PDA

View Full Version : Problem with bagged B5, Airlift has stopped helping.

clumsyme
02-12-2015, 08:24 AM
Let me start off with saying that this is my first time bagging a car and I dont have anyone local to me that has a bagged car to help. But I installed an airlift kit with accuair switchspeed and everything went fine until I tried to air up my rears. At the recommend pressure I was at 23ftg... too low for driving and too low when aired out. This is what it looked like with 40 psi, I didnt dare let it go any lower.
http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr13/clumsymccabe/IMG_3464.jpg (http://s465.photobucket.com/user/clumsymccabe/media/IMG_3464.jpg.html)

I then took the rears out and figured because I have an avant not a sedan and it has a bit of extra weight then I just have to adjust the rears up a bit and so I did, I thought it was no big issue. Raised the rear threads and nothing changed. Took the rears back out and spun them up all the way and put them in and the highest I was able to get was 24ftg at 100 psi. At this point I figure something is wrong, I called Airlift and started to try and figure out the issue over the next 3 days I try various things ranging from changing manifold order, inflating the bags externally, taking measurements with the bags in and out of the car, load and no load. Finally I thought I found something. When I air up the rear from sitting on the ground I get to ~24ftg BUT when I jack a corner up, air it up to pressure and then let the corner down it settles at 26ftg. I thought that the issue was coming from the rear not pushing up all the way. This is what it looked like aired up under weight.

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr13/clumsymccabe/image.jpg1.jpg (http://s465.photobucket.com/user/clumsymccabe/media/image.jpg1.jpg.html)

So finally I got a call from airlift and here was their answer.