PDA

View Full Version : Stage 3 Audi Intro/Noob Build Thread

cwsly
03-24-2015, 07:20 PM
Hey Audizine, thought I should introduce myself finally after trolling the site pretty much nonstop for the last few days. My name is Conner, and Im a total VW/Audi noob... I've always liked the cars, but I never thought I would own one. Due to an interesting chain of events I just picked up a 99 A4 Quattro 5 speed with bits and pieces of an APR Stage 3 kit for dirt cheap from the type of person who plastidipped the brake calipers on the Stoptech big brake kit (literally lol). The car is in fairly rough shape, and definitely needs a little love but it's a decent starting place for a fun daily driver/weekend warrior project. I've had tons of fast stuff before but I know nothing about these cars in particular, so I'd love any input you guys can give me!

The car came with an APR manifold and intake elbow (I believe that's what it is, bear with me), Garrett turbo which I believe is a GT28RS but I haven't had time to verify the numbers, smallish front mount, stupid loud chirpy BOV, and then 2.5" exhaust all the way back to what looks to be the stock muffler. Here's the funny twist though, that's it for power. I believe I've still got stock injectors (Orange top?), and stock maf, and also I believe stock tune, if that's possible although it is catless with no CEL. Along the way it got a Stoptech 6 piston big brake kit which is in desperate need of pads/rotors, so that'll be a fun project in itself trying to figure out what it needs, and unknown brand coilovers that ride suprisingly well. It's also got an aftermarket clutch that is grabby as hell, but as high as its releasing I'm thinking it's not going to last much longer.