PDA

View Full Version : 2.8 Sluggish/ Idling isn't great

gtsingh91
08-14-2013, 01:01 PM
I have a 2.8 30V B5 with just under 170k on the clock. It starts but idles rough and will cut off if it's not given gas. But when the throttle is pressed, it runs fine. It can be driven, but as you slow down for a stop, it will cut off and need to be restarted. Timing belt was done about 40k miles ago, MAF, Coolant temp. sensor, coilpacks, and plugs are the only things I can think of at the moment that were recently changed. What are some possible problems here? I'm a noob to the 2.8's, but I know the 1.8's fairly well. Any insight is greatly appreciated. Codes currently present: p1545 (throttle valve controller malfunction), p0160 (o2 sensor), and p0411 (SAI system).

Update: 8/13/13 - After clearing the codes, only p1545 came back. I cleaned the throttle body from gunk/oil with carb cleaner and the car started up and ran/idled very well for the entire time I had it started (about 15 minutes). However, it felt sluggish while driving it around the block. If I floored it, it would take forever to speed up. No misfires or misbeats or anything it just feels abnormally slow. It did not shut off when coming to a stop though, which is better than before. I'm thinking MAF or o2 sensor(s) are bad. I'm also thinking about picking up a used throttle body. I'm also well aware of a huge rusted hole in the exhaust right before the muffler but I doubt that'll have any effect on the sluggishness of the car.

gtsingh91
08-16-2013, 08:10 AM
bump just in case anyone has some other insight. But I'm going to be replacing the throttle body with a used one to see if that fixes it and I'll report the outcome.

gtsingh91
08-29-2013, 01:30 PM