweet I can use that instead of having to burn DVD's. It would connect directly to the AUX input on my headunit also.

BranCKY3
10-13-2005, 10:51 PM
You need gas. Otherwise, wow that looks great!

Axxis
10-14-2005, 06:31 AM
nice spot

JMG
10-16-2005, 09:52 PM
Hey .aye four., does the bracketron come with that littel tag on the lower right? It looks like it's there to keep the iPod from falling out from under it.


http://students.uta.edu/tt/ttn1156/mount1.jpg