PDA

View Full Version : Coolant leak



A4santos
11-03-2014, 04:45 PM
I have been slowly slowly leaking coolant for awhile now. I finally tracked it down tonight and found it leaking from behind the engine. I noticed the coolant line back there but couldn't tell where the leak was coming from, it runs from behind the engine and up what looks like through to the dashboard. If anyone could shed some light on what this coolant line is and what the problem may be I would appreciate it.

redline380
11-03-2014, 04:50 PM
You really need to add vehicle info here. Pics of the area also help

A4santos
11-03-2014, 04:52 PM
Sorry forgot that. B5 A4 q 1.8t I can barely get my inspection mirror in there so pics might be hard but I will try.

redline380
11-03-2014, 04:58 PM
The only coolant lines that go behind the false firewall are the heater core lines. The ends of the core could be cracked, or the hose rotten. If you can find another pic on the internet to show me the general location, that would help.

A4santos
11-03-2014, 05:00 PM
I will see if I can find one or get a pic. The line itself also has a sensor attached to it not sure if that helps.

redline380
11-03-2014, 05:10 PM
It sounds like the coolant flange then.

A4santos
11-03-2014, 05:42 PM
Yes I searched for coolant flange and that's exactly what it is. I will order one and replace that and the sensor hopefully that does the trick.

redline380
11-03-2014, 05:44 PM
Only get genuine VW for that part. No need to replace the sensor, but those do go bad occasionally. Just be sure to get the updated sensor if you are going to buy one

A4santos
11-03-2014, 05:48 PM
I will definitely order oem. Updated sensor? How do I know which one I need?

BlackLock_A4
11-04-2014, 01:49 PM
They will be separated by VIN #. Also, be sure to get the proper O rings.

sirsmokealot303
11-05-2014, 10:02 PM
Yes I searched for coolant flange and that's exactly what it is. I will order one and replace that and the sensor hopefully that does the trick.

I was leaking coolant from my flange as well... Well first it was the heater core inlet hose... So i replaced the hose and a few months later my flange started leaking. I replaced the flange and ended up with a decent amount of air in my system. Let it sit in there for too long and eventually had a clogged heater core. Jusr flushed the core out and have heat again, with no leaks finally. I'd recommend replacing the flange and the hoses at the same time.

A4santos
11-06-2014, 05:01 AM
Thank you guys I appreciate it. Hopefully I can tackle it this weekend.

A4santos
11-18-2014, 05:34 PM
I just replaced the coolant flange and sensor, pretty easy job surprisingly. But I have a check engine light. I don't have vag-com so until I can check the code any ideas?

pbcrazy
11-18-2014, 05:38 PM
I just replaced the coolant flange and sensor, pretty easy job surprisingly. But I have a check engine light. I don't have vag-com so until I can check the code any ideas?

If you don't have any scanner you can disconnected the battery for 30 seconds then plug it back in. Or drive to an autozone or similar and have them check it. Then buy a $10 cord and get the free VCDS version, you'll need it.

A4santos
11-18-2014, 05:39 PM
Ok ty for the help I appreciate it. I will order order one asap.

A4santos
11-18-2014, 07:18 PM
So now my car will start quick and then shut off immediately? ??

pbcrazy
11-18-2014, 07:21 PM
So now my car will start quick and then shut off immediately? ??

Make sure you reattached the coolant temperature sensor and the clip/harness that is on it

redline380
11-18-2014, 07:48 PM
yeh sounds like an unplugged sensor

A4santos
11-18-2014, 08:00 PM
I was able to get it started after I bled the air out. I then put the old sensor back in and the temp Guage worked. CEL still on so I will run codes tom.

A4santos
11-18-2014, 08:16 PM
The sensor I ordered from ecs was a meyle green round plug w 4 prongs. The old sensor was original blue square 4 prong. First off I should of listened and got the genuine sensor but the guy from ecs told me it's the same quality. So I'm guessing either the wrong plug or just crap aftermarket parts.

ricekikr
11-18-2014, 10:35 PM
Wrong sensor. The square one comes in green and blue (not sure of there re others).