PDA

View Full Version : J-31 K04 files



sumpsfast
09-16-2005, 12:24 PM
I just talked to a close friend that is also a GIAC rep very close with Garrett, and apparently the J-31 file no longer exists/is out-dated. Supposedly the new files are great and improved, with the R&D Garrett has done.

The only down side is that K04 programming, at least for 2000MY is only available in 3x now, meaning stock, race and pump. On top of that we are now "flashable" meaning we need the flashloader. Total it is another $300 bones to get GIAC K04 programming from the $495 it used to be for one program. Damm. I am giving the new programming a whirl next week, I have high hopes[:(] [rolleyes]

01'A41.8T
09-16-2005, 12:30 PM
Could this mean no throttle cut on the 2001?! I wonder if I get some discount if i trade my chip in then get flashed. I like the flashloader, I would feel alot better parking my car in a bad area and switching on kill mode but I guess thats not an option with the K04 software as of yet.

sumpsfast
09-16-2005, 12:32 PM
I think the upgrade is only $200 but you might have to get another program, plus the flashloader.

BTW, I am only speaking of the 2000MY, not sure about the revised 2001 programs.

01'A41.8T
09-16-2005, 12:33 PM
Yeah, I was assuming if they are revising the 2000 I would hope they would do the same for the 2001 becuase it could use it.

alen
09-16-2005, 01:02 PM
What if you have the regular GIAC K04 chip? Can you upgrade to those 'new' files for the same $25 fee that it used to be?

mmart6545
09-16-2005, 04:37 PM
Originally posted by sumpsfast
I just talked to a close friend that is also a GIAC rep very close with Garrett, and apparently the J-31 file no longer exists/is out-dated. Supposedly the new files are great and improved, with the R&D Garrett has done.

The only down side is that K04 programming, at least for 2000MY is only available in 3x now, meaning stock, race and pump. On top of that we are now "flashable" meaning we need the flashloader. Total it is another $300 bones to get GIAC K04 programming from the $495 it used to be for one program. Damm. I am giving the new programming a whirl next week, I have high hopes[:(] [rolleyes]

Hmm...sounds like horse poo. Me thinks your informant is misinformed.

Nothing tops the j31 file. What file name are they specifically talking about...j31R, J31r, K05, K31?

Rosati
09-16-2005, 04:43 PM
on my watch list.

mike-2ptzero
09-16-2005, 07:24 PM
Originally posted by 01'A41.8T
Yeah, I was assuming if they are revising the 2000 I would hope they would do the same for the 2001 becuase it could use it.

All it means is that the files have been converted to a flash loading file. Dont think anything else has been changed and those flash loading files were also used on the other project that he was doing with the remote to change programs. Pretty sure you can get the actually burned chip since they are still doing that stuff for the older cars still.

01'A41.8T
09-16-2005, 09:32 PM
Originally posted by mike-2ptzero
All it means is that the files have been converted to a flash loading file. Dont think anything else has been changed and those flash loading files were also used on the other project that he was doing with the remote to change programs. Pretty sure you can get the actually burned chip since they are still doing that stuff for the older cars still.

So you are saying that the new files are exactly the same they are just flashload now? I remember the project with the little remote key fob. What ever happened with that?

mike-2ptzero
09-16-2005, 10:56 PM
Originally posted by 01'A41.8T
So you are saying that the new files are exactly the same they are just flashload now? I remember the project with the little remote key fob. What ever happened with that?

I had a beta version of it on my car at one point but that was long time ago. It was dropped after they started R&D on flash loading. Yes I would think they files are the same just put into a flashload file. Do you really think they are going to do retuning for every file? Plus the fact that the J31 file is the highest powered K04 chip on the market as it was.

BranCKY3
09-16-2005, 11:02 PM
All I know is that they should make the J31 for 2001's, then I'll be happy. 20psi just isn't enough now [:)] (Car decided to run right finally!!!!!!!)

mike-2ptzero
09-16-2005, 11:09 PM
Originally posted by BranCKY3
All I know is that they should make the J31 for 2001's, then I'll be happy. 20psi just isn't enough now [:)] (Car decided to run right finally!!!!!!!)

