PDA

View Full Version : VAG-COM no signal



FNK
02-10-2014, 02:52 PM
I have an unusual problem with Vagcom, maybe some of you had this and SOLVED it!

I used to connect to Vagcom just fine like all the times.
Now, I can connect, but it wont connect to the ecu. It will read the trans and all, but not the Ecu.

I also happen to have my ABS module break.
If the abs module break, does it cut the communication to the ecu?

seanf86
02-10-2014, 03:21 PM
I've heard of people having to unplug the abs module to be able to connect to their ecu and read codes

Mad Cow
02-10-2014, 03:41 PM
Yep, a malfunctioning module could screw up communications along the k-line. My guess is the ECU uses a different communication protocol that can't handle the disruption as well as other modules. In early Euro S4's you used to have to unplug the cluster to connect to the ECU, even if the car was brand new. The only real fix is to run a dedicated k-line wire from the OBD port directly to the ECU or unplug the offending module.