PDA

View Full Version : 1.8t AWM P0011, P0012 DIY Diag

ducksrunner25
12-07-2014, 09:34 PM
(If I have left anything out or misspoke, please correct me. This post is just a summary of my own research and sharing of information from tech sites such as identifix)

Hey Everybody!

Just thought I'd share how to diagnose P0011 and P0012 codes. I've been chasing this stupid code (P0012) down for about a year and a half. When I first purchased the car, the seller had replaced the Camshaft Chain Tensioner (CCT), about a month previous, but 3 months later it had failed again. Originally I replaced the CCT a year and a half ago when I first got both P0011 and P0012 codes. I replaced it with a cheap aftermarket part because I'm a college student and super poor. I DO NOT recommend this as you WILL be replacing it again in the near future. It did fix the problem for a little bit but now it's back. So do yourself a favor and pony up for a CCT from a solid company with a solid warranty. (You'll spend roughly $250 from MJM or other companies, or close to $700 from the Audi Dealership)
Now I decided to do this write up to summarize what I've read from other threads and post specs on what to look for.
The CCT can fail for numerous reasons...
1. Bad Oil Pressure and/or sludged up oil passageways causing the solenoid to fail.
2. The CCT solenoid has failed or is not providing the correct resistance? (I'm still not sure if this is why the solenoid fails or not. If someone wants to chime in and clear that up, that'd be awesome)
3. Sticky Camshaft

So before you go spending the beaucoup bucks, do the following tests to be sure that you're fixing the correct problems.

What You Will Need
1. Oil pressure testing kit ($20 to $35 from harbor freight)
2. Screwdriver
3. 1 inch or 24mm deep socket (to remove oil pressure sensor)
4. VCDS or VW/Audi compatible scanner that allows data logging (not necessary but very helpful in narrowing down potential problems)