Well if it was that easy they would. Just have to understand that the J31 was based off of my custom GIAC K03 chip which took nearly a full year to get all the bugs out of it and got me into the 14.2's.

one8t
09-17-2005, 06:52 AM
The answer I got from Andrew at GIAC about making the J31 available for later MY's was something about MY 2000 using a smaller capacity prom than the later MY's. Basically that they just couldn't clone the file from one ecu type to another like they can in some other applications. There's a physical or technical difference betwen the ecu's in this MY range and it requires that they actually retune it on a car. Something tells me enough people have pestered them about this that if they had a simple solution, they would have done it.

mike-2ptzero
09-17-2005, 07:51 AM
Originally posted by one8t
The answer I got from Andrew at GIAC about making the J31 available for later MY's was something about MY 2000 using a smaller capacity prom than the later MY's. Basically that they just couldn't clone the file from one ecu type to another like they can in some other applications. There's a physical or technical difference betwen the ecu's in this MY range and it requires that they actually retune it on a car. Something tells me enough people have pestered them about this that if they had a simple solution, they would have done it.


Well the 2000 was the first year of dbw and didn't come with VVT. So this made it a year that stands by itself and the tuning for it cant be used for any other model year.

one8t
09-17-2005, 08:35 AM
Originally posted by mike-2ptzero
Well the 2000 was the first year of dbw and didn't come with VVT. So this made it a year that stands by itself and the tuning for it cant be used for any other model year.
That is true, but Andrew specifically mentioned something like the 2000 prom/board was 1mb and the the 2001+ was 2mb or 500kb versus 1mb something like that. I was asking about just getting a prom to try since I was already running a file intended for a "CH" box. He seemed sympathetic that the cars are very similar mechanically, but they just couldn't copy a bunch of maps and call it a day. Maybe the difference in how the O2's read in vagcom is another sign of more differences.

sumpsfast
09-17-2005, 10:19 AM
Straight from the birds mouth Mike, this is just what I was told:

Hi Brian,



"The 2000 car can now be flashed like the later cars B.

All of the newest K04 files are only available as a 3x or in some cases a 5x. This is a distinct advantage as you get real race gas timing maps in “Race Mode.”

J31 is super old and I don’t even have the “J31” file. IMO give the newer stuff a try, it has years of learning time on J31.

NP Hope all in good." [confused]

BranCKY3
09-17-2005, 10:28 AM
Ask him if the newer files are as strong as the J31, see how much boost they run, etc.

alen
09-17-2005, 12:57 PM
what's 3x and 5x? and are they stronger files than J31? Do they require FMIC and bigger injectors like the J31?

so if I went to a GIAC retailer, I couldn't get a J31 flashed on my K04 chip anymore?

marcini
09-17-2005, 02:29 PM
I am a proud owner of a GIAC J31, J31R, stock and kill file with the IBE chip switch, and to tell you the truth nothing beats the low tourque with this set up, I love it, but probably I will upgrade by early next year if everything goes good, so it might be available for grabs sometime next year.

Marcin

one8t
09-17-2005, 02:35 PM
Hate to say it, but I think it's all marketing. By going with flashloader it's no longer a straight upgrade path where the cost is minimal, it's a new product.

How can there be any file better than J31? High boost, high timing advance. Well documented to work if everything else on the car is right. 3x and 5x are how many programs you would get flashed to the ecu. Once you have a fully tuned 2000 K04 with FMIC, how many programs do you need besides J31 and MAYBE valet? Stock wouldn't work. What are the file names of the newer, better files? Is there a race gas, K04 file out there that nobody seems to have? They'd probably load you up with a K05, stock and valet and send you on your way.

mike-2ptzero
09-17-2005, 04:43 PM
Odd thing is that no one has even shown a dyno of the J31R file, which tells me that it might not even make more power then the old J31 chip. Also it has never been used at the drags to put down any good times.

marcini
09-18-2005, 08:17 AM
14.4 sec is the best that i did at the drags with the J31R and 104 ocatne, knowing the fact that it was my first time dragging, and i didnt have my test pipe then and after 5krpm the car had drastic slow down, now since i have the test pipe it acts a lil bit better. My best 60ft was 1.9 I was kinda happy since a was a first timer there, but i'm planning to go to the Atco 1/4 mile drag in Nj this fall, i'm hoping to get some better #'s but who knows.

