PDA

View Full Version : APR chipped...



Ben@APR
07-26-2005, 08:11 PM
I have been driving an A3 Sportback while in our German office. Today I however had a chance to experience our US spec. A3 development car.
One thing I noticed (besides that it was fast)[:D] ...a blow off valve that was pretty loud..both in stock as well as in chipped mode[confused] .

Even our GTI in Germany doesnt make this loud of a sound...did you guys know that the GTI and also the US spec. GLI have what we call a "fartcan" it is a little plastic cylinder that is located in the engine compartment on the passengers side...the only use for this part is to make a sporty sound while reving the engine.

APR will release soon the software for the A3 in 91,93,and 100 octane.
We are also working hard on an extra feature I believe you all will like........

Ok...bring on those 2 week jokes ....[:D]

Meesh
07-26-2005, 11:37 PM
aww, so that means you dont need a test car? [;)]

im looking forward to the apr software, as you guys have made good power w/ the b6 a4, and the extra feature

a2a2pqk
07-27-2005, 12:58 AM
So it is true that the A3 does have a BOV...

lubbgod2G
07-27-2005, 08:08 AM
So when does this APR "fartcan" become available?[rolleyes]

Ben@APR
07-27-2005, 09:04 AM
Originally posted by lubbgod2G
So when does this APR "fartcan" become available?[rolleyes]

I dont believe we will carry that item, better leave that up to VW[;)]

lubbgod2G
07-27-2005, 10:49 AM
[race] HA!

jdmoorman
07-31-2005, 05:56 PM
Ben@APR:
What is the status of the APR 'chip' for the A3 2.0T FSI?

The APR web site make no mention of anything available.

(roll tide, buddy)

Ben@APR
08-01-2005, 04:45 PM
Originally posted by jdmoorman
Ben@APR:
What is the status of the APR 'chip' for the A3 2.0T FSI?

The APR web site make no mention of anything available.

(roll tide, buddy)


93 octane is ready, we didnt release it yet.
We are now working on 91 octane.

Hassmeister
08-01-2005, 08:41 PM
I have a Honey Bucket or Port a Poddy for sale!

Anthony
08-02-2005, 12:30 AM
Get that 91 program finished for us poor deprived Californians!!! [drive]

TT18T
08-02-2005, 09:37 PM
damn... i want a stock BOV too!!! ><

Ben@APR
08-09-2005, 08:18 PM
APR A3 Info page (http://www.goapr.com/Audi/products/ecu_upgrade_8pa3.html)

voodooA4
08-11-2005, 06:37 AM
Originally posted by jdmoorman
Ben@APR:
What is the status of the APR 'chip' for the A3 2.0T FSI?

The APR web site make no mention of anything available.

(roll tide, buddy)

did you go to UA?

jdmoorman
08-25-2005, 09:53 PM
I grew up in Huntsville, but went to school out of state.

I noticed that Ben@APR was in Auburn and just couldn't pass the chance to take a jab.http://www.audizine.com/forum/newreply.php?s=&action=newreply&threadid=57228#

ehtreeee
08-26-2005, 07:39 AM
Originally posted by Ben@APR
APR A3 Info page (http://www.goapr.com/Audi/products/ecu_upgrade_8pa3.html)

Yo Ben,

We have a new A3 with DSG and are thinking about the APR chip for it. This box is rated at 350nm (260ft/lb) yet APR has the peak torque for this software at 300ft/lb.
Questions.....
Will the box be able to handle the extra torque?
Will the clutches start to wear prematurely?
I'm a little worried Cuz its this so called "smart" transmission, has a sensor that detects clutch slip. I'm assuming it will apply more pressure, and im worried this will = significant clutch wear.
Any techies out there in the know?

eltonsi
09-06-2005, 07:53 PM
I have had the chip for about 3 weeks now, and it's working just fine. While I can't say how it will be long term, the box seem to be handling the extra torque pretty well.

On a side note, I went to Dyno my DSG A3 APR yesterday and due to some technical problem with the transmission which a lot of other Dynos are having with the DSG, the numbers weren't that accurate (205 HP 255 Torque) . Can you explain Ben?

Anthony
09-06-2005, 09:36 PM
We just APR'd the A3 today. Thoughts to come shortly...

eltonsi
09-06-2005, 09:39 PM
http://www3.sympatico.ca/cora320/DynoA3.jpg

This was the Dyno print out if anyone is interested. Again, due to some problems with the transmission/kickdown switch, the high end HP wasn't able to be recorded. [:(]

phatAvant
09-08-2005, 01:58 AM
where can I get an APR chip in europe, sorry for my lack of will to search for it... [:D]

And do you guys have a program that I can run with 98 petrol we have here???What numbers will that make???


Steve

eltonsi
09-08-2005, 06:38 AM
Not sure if they have a dealer in Europe, but I assume there should as it's not that big of a project. Check their web site locator.

http://www.goapr.com/Audi/index.html

They currently have stock, 91, 93 and later on will add 100 and valet. At 93, it's about 250 at crank. No numbers for the 100 yet.