PDA

View Full Version : New Throttle Body in A4 help



blacksails192
03-10-2015, 07:41 PM
So i was having and idle/running issue that was diagnosed as my throttle body going bad in my 98 1.8t. I got a new throttle body but now the car is running like crap and has no boost when its up to temperature. I was told my a tech that i wouldnt need a vagcom to program a new throttle body. Im guessing this is not true at this point. I have no shops in my area that have a vagcom either. Any ideas?

blacksails192
03-10-2015, 07:44 PM
i was also told to try leaving the key on without starting it for 45 seconds and that also did nothing. The car has no power at all

Bordom
03-10-2015, 07:49 PM
Find someone with vagcom to do a throttle body alignment for you

blacksails192
03-10-2015, 07:52 PM
thats the problem. I live in the middle of no where. Ive had no luck tryint to find someone with a vagcom in the past. Its atleast an hour or two drive to find someone at a minimum and my car now has no power

Bordom
03-10-2015, 09:04 PM
Worse comes to worse, get the dealer to do it

blacksails192
03-10-2015, 09:54 PM
Worse comes to worse, get the dealer to do it

nearest audi dealer is 2 hours away

woolveren
03-10-2015, 10:18 PM
I was told my a tech that i wouldnt need a vagcom to program a new throttle body.

This^^

You don't need Vagcom for TB adaptation in drive by cable cars. Just turn the key On(don't start) and leave it there for some 3 minutes, rest the computer will learn by itself after you drive car for couple of days..

blacksails192
03-11-2015, 04:11 AM
This^^

You don't need Vagcom for TB adaptation in drive by cable cars. Just turn the key On(don't start) and leave it there for some 3 minutes, rest the computer will learn by itself after you drive car for couple of days..

Thank you. I am going to go try again. Someone else told me only 45 seconds of key on power but that didnt do it.

Mad Cow
03-11-2015, 07:43 AM
This^^

You don't need Vagcom for TB adaptation in drive by cable cars. Just turn the key On(don't start) and leave it there for some 3 minutes, rest the computer will learn by itself after you drive car for couple of days..

Every time I tried it didn't work and there are tons of people who weren't able to either, I'm 90% sure only DBW cars can do a TBA without VCDS.

woolveren
03-11-2015, 11:46 AM
Every time I tried it didn't work and there are tons of people who weren't able to either, I'm 90% sure only DBW cars can do a TBA without VCDS.

I have to disagree with this, my car's TB always adapts itself if battery is disconnected or TB was removed. Sure, it won't adapt fully right away by just keeping the ignition ON for few minutes. As I said above once I drive for around 20 miles, the TB will learn driving conditions and adapts itself.

PS: I have VCDS full version, had played a lot with TB adaptation both ways in my car.

BirdTurbo
03-11-2015, 03:03 PM
Is there anyway to repair the circuitry in those throttle bodies with the cable as I had 3 of them crap out on me in the past 2 years? I have a vr6 throttle body but I was told not to put it on due to not having the supporting mods, sorry for hijacking the thread.

blacksails192
03-11-2015, 05:02 PM
So an update... The key on for 3 minutes did not work either. I swapped back in the old throttle body to try to make the car driveable again but now its worse than before. It wont idle and you cant give it gas

Papa_Dios
03-13-2015, 10:53 PM
What's your battery voltage looking like?

Tamarillo
03-13-2015, 11:01 PM
Just had mine out and cleaned. Was going to do it but was told by audi specialist that it had to be recalibrated with the vagcom or audi software. He wasn't going for the work so honest help.

woolveren
03-14-2015, 07:41 AM
From Volkswagen Motronic ME7 Engine Management System:

Adaptation procedure

Any time work is performed on the electronic throttle control system, or the power supply to the ECM is interrupted, adaptation must be carried out using the VAS 5051 or VAG 1551. This is both a complete check of the throttle valve control module, as well as the accelerator pedal module. Specific readings must be received by the Motronic ECM J220 to allow normal running.

The adaptation is performed in two ways:

1. Specifically: When adaptation has been initiated by an outside source, i.e. the VAS 5051. This is accomplished through activation of Basic Settings in function 04, measuring value block 060.

Note: Always check VESIS for the most current information.

2. Automatically: If the ignition is switched on for six to ten seconds, and if the ECM registers a “learning requirement.” The ECM will register a “learning requirement” if the previously registered voltage values from the throttle position sensors are out of tolerance to the new voltage readings. In this case there is no way of knowing if the adaptation was successful or not.


^^ So the ecu will run TB adaptation automatically when it notices something is not right.

Papa_Dios
03-14-2015, 08:05 AM
Being that he has a 98 DBC car I don't think that applies here

Mad Cow
03-14-2015, 10:59 AM
Being that he has a 98 DBC car I don't think that applies here

Yea, ME7 is DBW. DBC is M3.5 or something like that.

blacksails192
03-16-2015, 03:38 PM
Battery voltage is good. I had a high idle and a check engine light for a lean fault awhile ago and wasnt able to figure it out so i had to travel quite a ways to a shop with a vag com. They determined it was my TB so they cleaned it and tried to perform the adaptation and they said it wasnt working and needed to be replaced. I installed the new one and had the problems occur since so i had to just buy a vag com and a laptop as the car was not drive able. My car is dbc so i wasnt aware you needed a vag com. i was under the impression that was only for dbw cars. Anyways ill have my vag com tomorrow. Something i should have bought a long time ago anyways i suppose

pbcrazy
03-16-2015, 03:58 PM
Being that he has a 98 DBC car I don't think that applies here

Every time I tried it didn't work and there are tons of people who weren't able to either, I'm 90% sure only DBW cars can do a TBA without VCDS.

It does work to an extent. I have personally test both methods as I have VCDS and was curious, it works a ton better with VCDS, and you won't have near as many driveability issues at first, but turning the key for 3-5 minutes without touching anything else will also do it (along with it adapting further in the next few miles). The turning key thing only works if you do it directly after disconnecting then reconnecting the battery, it will not work if you start the car first.

woolveren
03-17-2015, 08:23 AM
The turning key thing only works if you do it directly after disconnecting then reconnecting the battery, it will not work if you start the car first.

I think this holds the key, I have always did this way without VCDS and it worked every time ..