PDA

View Full Version : ABS Coding for Larger Brakes



coolgraymemo
02-27-2014, 11:21 PM
There are quite a few of us running larger from brakes. Has anyone changed the ABS coding to alter the bias?

According to this link, some have coded their ABS module to RS4 spec.

Information found here (http://audisrs.com/archive/abs-coding-for-larger-brakes__o_t__t_6058.html).


I will be attempting this when I upgrade to a rear S4 calipers and B6/7 S4 adapters.




Your totally correct Scott. My old coding was 04395 for the S4 brake setup, and the new coding is 04295 for the RS setup. I'm not sying this will work on all cars, but it transformed my car and maybe the guys who are running modified brakes haven't yet realised the full potential of theirs? I simply could not overheat them on the track and braking from 160+ showed no signs of making the car unstable, unlike with the old coding where the car was just plain scary.

I think the way it works is that if the control unit thinks you have S4 brakes it will apply x amount of brake pressure to the fronts lets say 70% fronts, 30% rear.

Now if you fit massive brakes to the front and have the same brake pressures then the front will obviously be doing a lot more of the braking, so a coding change is required to alter the brake bias.

And there doesn't seem to be a coding difference between saloon and avant.

I hope that makes sense?


Obviously guys, this is done at your own risk..

If you connect vagcom to the ABS unit it will display the current coding. Mine was 04395 (HP2 brakes). After checking in Elsa, I went for the RS brake coding of 04295 (FN3 brakes).

You will have to login with 09595, then change the coding accordingly. 10 minute job max, and the coding can be changed back to original.


Discuss...

Mad Cow
02-28-2014, 09:02 AM
Interesting, I always thought proportioning was done mechanically. Looks like you only really have 3 choices though.

ricekikr
03-02-2014, 04:28 AM
Thanks for this.

Anyone try it with 18z? I wonder how it affects abs.

Gumby
03-02-2014, 04:47 AM
After I put s4 brakes on my car I switched my coding to s4, but I didn't notice any difference. I have a stoptech 332mm st-40 kit on now, and I have yet to change it again. Probably won't bother to either.

ricekikr
03-02-2014, 05:55 AM
After I put s4 brakes on my car I switched my coding to s4, but I didn't notice any difference. I have a stoptech 332mm st-40 kit on now, and I have yet to change it again. Probably won't bother to either.

Any wet stops? My thinking this only affects abs, not the static bias..?

Gumby
03-02-2014, 06:31 AM
Any wet stops? My thinking this only affects abs, not the static bias..?

I've driven it in all types of weather with both setups. But I never drove my car on stock a4 brakes, just the s4's, and Stoptechs. The s4's I drove for a while on the stock coding, and later on the s4 coding. Never noticed a difference between the two, and I do drive my car a tad more aggressive then the average person. Being in the NW it does rain quite a bit here, and I will say that the abs kicks in a lot more with my a4. In my allroad (also has Stoptechs) the abs never flashes, or kicks in. But just about every on ramp I enter with the a4 in the rain the abs seems to flash, and cut throttle, so I usually just drive with it off.

I have locked the brakes up in traffic when it came to a sudden stop with the Stoptechs (with esp off). It still tracked straight and true. But I am on stock rear brakes with just hawk hps pads. It might be different with larger rears. So given these things, I would also believe the coding only affects abs.