PDA

View Full Version : Trying to buy my first Audi... what should I be checking for?

FOGeologist
06-24-2013, 05:18 PM
Hello, folks. I'm a middle-aged dude who's owned a BUNCH of cars. I have extensive experience with four and two-wheel vehicles, and have rebuilt engines, modified suspensions, added turbos, etc. I've owned 2 BMW 3-Series cars, and used to think they were pretty hot $4!7, until...

I test-drove an A6 2.7 S-Line car about 6 years back. That car was amazing - I saw it in a lot, my wife was looking for a car, so I thought I would take it for a spin. I had just bought a Toyota FJ Cruiser a couple of days before, and I seriously contemplated swapping it out for the Audi, because I liked it so much.

The time has come to sell the Cruiser and get back to a small and fuel-efficient vehicle, for which I'm paying cash. I'm looking in the "under $10k 1.8 T Quattro 5-speed manual A4" market. So in other words, I'm looking for a 100k miler.

When I go under the hood, what kind of mechanical issues should I be looking for? I know there's a timing belt that needs replacement at some interval (90k?). Where would I find a sticker to indicate that this has been done? Is there an inspection cover that can be removed? What are the typical failure points?

Thanks, in advance, for all your assistance.

nynoah
06-24-2013, 05:28 PM
I'll trade you my car for your FJ straight up

Halfrican
06-24-2013, 11:53 PM
You can find a B5 A4 for far less with around 100,000 miles.

1. The recommended timing belt change intervals is between 60-80k miles. Ask for documented proof of a timing belt replacement. (i.e. receipt)
2. Luckily you are already looking for a manual, automatics are more problematic. No fun either. As with all manual cars, a "toasted" clutch.
3. The K03 turbo has its issues. Rebuilding or replacing may be needed, not always, but it something to look forward to.