PDA

View Full Version : B5 2.8 30V Cranks but won't start after timing

ryno007
07-22-2013, 07:37 PM
Hi all,

Long time lurker/reader/searcher, first actual post. I've probably looked at every "2.8 cranks but won't start" thread on here and, alas, I have not found a solution to my problem. This is my first time owning/working on an Audi (or any German car, for that matter), but I have long and jaded mechanical history with my beloved Land Rover Discovery, the wife's Expeditions, and also some various Jeeps (not to mention any number of Japanese v-twins).

Brief summary - Following a rapidly-developing clicking from the rear of the passenger side valve cover (cam chain tensioner pads disintegrated), I endured a solid "thunk" on the highway at about 70 mph. Timing belt shredded (with less than 50k on it, if the PO's receipt was to be believed...which is questionable). Nonetheless, removed valve covers on both sides to find driver side camshaft head (where cam presses on) broken and passenger side exhaust cam teeth and chain ground up, presumably from plastic parts wedging in the cam chain. Installed boneyard cam assemblies on both sides, retimed with Audi cam sprocket tool and crankcase pin with crank at TDC, new timing components and belt, and back together. Yes, I realize valves are probably shot and I'm overly optimistic. But, I wanted to get it back together and do a compression test to see how many cylinders slammed into them before I pulled the heads and started work on the valves. This is, admittedly, the deepest I've been into an engine, although I did the head gaskets on the Land Rover not too long ago and found that to be relatively painless (beer helped).