PDA

View Full Version : Brake Options

bxultra
02-12-2015, 08:43 AM
So I've waiting and I think its time to make a decision. Im stuck between brake pad and rotor options. What are your opinions or experiences? Theres so many choices its hard to choose from, Adams rotors has full sets, ECS has full sets. I couldn't find sets of Stoptech or EBC but in the end theres not too much price difference between them all. I have no clue about pads either. Im an enthusiastic and spirited driver and the stock pads (I'm assuming they've never changed lol) stopped the car quite well for me, I've never doubted them. But when things get old you upgrade, right? lol

Avant Nate
02-12-2015, 08:57 AM
I've had PBR ceramics for a few years now, no complaints. About to upgrade to A8 fronts, probably go with them again.

bxultra
02-12-2015, 09:01 AM
I've had PBR ceramics for a few years now, no complaints. About to upgrade to A8 fronts, probably go with them again.

The A8 brake swap is a little bit of work isn't it? Don't you need to have a certain size or better wheel to avoid fitment issues with the rotors or something? I know theres something along those lines with the A8 setup.

MetalMan
02-12-2015, 09:11 AM
The A8 brake swap is a little bit of work isn't it? Don't you need to have a certain size or better wheel to avoid fitment issues with the rotors or something? I know theres something along those lines with the A8 setup.

Not much work, and the work you do for it would be the same work you do if you're replacing rotors anyways. The upgrade only consists of new rotors and caliper carriers, and everything else is the same.
The minimum wheel size would be 16".

bxultra
02-12-2015, 09:31 AM
Not much work, and the work you do for it would be the same work you do if you're replacing rotors anyways. The upgrade only consists of new rotors and caliper carriers, and everything else is the same.
The minimum wheel size would be 16".