PDA

View Full Version : Stock boost is only 7 psi???



Davdraco1
07-26-2014, 04:09 PM
I just finished installing my new boost gauge I got from waterfest and in can hold about 6 till about 5500 rpm then it starts to taper, most I've hit is 9 when I get real lucky. Lol. Is this all normal?

Turbo_B5
07-26-2014, 04:10 PM
7 is stock boost. That's normal.

OverSpun
07-26-2014, 04:12 PM
I just finished installing my new boost gauge I got from waterfest and in can hold about 6 till about 5500 rpm then it starts to taper, most I've hit is 9 when I get real lucky. Lol. Is this all normal?

You're stock... ~7psi is normal. :)

Davdraco1
07-26-2014, 04:15 PM
That's good to hear! I've been replacing things slowly to make sure it runs smoothly and now I know it's in check. Do anyone have a preference in what timing belt kit to buy?

OverSpun
07-26-2014, 04:18 PM
That's good to hear! I've been replacing things slowly to make sure it runs smoothly and now I know it's in check. Do anyone have a preference in what timing belt kit to buy?

Good to start with the gauge. Make sure the car idles @ ~20hg vac. Continental makes the belt but you need more than that. Obv don't cheap out buying a t-belt kit from ebay. If your car needs a t-belt... do that before you do more mods.

Turbo_B5
07-26-2014, 04:58 PM
I bought my t-belt kit from Europa Parts. I had a shop do mine and they also replaced two additional tensioners.

SquishyPanda
07-26-2014, 05:49 PM
I got the ECS Tuning kit with the Gates kevlar belt. The only problem is the kevlar belt squeaks until it warms up.

Davdraco1
07-26-2014, 05:57 PM
How much was the install king? And I forgot to ask, where should I wore the light for my gauge to? I never did it bc I didn't know where

Turbo_B5
07-26-2014, 06:05 PM
The shop charged me $783.76. $540 for the labor, $48 for one tensioner and $95 for the other tensioner, $13.44 for coolant, $50 for shop supplies whatever the fuck that is. Check out my build thread to where I wired my gauge to. I may move it to one of the fog light switches or somwhere better. Probily wont though.

Davdraco1
07-26-2014, 06:55 PM
I read thru your thread and just saw pics where you wired up your gauge, but idk where those pics are referring too

Drifter420
07-27-2014, 03:18 AM
I wired my boost gauge into my vent light for the little dials on the dash vent

Drifter420
07-27-2014, 03:51 AM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/27/agymaze5.jpg that's the vent dial http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/27/ezere9eh.jpg here's a pic of it on I used that vent to try and keep the white light with the white cluster light http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/27/judabegu.jpg and here's a pic of the wiring


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

A4_LOYA
07-27-2014, 09:08 AM
I wired my boost gauge into my vent light for the little dials on the dash vent that's brilliant! I wish I thought of that

Davdraco1
07-27-2014, 09:52 AM
Thank you!!!!!!! Never thought about that. I looked under the gauge cluster for the headlight switch wire, but it's all wrapped up

Drifter420
07-27-2014, 10:06 AM
No prob I figured by showing the pics it was the best way to show it

Avant Nate
07-27-2014, 11:28 AM
What color is your $13 coolant?

Turbo_B5
07-27-2014, 11:29 AM
Red coolant.

EDIT: They never replaced the thermostat that's why its $13 not alot of coolant lost.

Davdraco1
07-27-2014, 01:24 PM
Where did you put the ground wire?

Drifter420
07-27-2014, 01:45 PM
Your gauge is a three wire correct? It has a ground night lamp and battery positive? And the car is a two wire right? Red and black I believe? My gauge is a three wire I hooked the night lamp and battery positive together and hooked them to the red wire and then took my ground and hooked it to the black wire every time you turn you headlamp switch on or your park lamps your gauge will turn on

Davdraco1
07-27-2014, 02:22 PM
The gauge is a 2 wire. But if there are only 2 wires going to that bulb I can figure it out