Mike would you suggest running J31 instead J31r and run it with a higher octane fuel?

mike-2ptzero
09-18-2005, 08:32 AM
Originally posted by marcini
14.4 sec is the best that i did at the drags with the J31R and 104 ocatne, knowing the fact that it was my first time dragging, and i didnt have my test pipe then and after 5krpm the car had drastic slow down, now since i have the test pipe it acts a lil bit better. My best 60ft was 1.9 I was kinda happy since a was a first timer there, but i'm planning to go to the Atco 1/4 mile drag in Nj this fall, i'm hoping to get some better #'s but who knows.

Mike would you suggest running J31 instead J31r and run it with a higher octane fuel?


Well you can always try both. Run the J31R first on the race fuel then switch to the street version on the race fuel. The J31 really like about 96 octane. Might also want to log your runs to see if the J31R is pulling any timing. Blocks to log is 003/020 at the same time during the run.

AB18
09-18-2005, 08:46 AM
I ran 14.3 on just straight awe ko4 software.



Mike, Am i correct that the j31 will hang with m3s through 1st, 2nd?

marcini
09-18-2005, 09:34 AM
i smoked my friends m3 on the highway, never really got a chance to race him of the line, also his m3 was flashed with some performance software and he had a obd1 manifold which adds like 25hp to the wheels

01'A41.8T
09-18-2005, 04:02 PM
^^^That actually really surprises me but sweet none the less.

sumpsfast
09-18-2005, 04:05 PM
I agree with the 3x being a bogus set up. If youre K04'd with a FM you will never be able to use it.

I am going through one of GIAC's foremost distributor/tuners, so I am sure I will get the best set up avaliable, and I will have a lot more info later this week. I do really wish I could just get ahold of the J-31 file. Whatever [rolleyes]

mike-2ptzero
09-18-2005, 10:45 PM
Originally posted by sumpsfast
I agree with the 3x being a bogus set up. If youre K04'd with a FM you will never be able to use it.

I am going through one of GIAC's foremost distributor/tuners, so I am sure I will get the best set up avaliable, and I will have a lot more info later this week. I do really wish I could just get ahold of the J-31 file. Whatever [rolleyes]

Well if they are trying to just push the flashloading, they should offer just the J31 file as a single flash load for a K04 kit setup other wise they would have to sell you the old chip version. So if you were to buy the K04 kit from a GIAC dealer for the 2000, what exactly would they include for chip tuning for that? It has to come with something so its going to be the K05 or J31 file, just is it going to be flashload or the old chip vesrsion.

sumpsfast
09-19-2005, 02:55 PM
Word is the Stock program is just "Stockish". It drops boost to stockish levels, thus you're not actually buying a useless stock K03 program.

mmart6545
09-19-2005, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by AB18
I ran 14.3 on just straight awe ko4 software.



Mike, Am i correct that the j31 will hang with m3s through 1st, 2nd?

E36 m3, yes. E46, not a chance.

Good luck finding a stage 3 ecu.

AB18
09-19-2005, 05:01 PM
Already am working on the ecu.

What size injecotors are in the kit mmart?

mmart6545
09-19-2005, 09:20 PM
Originally posted by AB18
Already am working on the ecu.

What size injecotors are in the kit mmart?

The stage 3 DBW injectors flow 452cc/min @ 60psi (~4bar) and 393cc/min @
45psi (~3bar). The non-DBW stage 3 injectors flow 510cc/min @ 60psi. This is approximately 12.8% more than the DBW stage 3 injectors.

I have a set of hardly used nDBW injectors for sale.

mike-2ptzero
09-19-2005, 11:40 PM
Originally posted by mmart6545
The stage 3 DBW injectors flow 452cc/min @ 60psi (~4bar) and 393cc/min @
45psi (~3bar). The non-DBW stage 3 injectors flow 510cc/min @ 60psi. This is approximately 12.8% more than the DBW stage 3 injectors.

I have a set of hardly used nDBW injectors for sale.

aren't those just 440cc green tops and 380cc 225tt injectors? Also why the odd psi ratings when that is not what 3 and 4 bar equal?

mmart6545
09-20-2005, 03:12 PM
Originally posted by mike-2ptzero
aren't those just 440cc green tops and 380cc 225tt injectors? Also why the odd psi ratings when that is not what 3 and 4 bar equal?

Cut and pasted from the archives [:)]

Yes, TT225s....but no the ndbws are not green tops. They have orange tops. What else that means, beats me!

OutkastSL
09-20-2005, 03:38 PM
mmart...do you know if the 180tt 317cc fits the 2000 m.y. a4?