PDA

View Full Version : Wife got a new B6... Now I'm stuck with the B5, Now refreshing it.

4.2 prototype
08-04-2013, 01:12 PM
What's up, Names Sam... I'm a lurker on here turned enthusiast by force of my wife, she loves these things.

Well, I usually make build threads for all my cars I clean up, but with this car... I'm a complete Noob... Got a built DSM and a XJR that I'm now putting on the sidelines to make me a gas saving daily driver to my work. I might get robbed if I drive the XJR lol.... I want to further that project after I get this one done.

With that said, she got a new B6 with only 90k on it... It also has minor issues I need to address... But more on that car later.

This one, as i've researched other build threads on here, the issue seems to be a destroyed pilot bearing, clutch was replaced by someone before and I don't know if they messed it up or not... But it has to be forced into gear when running... goes into gear fine if the car is off...

Well... At that point, I was just going to sell this car. We've had it for about 6-7 years (it has about 400,000 miles on it i'm sure of it) and it's just taking up space... I was going to use the money towards a gas saving beater of my own... Then... Very Randomly.. a BRAND NEW FACTORY long block, AEB... Pops up for a decent deal..........

I bought it... and started tearing into this thing right away... The car is a 2000 with a ATW head so I know I need to get the adapter to make the intake manifold to work... but I'm not really sure on anything else.. I want to really clean up the bay and remove all emissions crap... anything not needed...

Here is how she is sitting now and what I've done...

http://i886.photobucket.com/albums/ac68/bakerized/P8040143_zps89e30f4c.jpg

http://i886.photobucket.com/albums/ac68/bakerized/P8040142_zps0e0cc66c.jpg

http://i886.photobucket.com/albums/ac68/bakerized/P8040144_zps390b6e1a.jpg